Author |
Message
|
shashivarungupta |
Posted: Fri May 22, 2009 4:19 am Post subject: queue manager listener port |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 24 Feb 2009 Posts: 1343 Location: Floating in space on a round rock.
|
Hi all,
I have a question...
When I create the queue manager from the command prompt on windows it has command (with its parameters) :
C:\>crtmqm /?
AMQ7027: Argument /? supplied to command crtmqm is invalid.
Usage: crtmqm [-z] [-q] [-c Text] [-d DefXmitQ] [-h MaxHandles]
[-g ApplicationGroup]
[-t TrigInt] [-u DeadQ] [-x MaxUMsgs] [-lp LogPri] [-ls LogSec]
[-lc | -ll] [-lf LogFileSize] [-ld LogPath] QMgrName
I create the queue manager as:
C:\>crtmqm QMGR3
WebSphere MQ queue manager created.
Creating or replacing default objects for QMGR3.
Default objects statistics : 43 created. 0 replaced. 0 failed.
Completing setup.
Setup completed.
But then when I look this queue manager in the MQ Explorer, I do not see the 'Port number' mentioned under the Listener section/folder.
Neither using commad :
DISPLAY LISTENER(*) ALL
But the same thing when I do other way round, means create the queue manager (say TEST1) form the MQ explorer it asks for 'Port Number' in its GUI and then, when I use command DISPLAY LISTENER(*) ALL , for TEST1 it displays me the listener port. As:
DISPLAY LISTENER(*) ALL
1 : DISPLAY LISTENER(*) ALL
AMQ8630: Display listener information details.
LISTENER(LISTENER.TCP) CONTROL(QMGR)
TRPTYPE(TCP) PORT(1416)
IPADDR( ) BACKLOG(0)
DESCR( ) ALTDATE(2009-05-22)
ALTTIME(14.05.01)
Why there is such difference?
I don't either see the port option while creation of the queue manager from command prompt. _________________ *Life will beat you down, you need to decide to fight back or leave it. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Fri May 22, 2009 4:37 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
There's a difference because MQExplorer is being helpful.
It seems a bit odd to expect crtmqm to also do a strmqm and a runmqsc. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
shashivarungupta |
Posted: Fri May 22, 2009 4:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 24 Feb 2009 Posts: 1343 Location: Floating in space on a round rock.
|
mqjeff wrote: |
There's a difference because MQExplorer is being helpful.
It seems a bit odd to expect crtmqm to also do a strmqm and a runmqsc. |
It is understandable that there is some difference when creating a queue manager using mq explorer or using command prompt.
As I said earlier, I don't see the port number under the Listener section/folder in the mq explorer for that queue manager (which was being created from command prompt) then 'what' port number will I mention in the Program (stand alone program) which wants a connection over that queue manager?
Point is : We used to give the connection parameters in the program as queue manager name, IP/Host name, 'Port', Channel etc. etc.
So where do I have to find the port for that? _________________ *Life will beat you down, you need to decide to fight back or leave it. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Fri May 22, 2009 4:47 am Post subject: Re: queue manager listener port |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
shashivarungupta wrote: |
Why there is such difference? |
The MQExplorer wizard isn't just doing a crtmqm for you. That's why it's a wizard....  _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Fri May 22, 2009 4:49 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
shashivarungupta wrote: |
So where do I have to find the port for that? |
If you create a queue manager manually with crtmqm, you have to a) manually start the queue manager & b) manually create a listener, then c) manually start the listener.
The port the connecting app needs in the one you specify when you create the listener. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
shashivarungupta |
Posted: Fri May 22, 2009 4:50 am Post subject: Re: queue manager listener port |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 24 Feb 2009 Posts: 1343 Location: Floating in space on a round rock.
|
Vitor wrote: |
shashivarungupta wrote: |
Why there is such difference? |
The MQExplorer wizard isn't just doing a crtmqm for you. That's why it's a wizard....  |
Here it not the point why MQExplorer is treated as wizard !! _________________ *Life will beat you down, you need to decide to fight back or leave it. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Fri May 22, 2009 4:52 am Post subject: Re: queue manager listener port |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
shashivarungupta wrote: |
Vitor wrote: |
shashivarungupta wrote: |
Why there is such difference? |
The MQExplorer wizard isn't just doing a crtmqm for you. That's why it's a wizard....  |
Here it not the point why MQExplorer is treated as wizard !! |
Because it contains a feature which simplifies the creation of a queue manager by encapsulating a number of opperations into a single, simplified set of GUI screens. Typically refered to as a wizard, but I'd accept another term if you prefer. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Fri May 22, 2009 4:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
You can set the port to anything you want.
You do this by ALTER LISTENER or DEFINE LISTENER, or by using MQ Explorer to do the same.
Until you do this, a queue manager created by crtmqm (which does not do strmqm, nor runmqsc to DEF LISTENER) will have NO listener port at all.
1414 is merely the "well-known" port for MQ. It's not the *default* port at all. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Fri May 22, 2009 4:54 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
mqjeff wrote: |
1414 is merely the "well-known" port for MQ. It's not the *default* port at all. |
And there is a school of thought which recommends not using it. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Fri May 22, 2009 4:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
Vitor wrote: |
mqjeff wrote: |
1414 is merely the "well-known" port for MQ. It's not the *default* port at all. |
And there is a school of thought which recommends not using it. |
And then there's a school of thought that considers a universe that has port scanners in it. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
shashivarungupta |
Posted: Fri May 22, 2009 5:00 am Post subject: Re: queue manager listener port |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 24 Feb 2009 Posts: 1343 Location: Floating in space on a round rock.
|
Vitor wrote: |
shashivarungupta wrote: |
Vitor wrote: |
shashivarungupta wrote: |
Why there is such difference? |
The MQExplorer wizard isn't just doing a crtmqm for you. That's why it's a wizard....  |
Here it not the point why MQExplorer is treated as wizard !! |
Because it contains a feature which simplifies the creation of a queue manager by encapsulating a number of opperations into a single, simplified set of GUI screens. Typically refered to as a wizard, but I'd accept another term if you prefer. |
I don't have any objection what 'Term' you use.
But I have fight against the Questions and the Features being provided to us.  _________________ *Life will beat you down, you need to decide to fight back or leave it. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Fri May 22, 2009 5:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
mqjeff wrote: |
Vitor wrote: |
mqjeff wrote: |
1414 is merely the "well-known" port for MQ. It's not the *default* port at all. |
And there is a school of thought which recommends not using it. |
And then there's a school of thought that considers a universe that has port scanners in it. |
I was commenting, rather than suggesting, recommending or endorsing. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
WMBDEV1 |
Posted: Fri May 22, 2009 5:46 am Post subject: Re: queue manager listener port |
|
|
Sentinel
Joined: 05 Mar 2009 Posts: 888 Location: UK
|
shashivarungupta wrote: |
But I have fight against the Questions and the Features being provided to us.  |
If you dont like the extra stuff MQExplorer does for you when creating a QM for you then dont use it! However, because I like the easy life, I will continue to use MQExplorer to create QMs on my machine  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
exerk |
Posted: Fri May 22, 2009 7:03 am Post subject: Re: queue manager listener port |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 Posts: 6339
|
shashivarungupta wrote: |
Here it not the point why MQExplorer is treated as wizard !! |
In simple terms, what MQExplorer is doing when you create a queue manager is like running a batch file (Windoze) or a script (*NIX), contact admin it does:
crtmqm
strmqm
runmqsc QMGR < [build file name]*
echo "start listener([listener name])" | runmqsc QMGR
* should include a listener definition _________________ It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
shashivarungupta |
Posted: Fri May 29, 2009 3:32 am Post subject: Re: queue manager listener port |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 24 Feb 2009 Posts: 1343 Location: Floating in space on a round rock.
|
exerk wrote: |
shashivarungupta wrote: |
Here it not the point why MQExplorer is treated as wizard !! |
In simple terms, what MQExplorer is doing when you create a queue manager is like running a batch file (Windoze) or a script (*NIX), contact admin it does:
crtmqm
strmqm
runmqsc QMGR < [build file name]*
echo "start listener([listener name])" | runmqsc QMGR
* should include a listener definition |
You are right !!
Following happens at the back of the stage, when we create a queue manager (say QM3) using MQ Explorer:
****************************************
* Command: crtmqm -u SYSTEM.DEAD.LETTER.QUEUE QM3
****************************************
WebSphere MQ queue manager created.
Creating or replacing default objects for QM3.
Default objects statistics : 43 created. 0 replaced. 0 failed.
Completing setup.
Setup completed.
exitvalue = 0
****************************************
* Command: amqmdain qmgr start QM3
****************************************
WebSphere MQ queue manager 'QM3' starting.
5 log records accessed on queue manager 'QM3' during the log replay phase.
Log replay for queue manager 'QM3' complete.
Transaction manager state recovered for queue manager 'QM3'.
WebSphere MQ queue manager 'QM3' started.
exitvalue = 0
****************************************
* Command: runmqsc QM3
* Input: DEFINE LISTENER('LISTENER.TCP') TRPTYPE(TCP) PORT(1416) CONTROL(QMGR)
****************************************
5724-H72 (C) Copyright IBM Corp. 1994, 2004. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.
Starting MQSC for queue manager QM3.
1 : DEFINE LISTENER('LISTENER.TCP') TRPTYPE(TCP) PORT(1416) CONTROL(QMGR)
AMQ8626: WebSphere MQ listener created.
One MQSC command read.
No commands have a syntax error.
All valid MQSC commands were processed.
exitvalue = 0
****************************************
* Command: runmqsc QM3
* Input: START LISTENER('LISTENER.TCP')
****************************************
5724-H72 (C) Copyright IBM Corp. 1994, 2004. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.
Starting MQSC for queue manager QM3.
1 : START LISTENER('LISTENER.TCP')
AMQ8021: Request to start WebSphere MQ Listener accepted.
One MQSC command read.
No commands have a syntax error.
All valid MQSC commands were processed.
exitvalue = 0
****************************************
* Command: amqmdain auto QM3
****************************************
5724-H72 (C) Copyright IBM Corp. 1994, 2004. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.
Queue Manager 'QM3' successfully set to 'Automatic' mode
exitvalue = 0
Thanks.  _________________ *Life will beat you down, you need to decide to fight back or leave it. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|