|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
 |
|
putDateTime returns current time if null |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
caleb20 |
Posted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 1:50 am Post subject: putDateTime returns current time if null |
|
|
 Newbie
Joined: 11 Feb 2009 Posts: 3 Location: Geneva, Switzerland
|
Hi everyone,
I'm developing java software that periodically scans a queue in browse mode to get the depth and the oldest message date. The point is warning users if the queue starts to fill above a max amount of messages, or if a message has been sitting here for too long.
The problem is that for an unknown reason some messages have no timestamp, and in java it appears that a message with blank/null timestamp will return the current date when calling m.putDateTime.
Then I will never know for how long this message has been in the queue.
Is there a way of making the message return null or something instead of current date ?
Who is responsible for assigning the date ? The MQManager ? In which case would it leave a null value ?
Thank you in advance
caleb20 _________________ Bad guys always kill the messenger... |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zpat |
Posted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 2:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
You might be able to use the queue statistics feature in MQ V6 instead of doing this the hard way.
Not sure how you access these programmatically. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 2:32 am Post subject: Re: putDateTime returns current time if null |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
caleb20 wrote: |
Who is responsible for assigning the date ? The MQManager ? In which case would it leave a null value ?
|
The PutDate/Time is assigned by the queue manager once the message is accepted for delivery and cannot, AFAIK, ever be null.
I don't speak Java so can't comment on when or why this method would return a null value. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
caleb20 |
Posted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 3:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Newbie
Joined: 11 Feb 2009 Posts: 3 Location: Geneva, Switzerland
|
zpat and Vitor,
Sadly I do not have any freedom on technology choices, so I have to use mq-1.4.2.jar libraries to do it, and my boss wants to bypass the IT crew, which has the MQ servers, to make an undercover home made monitoring tool .
As Vitor said, the MQManager should not assign null values for datetime, that's why I'm puzzled by this behaviour, as every message posted in this queue come from the same process and is posted the same way.
For what I guess, the mq implementation creates a brand new 'GregorianCalendar' object - which by default is initialized with system date -, fails somehow to set it with the actual message date, and instead or returning a null value returns the 'GregorianCalendar' object.
I'm going to try to get the date through JMS API instead of MQ, and I'll let you know.
Thank you for your quick responses
Caleb20 _________________ Bad guys always kill the messenger... |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 3:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
caleb20 wrote: |
my boss wants to bypass the IT crew, which has the MQ servers, to make an undercover home made monitoring tool . |
Nothing like internal politics to increase complexity & TCO.
caleb20 wrote: |
that's why I'm puzzled by this behaviour, as every message posted in this queue come from the same process and is posted the same way. |
A simple test would be something like amqsbcg to check that each message actually has a put time. I'm 99.99999999999999% certain that this is the case, but for the time it will take it eliminates one cause of error. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
caleb20 |
Posted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 6:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Newbie
Joined: 11 Feb 2009 Posts: 3 Location: Geneva, Switzerland
|
Dear Vitor and zpat,
I beg your forgiveness...
I found out that somehere in the big spaghetti system, the messages posted on the queue were build MANUALLY. Basically it was creating a new empty MQMessage and setting each field one by one. Of course, the putDateTime was not set at all, hence null values.
Anyway thank you for the 'amqsbcg' command, didn't know it. Here we use 'q' command.
Sorry to have wasted your time, have a nice day. _________________ Bad guys always kill the messenger... |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 7:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
caleb20 wrote: |
I found out that somehere in the big spaghetti system, the messages posted on the queue were build MANUALLY. Basically it was creating a new empty MQMessage and setting each field one by one. Of course, the putDateTime was not set at all, hence null values. |
Well that's something I didn't know was possible when I woke up this morning! I really must get into Java one day.
caleb20 wrote: |
Anyway thank you for the 'amqsbcg' command, didn't know it. Here we use 'q' command.
|
Pedantically neither are commands; amqsbcg is a piece of source code supplied with the product and optionally installed, and q is a downloadable support pac.
I mention this principally for the benefit of other readers, who might wonder why one or both of these "commands" don't work on their site...  _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|