ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General IBM MQ Support » Does MQV6 Client support SSL if yes then How to set SSL

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Does MQV6 Client support SSL if yes then How to set SSL « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
ashokbhadviya
PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2009 4:04 am    Post subject: Does MQV6 Client support SSL if yes then How to set SSL Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 04 Feb 2009
Posts: 5

[color=blue][/color]

I am using MQv5 to connect MQ Server without SSL it's working fine.

Now I upgared my Client to MQV6 to connect MQ server through SSL

I am using VB6.0 code through (using MQIC32.dll)
I am try to connecting to MQ server (through SSL)
For that I am setting the following Environment Variable on MQ Client machine

MQCHLLIB=D:\CPRS_SSL\
MQCHLTAB=AMQCLCHL.TAB
MQSSLKEYR=D:\CPRS_SSL\key
MQ_JAVA_DATA_PATH=D:\Program Files\IBM\WebSphere MQ
MQ_JAVA_INSTALL_PATH=D:\Program Files\IBM\WebSphere MQ\Java
MQ_JAVA_LIB_PATH=D:\Program Files\IBM\WebSphere MQ\Java\lib

while connecting from Vb6.0 I am passing the following detail
QMgr,request/ReplyQueue

MQCONN MQQMgr, gHcon, mvarCompCode, mvarReason

While establishing connection it's giving error 2058.

is it any other way to set connection for SSL if yes what I will do ?
Can You help me how to connect through SSL
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2009 4:09 am    Post subject: Re: Does MQV6 Client support SSL if yes then How to set SSL Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

ashokbhadviya wrote:
While establishing connection it's giving error 2058.


I've been caught by this before, but are you certain the supplied queue manager name matches that in the client table? Including case?

I'd have expected a different error if it was an SSL problem.

You can of course easily check this yourself by trying to establish a non-SSL connection, then once it's working add the SSL information.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2009 4:12 am    Post subject: Re: Does MQV6 Client support SSL if yes then How to set SSL Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

ashokbhadviya wrote:

MQ_JAVA_DATA_PATH=D:\Program Files\IBM\WebSphere MQ
MQ_JAVA_INSTALL_PATH=D:\Program Files\IBM\WebSphere MQ\Java


Don't know that these 2 have the correct values. Check in the security manual and .net manual that you have the right values there.
I would have expected a path to a java binary (JRE/JDK) in the MQ_JAVA_INSTALL_PATH. Otherwise where do you get the java ssl implementation from ???

Enjoy
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ashokbhadviya
PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2009 2:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 04 Feb 2009
Posts: 5

Quote:
non SSL


it is working fine with Non-SSL using MQSERVER Environment variable
but when used Client Channel tab file ie., MQCHLTAB and MQCHLLIB Environment varibale,
it is not working without SSL.
I think Queue Manager details are correct, because it is working fine with MQSERVER Environment Variable.
And so pls help me out to resolve this issue in a high priority manner
[/quote]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2009 2:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

ashokbhadviya wrote:
I think Queue Manager details are correct, because it is working fine with MQSERVER Environment Variable.


Irrelevant. Using MQSERVER you don't quote a queue manager name, in the client table you do and I suspect you've got a mismatch someplace.

ashokbhadviya wrote:
And so pls help me out to resolve this issue in a high priority manner


We're not a support desk, we're a group of professionals who give time voluntarially without an SLA on replies. If it's that urgent, leverage your license fee and raise a PMR.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zpat
PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2009 2:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 19 May 2001
Posts: 5866
Location: UK

Change one thing at a time.

Get it working with the CCDT without SSL first.

Check the CCDT by using RFHUTILC to connect (using the queue manager name only).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ashokbhadviya
PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2009 4:28 am    Post subject: Connection to QM failed cc=2 rc=2058 Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 04 Feb 2009
Posts: 5

when we try to connect using RFHUTILC by giving only the Queue Manager name, we are getting the below error
Connection to QM failed cc=2 rc=2058
Error getting queue names - reason 2058

when we try to connect the server by setting MQCHLLIB and MQCHLTAB, it works fine with amqsputc

but if we try to connect from the VB6.0 appln, it is throwing error
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2009 4:31 am    Post subject: Re: Connection to QM failed cc=2 rc=2058 Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

ashokbhadviya wrote:
when we try to connect using RFHUTILC by giving only the Queue Manager name, we are getting the below error
Connection to QM failed cc=2 rc=2058
Error getting queue names - reason 2058


Had you set MQCHLLIB & MQCHLTAB at this point?

ashokbhadviya wrote:
when we try to connect the server by setting MQCHLLIB and MQCHLTAB, it works fine with amqsputc


This proves your channel table is set up correctly

ashokbhadviya wrote:
but if we try to connect from the VB6.0 appln, it is throwing error


This proves that your code is not.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ashokbhadviya
PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2009 5:28 am    Post subject: For RFHUTILC /MQCHLLIB and MQCHLTAB Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 04 Feb 2009
Posts: 5

Quote:
For RFHUTILC

For RFHUTILC, Queue Manager name is different from the Server Connection Channel name.
--------------------------
Queue Manager - SANDBOXVCP01_QM
Server Connection Channel - TEST
so i guess, when we trying by RFHUTILC, giving Queue Manager name alone, it is not recognizing the Channel Definition Table
-----------------------------------------------------
Quote:
also i have set both MQCHLLIB and MQCHLTAB


I am runnning VB6.0 application to establish non-SSL Connection
(using MQIC32.dll) for invoking the
Environment Variables MQSERVER,
and when I set MQCHLTAB and
MQCHLLIB for Non-SSL, it is throwing 2058 error.
Is there any problem with dll then? bcos channel table works
fine with amqsputc

Quote:
In case VB6.0 what parameter we need to pass in case non-SSL apart from MQCHLLIB and MQCHLTAB these two.


when I am using MQSERVER Environment variable with non-SSL it's working fine
pls correct me if anything going wrong[/quote]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2009 5:40 am    Post subject: Re: For RFHUTILC /MQCHLLIB and MQCHLTAB Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

ashokbhadviya wrote:
so i guess, when we trying by RFHUTILC, giving Queue Manager name alone, it is not recognizing the Channel Definition Table


How can it, without the environment variables?

ashokbhadviya wrote:
Is there any problem with dll then? bcos channel table works
fine with amqsputc


There's nothing wrong with the dll (what do you think amqsputc is using? Black magic?), you have a code problem.

ashokbhadviya wrote:
In case VB6.0 what parameter we need to pass in case non-SSL apart from MQCHLLIB and MQCHLTAB these two.


Nothing.

ashokbhadviya wrote:
when I am using MQSERVER Environment variable with non-SSL it's working fine


As I said previously, the server variable and the channel table work in different ways. Your code is not correctly identifying the queue manager, causing a 2058.

ashokbhadviya wrote:
pls correct me if anything going wrong


I've previously attempted to correct you. I'm a a loss how to articulate your problem more clearly.

As a side note, IIRC VB6 is moving out of support and not recommended for new developments. You could consider VB.NET, which gives you access to the managed connection library. Might find it easier to work...
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ashokbhadviya
PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2009 6:01 am    Post subject: thanks Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 04 Feb 2009
Posts: 5

Thanks for your prompt & valuable feedback.
is it any sample code in VB6.0 for Connecting using MQCHLTAB and MQCHLLIB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2009 6:11 am    Post subject: Re: thanks Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

ashokbhadviya wrote:
is it any sample code in VB6.0 for Connecting using MQCHLTAB and MQCHLLIB


Any of the samples (supplied with the server install and in the usual places on the web) will do. There's no difference in code between a client and a server connection except the lib you link with.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General IBM MQ Support » Does MQV6 Client support SSL if yes then How to set SSL
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.