Author |
Message
|
RNStanich |
Posted: Wed Jan 14, 2009 12:20 pm Post subject: Using mqsicreatebar in Ant Script |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 23 Apr 2002 Posts: 64
|
Hi all, this may be more of an opening a discussion thread versus a question. I have been trying to create an Ant script to checkout projects from CVS and use the mqsicreatebar command to create the bar file.
I'm on Windows XP, toolkit v6.1.0.301
I have two scripts, a checkout and a build (creates bar).
If I run them my bar file creation fails.
If I use the Toolkit to create the workspace and checkout the projects (auto-build on), close the Toolkit and then run the build script the bar file is created.
If I use the checkout script to create the workspace, launch the toolkit, close the toolkit, and then run the build script the bar file is created.
Clearly the toolkit has some impact (build automatically~clean). I have seen some of the other threads; some discuss deleting or at least cleaning out the .metadata directory ~ that did not help.
I incorporated the -cleanBuild argument ~ that did not help.
I did notice however that the plugins directory has more content if created by the Toolkit versus allowing mqsicreatebar to create it.
So I created workspace1 with the GUI and checkout the projects.
I then created workspace2 manually, copied in the .metadata file from workspace1 to grab all the plugins and deleted everything in workspace2 .metadata except the plugins directory.
I can then run the scripts, checking out, and building the bar successfully, over and over.
Sorry, I'm wordy; last thought. I would think the mqsicreatebar command would grab all plugins required...my game plan barring any comments from you all is to incorporate into the Ant scripts grabing a handful of plugin files.
FWIW ~ Thanks for your time... _________________ Regards, Bob |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
RNStanich |
Posted: Fri Jan 16, 2009 9:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 23 Apr 2002 Posts: 64
|
Well I was way off base on this. I missed a ton of stuff in the .metadata file about the specific projects I was testing with.
So I'm back to square one. I assume it is possible and not that difficult to run an Ant script to check out projects from CVS and run the mqsicreatebar command.
I've allow the command to create the workspace, I've tried starting the toolkit JUST to create an empty workspace.
Kind of lost as to what to try next? Any thoughts would be appreciated. _________________ Regards, Bob |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
j.f.sorge |
Posted: Fri Jan 16, 2009 9:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
Master
Joined: 27 Feb 2008 Posts: 218
|
We are doing quite the same and the workspace is automatically created by mqsicreatebar (v. 6.0.2.11) in a temporary folder for each bar which is build - and it works perfectly.
Code: |
<exec executable="${build.broker.mqsicreatebar}" vmlauncher="false" spawn="false" failonerror="true">
<arg value="-data"/><arg value="${build.source.dir}"/>
<arg value="-b" /><arg value="${build.dest.dir}/${build.project}.bar"/>
<arg value="-p" /><arg line ="${build.project.list}"/>
<arg value="-o" /><arg line ="${build.flow.list}"/>
<arg line ="${build.mset.list}"/>
</exec> |
Probably its a problem with the version you are using - so it'll be the best way to open an PMR and gather the information IBM needs. _________________ IBM Certified Solution Designer - WebSphere MQ V6.0
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V6.0
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V6.1
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V7.0 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
RNStanich |
Posted: Tue Jan 20, 2009 10:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 23 Apr 2002 Posts: 64
|
thanks, j.f...that was pretty much my next step. _________________ Regards, Bob |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
RNStanich |
Posted: Fri Feb 06, 2009 9:57 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 23 Apr 2002 Posts: 64
|
Not sure anyone will notice this post but we'll give it a try. Since my last post I have contacted IBM and am working with them. I have noticed a particular behavior that I'm hoping someone will comment on or generously provide snippets of code.
First I create a simple directory for the workspace, "md" command.
I use a command line to check my projects out of CVS.
<target name="getLatestCVS">
<cvs command="checkout" dest="${workspace.dir}" cvsRoot="${cvs.root}" package="${project}" tag="${cvs.branch}" quiet="true" failonerror="true" />
</target>
This will add the project to the workspace.
I then issue the mqsicreatebar command. I have noticed two things.
1. The create bar command will create the .metadata/plugins directory and add any "parent" msgflows to the .metadata\.plugins\org.eclipse.core.resources\.projects directory.
2. The -cleanBuild argument will then add esql files to the .metadata\.plugins\com.ibm.etools.mft.builder.esqlobj directory.
My build fails because the subflows (a) are not added to the .projects directory and consequently their esql is not added to the esqlobj directory.
If I checkout of CVS using the Toolkit then the subflows are treated correctly and the create bar command works.
Seems my issue is either around the CVS checkout command or a defect in the mqsicreatebar command that does not handle subflows properly.
Thoughts? TY _________________ Regards, Bob |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Fri Feb 06, 2009 10:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
Try checking any subflow projects out first. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
RNStanich |
Posted: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 23 Apr 2002 Posts: 64
|
Thank you for the thought but that did not work either. _________________ Regards, Bob |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|