ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ Java / JMS » SSLHandshakeException... End user tried to act as a CA

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 SSLHandshakeException... End user tried to act as a CA « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
chrisgclark
PostPosted: Tue Jun 02, 2009 7:58 am    Post subject: SSLHandshakeException... End user tried to act as a CA Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 35

Hi,

I have a Java base MQ program that sends MQ messages to a remote qmgr with SSL on the channel. I'm getting these following SSL error...

Code:
com.ibm.mq.MQException:  MQJE001: Completion code 2, Reason 2397
.
.
.
Caused by:  javax.net.ssl.SSLHandShakeException:  com.ibm.jsse2.util.h:  End user tried to act as a CA.
.
.
.
Caused by:  com.ibm.jsse2.util.h:  End user tried to act as a CA
.
.
.




We've actually solved the above problem, but I thought I'd post in case anyone else comes across the same thing...

Its not caused by SSL problems (e.g invalid certificate, bad channel definitions, SSL system parameters not set in java program), but instead by the JAVA_HOME. If I use JAVA_HOME as /usr/java5/bin I get the above error. If I use JAVA_HOME as /usr/java5_64/bin the above error goes away. Therefore problem with 32bit Java5, but solved with 64bit Java5.

Hope this info will help someone.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Tue Jun 02, 2009 3:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

Quote:
Caused by: com.ibm.jsse2.util.h
looks like your crypto library was 64 bit...
Java should be able to use either a 64 bit crypto library (java 64 bits) or a 32 bit crypto library (java 32 bits)...

Have fun
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
chrisgclark
PostPosted: Thu Jun 04, 2009 1:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 35

Are you saying that com.ibm.jsse2.util.h is 64 bit and com.ibm.jsse.util.h is 32 bit? I have had a good search with Google and was unable to find an answer.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crossland
PostPosted: Thu Jun 04, 2009 7:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 26 Jun 2001
Posts: 248

Quote:
looks like your crypto library was 64 bit...


Why do you say that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Thu Jun 04, 2009 8:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

crossland wrote:
Quote:
looks like your crypto library was 64 bit...


Why do you say that?


Well, let's be honest, it could be something with the level of the xlc.route.Bnd...

But if it works in one (java64) and not in the other (java 32 bit) and has a call to JNI bets are that the 32 bit native being called does not work...

If you wrote the JNI call yourself you might need to check if the java is 32 or 64 bits and code differently according to the result.

Have fun
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
crossland
PostPosted: Mon Jun 08, 2009 12:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 26 Jun 2001
Posts: 248

fjb_saper wrote:
crossland wrote:
Quote:
looks like your crypto library was 64 bit...


Why do you say that?


Well, let's be honest, it could be something with the level of the xlc.route.Bnd...

But if it works in one (java64) and not in the other (java 32 bit) and has a call to JNI bets are that the 32 bit native being called does not work...

If you wrote the JNI call yourself you might need to check if the java is 32 or 64 bits and code differently according to the result.

Have fun


As we are connecting as a client (rather than using Bindings), would JNI be an issue? If not, are there any other suggestions for components that could cause this problem?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Mon Jun 08, 2009 12:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

Do you have a security exit in your client?
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
crossland
PostPosted: Mon Jun 08, 2009 11:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 26 Jun 2001
Posts: 248

No, we are not using an exit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crossland
PostPosted: Tue Jun 16, 2009 1:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 26 Jun 2001
Posts: 248

This was fixed by changing java/jre/lib/security/java.security

ssl.TrustManagerFactory.algorithm from IbmX509 to PKIX

Has anyone else encountered this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ Java / JMS » SSLHandshakeException... End user tried to act as a CA
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.