ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexWebSphere Technologies FAQserver and client MQSeries on a machine?

Post new topicReply to topic
server and client MQSeries on a machine? View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
franck.pegourdie
PostPosted: Thu Oct 10, 2002 6:15 am Post subject: server and client MQSeries on a machine? Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 10 Oct 2002
Posts: 4
Location: france

Can we have both MQSeries server and client on a same machine???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kingsley
PostPosted: Thu Oct 10, 2002 6:20 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Disciple

Joined: 30 Sep 2001
Posts: 175
Location: Hursley

Yes, definitely.

Majority of the Beginners will learn with MQServer and Client on the Same Machine.

I am certified working on one machine .

Today i am confident of Admin and Application Programming using C.

Have a nice day while learning.
kalyan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
franck.pegourdie
PostPosted: Thu Oct 10, 2002 6:49 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 10 Oct 2002
Posts: 4
Location: france

thnak you for answering me!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fireguok
PostPosted: Wed Jan 28, 2009 12:13 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 22

Why we need to install mq server and client on one machine?

Does server not provide client's service?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zpat
PostPosted: Wed Jan 28, 2009 12:50 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 19 May 2001
Posts: 5688
Location: UK

MQ apps connect in binding or client mode (eg RFHUTIL or RFHUTILC).

You can connect apps to a local QM in client mode although this would be less efficient.

For learning purposes having both is helpful, many utilities are easier to use in client mode, plus you can connect to other queue managers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Wed Jan 28, 2009 1:03 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 25918
Location: Texas, USA

fireguok wrote:
Does server not provide client's service?


No it doesn't. The client libs are a separate product, on all platforms I'm familiar with (except z/OS) supplied on the server media for convenience.

Don't confuse the ability to accept client connections (included with the server) with the ability to initiate them (which requires the client).
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexWebSphere Technologies FAQserver and client MQSeries on a machine?
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.