Author |
Message
|
sjaganna |
Posted: Wed Mar 04, 2009 12:03 pm Post subject: Message Broker JavaCompute Node question |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 20 Feb 2009 Posts: 16
|
I am currently evaluating how to use the JavaCompute Node within the message broker. I have some questions around this:
1. How many JVM's will be created if I have JavaCompute node in my message flows. I have read somewhere that there is one JVM per execution group, is this correct?
2. Is the JVM created as a separate process from the execution group?
3. If the JVM is a separate process then how is the data being sent from the execution group process to the JVM?
Thanks
Srikanth |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Wed Mar 04, 2009 12:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
There is one JVM per EG.
They are not separate processes. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sjaganna |
Posted: Wed Mar 04, 2009 12:14 pm Post subject: Message Broker JavaCompute Node question |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 20 Feb 2009 Posts: 16
|
If these are not separate processes then is the DataFlowEngine.exe some kind of JVM which runs both Java and non-Java code. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Wed Mar 04, 2009 12:23 pm Post subject: Re: Message Broker JavaCompute Node question |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
sjaganna wrote: |
If these are not separate processes then is the DataFlowEngine.exe some kind of JVM which runs both Java and non-Java code. |
No, it's a compiled exe that executes the flows - broker itself isn't written in Java so it's no kind of JVM. Though it does spin up a JVM if there's a JCN in your flow. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Wed Mar 04, 2009 12:32 pm Post subject: Re: Message Broker JavaCompute Node question |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
Vitor wrote: |
sjaganna wrote: |
If these are not separate processes then is the DataFlowEngine.exe some kind of JVM which runs both Java and non-Java code. |
No, it's a compiled exe that executes the flows - broker itself isn't written in Java so it's no kind of JVM. Though it does spin up a JVM if there's a JCN in your flow. |
It's only an EXE on windows.
It is unsafe to assume that a JVM is not spun up at all times.
An EG runs a JVM internally, but is not a JVM itself. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Wed Mar 04, 2009 3:13 pm Post subject: Re: Message Broker JavaCompute Node question |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
mqjeff wrote: |
It's only an EXE on windows. |
I stand corrected. In defence, I was using the term "exe" rather than the extension, to indicate that the component in question was a compiled executable rather than Java byte code running in a JVM. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sjaganna |
Posted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 8:15 am Post subject: Message Broker JavaCompute Node question |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 20 Feb 2009 Posts: 16
|
Thanks for the response. I have a related question not sure if this is the right place to ask this.
I am working on a project where my team is responsible for developing some common components such as logging, security, exception handling, etc that will executed in the message broker environment. We have some consultants from IBM helping us develop this and they claim that the best solution for this is a sub-flow. But my contention is that it would probably be easier to do this as a custom node and place it in the toolkit pallet for message flow developers to use. Any thoughts on this? What we are concerned about is that if we provide sub-flows to other developers then they will have access to the sub-flow and will be able to modify the content of the common component sub-flow.
Thanks
Srikanth |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 8:35 am Post subject: Re: Message Broker JavaCompute Node question |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
sjaganna wrote: |
But my contention is that it would probably be easier to do this as a custom node and place it in the toolkit pallet for message flow developers to use. Any thoughts on this? |
It's the first time I've heard a custom node described as easier than a sub flow!
IMHO you'll struggle to fit all the functionality you need for all those needs in a single custome node. You'll also have the difficultly of distributing all the nodes to all the developer's toolkits, and maintaining them as you apply maintenance to the toolkit and develop the functionality.
sjaganna wrote: |
What we are concerned about is that if we provide sub-flows to other developers then they will have access to the sub-flow and will be able to modify the content of the common component sub-flow. |
This is entirely down to the quality of your source code control and build processes. If rank and file developers should not be changing this sub flow, lock it against them.
FWIW this site uses exactly this concept. There is a common sub flow included by developers at strategic points for auditing, another that is included in all flows for error handling and so forth. We've just released an enhanced version of the audit sub flow with no disruption and no issues. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|