Author |
Message
|
mqwbi |
Posted: Tue Dec 30, 2008 9:16 am Post subject: create a queue manager which uses a TCP port 1420 |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 15 Dec 2008 Posts: 24
|
Hi
I don't want to use the standard WMQ port 1414. I want to create a queue manager which uses a TCP port 1420 . Can you please tell me the command for this? Also, i want to see/verify if the TCP Port has been changed.
I am using WMQ 6.0.2.5 on AIX 5.3
Request your help
Thank You |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
masteringmq |
Posted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 1:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
Master
Joined: 20 Oct 2008 Posts: 200
|
1. Edit qm.ini file
2. Add the following line
TCP:
Port=1420
3. Safe the qm.ini file
4. RUNMQSC <QueueManagerName>
5. Type the following: DISPLAY LISTENER(*) PORT |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
exerk |
Posted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 2:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 Posts: 6339
|
Create a Listener object and put it under the control of the queue manager - saves on editing qm.ini files etc. _________________ It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 3:10 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
masteringmq wrote: |
1. Edit qm.ini file
2. Add the following line
TCP:
Port=1420
3. Safe the qm.ini file
4. RUNMQSC <QueueManagerName>
5. Type the following: DISPLAY LISTENER(*) PORT |
NOTE: This is not best practice
This only takes effect after a restart of the qmgr
This has a number of side effects on existing sender channels
What you really want to do is change the listener object and restart it.
This can be done while the qmgr is running but will disrupt existing communications. It should be done using runmqsc on the machine the qmgr exists on.
Have fun  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 4:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
The good advice given here to the same poster still holds. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 8:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
fjb_saper wrote: |
masteringmq wrote: |
1. Edit qm.ini file
2. Add the following line
TCP:
Port=1420
3. Safe the qm.ini file
4. RUNMQSC <QueueManagerName>
5. Type the following: DISPLAY LISTENER(*) PORT |
NOTE: This is not best practice
|
Note only is it not best practice, but it will have no effect on what port the QM's Listener will use.
mqwbi,
QMs don't listen on ports. QM's Listeners listen on ports. _________________ Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Wed Jan 07, 2009 3:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
PeterPotkay wrote: |
Note only is it not best practice, but it will have no effect on what port the QM's Listener will use.
mqwbi,
QMs don't listen on ports. QM's Listeners listen on ports. |
I thought it might if the listener port was never specified on the listener object... but maybe I am mistaken...
The side effect however would be to set the port of any conname without an explicit port to 1420....  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|