Author |
Message
|
fde |
Posted: Tue Jun 02, 2009 1:20 am Post subject: soap fault resulting in timeout |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 05 Jul 2007 Posts: 65
|
Hello,
I am calling an external webservice deployed on websphere appserver using the soap nodes in broker 6.1. I am using soap ui to test the webservice.
The services responds with a valid soap fault, at least using soap ui. Using the soap nodes and the same wsdl file which was used in soap ui, the call results in a timeout exception.
It seems as if the soap fault seen in soap ui is somehow not received or processed using the soap nodes.
Are there known issues regarding soap faults, the broker soap nodes and a timeout? _________________ Global warming is an unintentional side effect of SOA's hotness.
-- http://soafacts.com/
a business integration methodology |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mgk |
Posted: Tue Jun 02, 2009 4:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Padawan
Joined: 31 Jul 2003 Posts: 1642
|
SOAPFaults should be handed fine by the SOAPRequest node; they are sent to the SOAPFault terminal. Can you put an HTTP monitor between the broker and the remote service to see what is sent on the wire?
Regards, _________________ MGK
The postings I make on this site are my own and don't necessarily represent IBM's positions, strategies or opinions. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fde |
Posted: Mon Jun 08, 2009 5:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 05 Jul 2007 Posts: 65
|
I tried to debug using wireshark without success. I found the outgoing http requests but wireshark seem to be to low level for this kind of monitoring.
Could you recommend a http monitor product - preferable open source - for that issue? _________________ Global warming is an unintentional side effect of SOA's hotness.
-- http://soafacts.com/
a business integration methodology |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Mon Jun 08, 2009 5:48 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
There's TCP/IP Monitor built into Toolkit. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fde |
Posted: Mon Jun 08, 2009 6:30 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 05 Jul 2007 Posts: 65
|
Thanks for the tip. Using TCP/IP Monitor the behavior ist still strange.
I set up a monitor on port 7878. Using soup-ui I can access the service to monitor with localhost:7878.
I receive the expected soap-fault regarding my dummy request. The request and response is shown in the monitor and looks good.
Now changing my broker flow to the new monitoring url - I copy pasted the url from soapui to brokertoolkit - I receive a connect exception.
Since the webservice answers correctly for soupui, why do I get a connect exception for broker requests? The url from the connect exception is exactly the same as the one used within soap-ui.
To complicate furthermore, without the tcp/ip monitor, I do not receive a connect exception, I just receive no answer. _________________ Global warming is an unintentional side effect of SOA's hotness.
-- http://soafacts.com/
a business integration methodology |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Mon Jun 08, 2009 6:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
Is broker running on the same machine as Toolkit? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fde |
Posted: Mon Jun 08, 2009 6:48 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 05 Jul 2007 Posts: 65
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Mon Jun 08, 2009 7:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
So when you tell the broker, running on AIX, to access "localhost:7878"... where does that go?
Can the AIX machine access the port you have TCP/IP Monitor running on? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fde |
Posted: Mon Jun 08, 2009 7:12 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 05 Jul 2007 Posts: 65
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fde |
Posted: Tue Jun 09, 2009 3:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 05 Jul 2007 Posts: 65
|
I've done some test with TCP/IP monitor, which reveals an interessting behavior.
In TCP/IP Monitor I can see the response of the webservice, but my flow still dont receive that answer. I wired all termincals of the soap-request (i tested the flow also using http request node instead of soap request just for verification - same behavior), but none of the terminals is invoced, as if the node dont receive a response.
The request has a HTTP 1.0 header, the response has a HTTP 1.1 header. I found the following regarding chunked HTTP: http://www-01.ibm.com/support/docview.wss?rs=849&context=SSKM8N&dc=DB550&uid=swg1IC59685&loc=en_US&cs=UTF-8&lang=en&rss=ct849websphere
But since this is for soup nodes, the http nodes shoulnd have those problems imo.
This is the webservice response seen in TCP/IP monitor, which is not received by the broker nodes:
Code: |
HTTP 1.1 500 Internal Server Error
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<soapenv:Envelope xmlns:soapenv="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/envelope/" xmlns:xsd="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
<soapenv:Body>
<soapenv:Fault>
<faultcode>soapenv:Server.userException</faultcode>
<faultstring>ALC-DSC-003-000: com.adobe.idp.dsc.DSCInvocationException: Invocation error.</faultstring>
<detail>
<faultData>
--- long stacktrace snipped ---
</faultData>
<ns4:hostname xmlns:ns4="http://xml.apache.org/axis/">srvalcdev</ns4:hostname>
</detail>
</soapenv:Fault>
</soapenv:Body>
</soapenv:Envelope>
|
edit:
I found the following in soup-ui under the "raw" tab for the reponse:
Code: |
HTTP/1.1 500 Internal Server Error
Server: Apache-Coyote/1.1
X-Powered-By: Servlet 2.4; JBoss-4.0.3SP1 (build: CVSTag=JBoss_4_0_3_SP1 date=200510231054)/Tomcat-5.5
Content-Type: text/xml;charset=utf-8
Transfer-Encoding: chunked
Date: Tue, 09 Jun 2009 13:46:25 GMT
Connection: close
|
Transfer-Encoding: chunked
I investigate further into the issue linked above. _________________ Global warming is an unintentional side effect of SOA's hotness.
-- http://soafacts.com/
a business integration methodology
Last edited by fde on Tue Jun 09, 2009 5:54 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mgk |
Posted: Tue Jun 09, 2009 5:49 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Padawan
Joined: 31 Jul 2003 Posts: 1642
|
Hi, can you post the WHOLE message (apart from the stack trace) as there are no HTTP Headers posted...
Regards, _________________ MGK
The postings I make on this site are my own and don't necessarily represent IBM's positions, strategies or opinions. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fde |
Posted: Tue Jun 09, 2009 6:08 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 05 Jul 2007 Posts: 65
|
Where can I see those headers? In TCP/IP Monitor, i just see the xml between <envelope> and </envelope>.
Soap-ui list the following under the tap "raw" for the response:
Code: |
HTTP/1.1 500 Internal Server Error
Server: Apache-Coyote/1.1
X-Powered-By: Servlet 2.4; JBoss-4.0.3SP1 (build: CVSTag=JBoss_4_0_3_SP1 date=200510231054)/Tomcat-5.5
Content-Type: text/xml;charset=utf-8
Transfer-Encoding: chunked
Date: Tue, 09 Jun 2009 13:46:25 GMT
Connection: close
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><soapenv:Envelope xmlns:soapenv="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/envelope/" xmlns:xsd="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance"><soapenv:Body><soapenv:Fault><faultcode>soapenv:Server.userException</faultcode><faultstring>ALC-DSC-003-000: com.adobe.idp.dsc.DSCInvocationException: Invocation error.</faultstring><detail>
--- very lenthy stacktrace ---
</detail></soapenv:Fault></soapenv:Body></soapenv:Envelope>
|
_________________ Global warming is an unintentional side effect of SOA's hotness.
-- http://soafacts.com/
a business integration methodology |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fde |
Posted: Tue Jun 09, 2009 8:03 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 05 Jul 2007 Posts: 65
|
I tested a lot lately. The "Transfer-Encoding: chunked" issue shouldnt be a problem, since responses (not soap-faults) gets processed perfectly and those have "Transfer-Encoding: chunked" too.
This leads me back to having two webservice calls, one responded with a soap-fault, the other with a defined response.
The response containing the soap-fault is visible in TCP/IP Monitor but seem to never reach the soap-request-node or the http-request node. The response containing the defined reponse (no soap-fault) ist processed just fine. Visible in TCP/Monitor and received by the broker on the response terminal. _________________ Global warming is an unintentional side effect of SOA's hotness.
-- http://soafacts.com/
a business integration methodology |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mgk |
Posted: Wed Jun 10, 2009 12:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Padawan
Joined: 31 Jul 2003 Posts: 1642
|
Hello. This seems very strange to me, as this should work. Please raise a PMR to get this investigated further.
Kind Regards, _________________ MGK
The postings I make on this site are my own and don't necessarily represent IBM's positions, strategies or opinions. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fde |
Posted: Wed Jun 10, 2009 1:08 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 05 Jul 2007 Posts: 65
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|