Author |
Message
|
Monk |
Posted: Wed Mar 11, 2009 2:02 am Post subject: MQ Clustering - How clients interact |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 21 Apr 2007 Posts: 282
|
Hi All,
There is something that is bothering me about MQ clustering.
if i have say 4 Queue managers setup in a cluster
-QM1
-QM2
-QM3
-QM4
and assume that the MQ Cluster is all well setup.
Now say there are many clients.
What will the clients need to know about the MQ cluster.
Do they need to know all the QMs.
which QM do they connect to in the QM cluster.
what if QM1 goes down in the cluster and the clients are trying to connect to QM1 , what will they do now?
Please help me, I m trying to design a MQ cluster, But the issue is how will it impact the clients.
any Tips/best practices on this would be very helpful.
More importantly how do clients connect to MQ , when i have my QMs in a cluster.
say if client is trying to connect to QM1 and QM1 is not available in the cluster . do he connect to QM2 or QM3.
Thanks. _________________ Thimk |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Wed Mar 11, 2009 2:12 am Post subject: Re: MQ Clustering - How clients interact |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
Monk wrote: |
What will the clients need to know about the MQ cluster. |
Nothing. Applications connect to queue managers. There is no "cluster" object.
Monk wrote: |
Do they need to know all the QMs. |
Depends on your design
Monk wrote: |
which QM do they connect to in the QM cluster. |
Whichever one they're told to - see my first answer.
Monk wrote: |
what if QM1 goes down in the cluster and the clients are trying to connect to QM1 , what will they do now? |
Fail unless other provision is made. Typically a clntconn table.
Monk wrote: |
More importantly how do clients connect to MQ , when i have my QMs in a cluster. |
Same as they always do - see above.
Monk wrote: |
say if client is trying to connect to QM1 and QM1 is not available in the cluster . do he connect to QM2 or QM3. |
Not unless you organise it. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Monk |
Posted: Wed Mar 11, 2009 2:30 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 21 Apr 2007 Posts: 282
|
ok so assuming i have clients configured to connect to all my QM in a cluster.
Now say the client connects to QM1 and gets a handle to that
and he is doing some puts and gets..
during that time the QM1 goes down..
What will happen to client now?
will he be able to execute puts and gets with the current connection handle, since the QM1 has gone down now.
 _________________ Thimk |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Wed Mar 11, 2009 2:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
Monk wrote: |
What will happen to client now? |
What would happen if QM1 wasn't in a cluster? Which part of my previous answer about clients connecting to queue managers because there was no such thing as a cluster wasn't clear? Which part of my answer to your previous question about what would happen when QM1 went down wasn't clear:
Monk wrote: |
what if QM1 goes down in the cluster and the clients are trying to connect to QM1 , what will they do now? |
There is no point me posting if you're not going to read the answers, or ask the question again because it's not the answer you wanted.
Monk wrote: |
will he be able to execute puts and gets with the current connection handle, since the QM1 has gone down now. |
Of course not!  _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Monk |
Posted: Wed Mar 11, 2009 2:42 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 21 Apr 2007 Posts: 282
|
Thanks for answering the questions vitor..
I guess i need to do some test...and find out how i need to handle my requirements...but thanks for the initial input...
And thank god i dont have to meet u in person..
u look like someone with low patience..but i appreciate ur quick response..
and take it easy with us MQ noobs  _________________ Thimk |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Wed Mar 11, 2009 2:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
Monk wrote: |
I guess i need to do some test...and find out how i need to handle my requirements...but thanks for the initial input... |
Use the suggestion I offered; works a treat for most requirements. Hold uppermost in your mind that the application is connecting to a queue manager, not a cluster, and all the coding / connection / get / put requirements are the same. I offer into evidence the oft-quoted & misguided belief that an application connected to a cluster can get a message from any queue in the cluster because it's a clustered queue.
Monk wrote: |
And thank god i dont have to meet u in person.. |
Offer a prayer also for those who actually have to work with me. Offer 2 for the cursed souls who have to work for me.
Monk wrote: |
u look like someone with low patience.. |
You should see me post when I'm actually feeling impatient...
Monk wrote: |
take it easy with us MQ noobs  |
You got a slightly rougher ride than some because I've always thought of you as one of our better posters. But I still dislike having to repeat myself.  _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|