Author |
Message
|
marcin.kasinski |
Posted: Mon Apr 27, 2009 5:01 am Post subject: How can I read expected seq number on channel without status |
|
|
Sentinel
Joined: 21 Dec 2004 Posts: 850 Location: Poland / Warsaw
|
Hello,
I have simple question about sequence number.
I have sender – receiver pair.
If there is problem with sequence number channel is in retrying state and in logs there is standard mesage.
Code: |
The local and remote queue managers do not agree on the next message sequence
number. A message with sequence number X has been sent when sequence number Y was expected. |
There is no problem to read sequence number if channel is in running state because I can read status record.
My question is :
How can I read expected sequence number on receiver channel WITHOUT current status record ?
Is there any API (PCF or something).
Marcin _________________ Marcin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Mon Apr 27, 2009 5:13 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
Hi Marcin. The MQ Error Logs on the receiving Queue Manager will have the expected sequence #, if there is a mismatch between SNDR and RCVR. _________________ Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Mon Apr 27, 2009 5:17 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
dis chs(*) saved all
shows the last status of a channel, including curseqno |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
gunter |
Posted: Mon Apr 27, 2009 5:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
Partisan
Joined: 21 Jan 2004 Posts: 307 Location: Germany, Frankfurt
|
The channel event in SYSTEM.ADMIN.CHANNEL.EVENT will have this information, too. _________________ Gunter Jeschawitz
IBM Certified System Administrator - Websphere MQ, 5.3 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
marcin.kasinski |
Posted: Mon Apr 27, 2009 5:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
Sentinel
Joined: 21 Dec 2004 Posts: 850 Location: Poland / Warsaw
|
mqjeff wrote: |
dis chs(*) saved all
shows the last status of a channel, including curseqno |
Command “dis chs(*) saved all” doesn’t show expected sequence number but last saved sequence number.
These are totally different numbers. _________________ Marcin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
marcin.kasinski |
Posted: Mon Apr 27, 2009 6:02 am Post subject: |
|
|
Sentinel
Joined: 21 Dec 2004 Posts: 850 Location: Poland / Warsaw
|
PeterPotkay wrote: |
Hi Marcin. The MQ Error Logs on the receiving Queue Manager will have the expected sequence #, if there is a mismatch between SNDR and RCVR. |
Hi
I’m trying to read this info within my java code.
I know that I can read it from logs. My example message placed here was taken from mq logs.
It’s rather manual way to read this.
I'm looking for JAVA API or something. _________________ Marcin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Mon Apr 27, 2009 6:12 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
Taking a step back a little, why try and read it programatically? The only time you should need this information is if you're in an error situation where the channel is stuck in retry and you need to take manual action to resolve. Hence looking in the logs is a valid move as part of the decision-making process on the action you're going to take.
What's the requirement here? _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
marcin.kasinski |
Posted: Mon Apr 27, 2009 12:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Sentinel
Joined: 21 Dec 2004 Posts: 850 Location: Poland / Warsaw
|
Vitor wrote: |
Taking a step back a little, why try and read it programatically? The only time you should need this information is if you're in an error situation where the channel is stuck in retry and you need to take manual action to resolve. Hence looking in the logs is a valid move as part of the decision-making process on the action you're going to take.
What's the requirement here? |
I have 2 machines.
On first machine there are two qmgrs QM1_T1 and QM2_T1.
On second machine there are two qmgrs QM1_T2 and QM2_T2.
Between QM1_T1 and QM2_T1 there is channel QM1_T1/ QM2_T1.
Between QM1_T2 and QM2_T2 there is channel QM1_T2/ QM2_T2.
Let say these are test environment T1 and test environment T2.
These channel are used very rarely (20 messages per month).
The scenario is : sending 20 messages -> 1 month with no communication and again in loop sending 20 messages and 1 month with no communication.
On T1 environment there is no problem.
On T2 every time after this 1 month pause when channel should move message from transmission queue to remote queue I receive error
“The local and remote queue managers do not agree on the next message sequence”
Every time expected message sequence number on receiver channel is 1 but on sender channel is greater than 1.
I wanted to monitor sequence number on sender and receiver side to discover when sequence number on receiver channel are reset to 1 and then why.
Regards _________________ Marcin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Mon Apr 27, 2009 12:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
Is the RCVR channel or maybe the entire receiving Queue Manager being recreated? Or are restores occuring on the receiving server using backup files from when the sequence # was 1? _________________ Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
marcin.kasinski |
Posted: Mon Apr 27, 2009 1:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Sentinel
Joined: 21 Dec 2004 Posts: 850 Location: Poland / Warsaw
|
PeterPotkay wrote: |
Is the RCVR channel or maybe the entire receiving Queue Manager being recreated? Or are restores occuring on the receiving server using backup files from when the sequence # was 1? |
Problem is that there was no admin tasks on receiving channel and qmgr, no backup, no recreating channel or qmgr.
I experience this situation every month on one environment.
Every time I have to reset sender channel. Every time expected sequence number is 1.
The same MQ configuration running on the same machine works OK on qmgr X but doesn’t work on qmgr Y.
For me it is very strange.
On receiving machine there is windows cluster and qmgrs configured to run with cluster.
I thought it could be source of my problem but now I think it’s not (I’m not 100% sure) because I experienced similar situation between two other qmgrs on test environment T1. _________________ Marcin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Mon Apr 27, 2009 1:10 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
marcin.kasinski wrote: |
Problem is that there was no admin tasks on receiving channel and qmgr, no backup, no recreating channel or qmgr.
I experience this situation every month on one environment.
|
How have you established that there's no admin tasks? It does sound so very much like the channel and/or the queue manager are being recreated.
Remember that it might not be a WMQ admin task responsible. If there's a monthly task to reset the environment from a system level backup you'd get this effect. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
gunter |
Posted: Mon Apr 27, 2009 11:30 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Partisan
Joined: 21 Jan 2004 Posts: 307 Location: Germany, Frankfurt
|
Which MQ Version you are working with.
I remember having had this problem years ago. Sometimes, without any doing by an admin, the receiver was reseted. But this was in the first days of version 5.3. _________________ Gunter Jeschawitz
IBM Certified System Administrator - Websphere MQ, 5.3 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
marcin.kasinski |
Posted: Tue Apr 28, 2009 3:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
Sentinel
Joined: 21 Dec 2004 Posts: 850 Location: Poland / Warsaw
|
gunter wrote: |
Which MQ Version you are working with.
I remember having had this problem years ago. Sometimes, without any doing by an admin, the receiver was reseted. But this was in the first days of version 5.3. |
It's 6.0.2.2 _________________ Marcin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kevinf2349 |
Posted: Tue Apr 28, 2009 4:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 28 Feb 2003 Posts: 1311 Location: USA
|
Are all the channel attributes the same?
Is there a firewall involved and are both queue manager ports managed the same way by the firewall?
Maybe if you post the channel defs it may help? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
gunter |
Posted: Tue Apr 28, 2009 5:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
Partisan
Joined: 21 Jan 2004 Posts: 307 Location: Germany, Frankfurt
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|