ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » Workflow Engines - IBM MQ Workflow & Business Process Choreographer » UPES Design Question.

Post new topic  Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 UPES Design Question. « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
Shakthi
PostPosted: Tue Oct 29, 2002 8:28 am    Post subject: UPES Design Question. Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 29 Oct 2002
Posts: 4
Location: US

Hi,
Is there any standards for designing how Errors should be handled while designing UPES activities.


Thanks in Advance.

Shakthi.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmac
PostPosted: Tue Oct 29, 2002 8:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 27 Jun 2001
Posts: 3081
Location: EmeriCon, LLC

Perhaps you could elaborate a little more... What type of errors are you talking about?
_________________
John McDonald
RETIRED
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Shakthi
PostPosted: Tue Oct 29, 2002 10:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 29 Oct 2002
Posts: 4
Location: US

Here is our scenario,

We have an UPES activity that is calling webservice. If the webservice is temporarily down, we want to know how we handle the situation.

1. How do we handle, if it times out.
2. How do we handle it, when the UPES returns an error(Webservice not available) and we want to call the same webservice after 10 minutes.


Thanks in advance.

Shakthi.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
amittalekar
PostPosted: Tue Oct 29, 2002 12:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Disciple

Joined: 03 Apr 2002
Posts: 166
Location: VA, USA

what u can do is, add a flag (Long) in the datastructure . And add the exit condition for UPES activity as that "flag == 0". When exception occurs increase ths flag...If the exit condition is not match then the WorkItem will be created in ready state for the User specified in buildtime.

To start this UPES step after specific interval, Add a daemon (u can use block activity for this purpose...set exit condition 1=0 so that it will act as daemon)...In the daemon code start this workItem
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
kriersd
PostPosted: Thu Oct 31, 2002 9:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 22 Jul 2002
Posts: 209
Location: IA, USA

Shakthi

Maybe this would work..

1.) put the upes activity in a block with and exit condition = 0
2.) when you get a timeout API back to WF and suspend the process for 10 min
3.) Return back to WF with a RC = -1



Good luck..
_________________
Dave Krier

IBM WebSphere MQ Workflow V3.4 Solution Designer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shakthi
PostPosted: Thu Oct 31, 2002 11:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 29 Oct 2002
Posts: 4
Location: US

Thanks for the ideas!!

Putting every UPES in a BLOCK seems to be working. But we have 25 different UPESs calling 25 different webservices. Creating 25 blocks for achieving the UPES seems complex and makes the process look complex. But it works!!

Thanks for your help!!

Shakthi.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmac
PostPosted: Thu Oct 31, 2002 12:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 27 Jun 2001
Posts: 3081
Location: EmeriCon, LLC

I am not sure I understand exactly what your process looks like, but have you considerd using the "From container" option to invoke your upes?

Do you invoke all 25 UPESs for each instance? or only 1 per instance?

Tell me a little more about what the process model looks like and perhaps I can suggest something.

GOOD LUCK
_________________
John McDonald
RETIRED
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Vladimir
PostPosted: Thu Nov 14, 2002 7:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 14 Nov 2002
Posts: 73
Location: USA, CA, Bay Area

Actually I think there is no need for putting each activity in the block, it should be enough just to set activity expiration and just activity exit condition. It will simplify your model. But in some complex situations you do have to put it into a block.

And 25 UPESes seems to be too much for me. Are you shure that you need all of them and Java High Performance Bridge cannot replace all of them?

We were using UPES-based style and I had enough fun with it to start looking into other directions. UPES style application is pretty difficult to support, because you have to have monitoring tool for each UPES that will check that UPES is running and can process requests and so on...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmac
PostPosted: Fri Nov 15, 2002 5:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 27 Jun 2001
Posts: 3081
Location: EmeriCon, LLC

Vladimir:

1) The activity might need to be in a Block for staffing purposes and also if you want the UPES activity to start automatically again.

2) If you have an alternative to using a PEA or a UPES for automatic activities please share it with us.

Thanks
_________________
John McDonald
RETIRED
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Vladimir
PostPosted: Fri Nov 15, 2002 3:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 14 Nov 2002
Posts: 73
Location: USA, CA, Bay Area

Jmac:

1) What kind of staffing can be implemented in the Block that cannot be done with the activity itself. If you can gve some example, it wuould be really helpful.

2) You are right that we have only 2 alternatives PEA and UPES for programs other than Java. But for Java you have 3 members in this competition: UPES, Java High performance Bridge and PEA (launching JVM - I know it's a bad way, but I think we should mention it here anyway). And we are using Java, so I really want to switch from UPES to JHPB in our project. Unless we find some real problems with this migration.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vladimir
PostPosted: Fri Nov 15, 2002 4:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 14 Nov 2002
Posts: 73
Location: USA, CA, Bay Area

Jmac:

1) Sorry, I forgot to ask you in the previous post - how can block help us to restart activity automatically? Could you, please, give me some hints? I really want to use it if it is possible...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ratan
PostPosted: Fri Nov 15, 2002 4:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 1245

Quote:
Actually I think there is no need for putting each activity in the block, it should be enough just to set activity expiration and just activity exit condition. It will simplify your model. But in some complex situations you do have to put it into a block.


The activity has to be put in a block if it has to be restarted automatically untill the exit condition is met. With the exit condition in an activity and with out a block, your automatic activity becomes a manual activity and would require a user interaction, if you do not have a deamon process which logs in and restarts the activity.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Ratan
PostPosted: Fri Nov 15, 2002 4:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 1245

Quote:
1) Sorry, I forgot to ask you in the previous post - how can block help us to restart activity automatically? Could you, please, give me some hints? I really want to use it if it is possible...


Do not specify an exit condition for the automatic activity, put it in a block and only specify the exit condition for the block. This will restart the activity automatically.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Vladimir
PostPosted: Fri Nov 15, 2002 4:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 14 Nov 2002
Posts: 73
Location: USA, CA, Bay Area

lazeknight:

Yes, I was thinking about this design, but we obviously want to give our activities some time between between retries. I understand that we can do it with adding another "sleep" activity in the block, but it makes models too complex. At least on my sight.

The reason we want to go with the agent logging into the worklist and restarting the items is that in that case admins (or support team) will have a list where they will see all "problematic" activities that are waiting to be restarted at the current moment. They will be able to cancel or push the from this list - to speed-up restarting process if it's needed. Does it look more flexible?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmac
PostPosted: Fri Nov 15, 2002 4:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 27 Jun 2001
Posts: 3081
Location: EmeriCon, LLC

Vladamir:
Quote:
1) What kind of staffing can be implemented in the Block that cannot be done with the activity itself. If you can gve some example, it wuould be really helpful.


Say activty "A" is on the worklist of 5 users. U1, U2, U3, U4, U5. Now U2 works the activity but it fails the Exit condition. If this activity "A" is not in a block by itself, it will only exist in a "READY" state on the worklist of U2. BUT if you put the activity in a Block, and have the Block Fail the exit condition, it will be back on all 5 worklists in a "READY" state.

Quote:
2) You are right that we have only 2 alternatives PEA and UPES for programs other than Java. But for Java you have 3 members in this competition: UPES, Java High performance Bridge and PEA (launching JVM - I know it's a bad way, but I think we should mention it here anyway). And we are using Java, so I really want to switch from UPES to JHPB in our project. Unless we find some real problems with this migration.


In this case I would choos eth JHPB

Quote:
1) Sorry, I forgot to ask you in the previous post - how can block help us to restart activity automatically? Could you, please, give me some hints? I really want to use it if it is possible...


This is similar to the Staffing above. MQWF will only start an activity "AUTOMATICALLY" the first time it runs (I.E. if it fails its EXIT condition it will sit in a "READY" state. Again, if you put this inside a Block and have the Block fail the exit condition it will start AUTOMATICALLY again, since the workitem is re-created when the block restarts.
_________________
John McDonald
RETIRED
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next Page 1 of 3

MQSeries.net Forum Index » Workflow Engines - IBM MQ Workflow & Business Process Choreographer » UPES Design Question.
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.