ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ Java / JMS » Maximum message size?

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Maximum message size? « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
jadaaih
PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2008 12:46 am    Post subject: Maximum message size? Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 10 Sep 2008
Posts: 25

Hi All,

I am new to MQ and just started this morning, so forgive me if my question is lame or dumb.

I want to read a file somewhere around 10 MB as a MQMessage and send put it in a queue.

But when I am trying to do this via Java API provided in MQ, I am getting MQJE001: Completion Code 2, Reason 2010

I tried maximizing the message size through the explorer in properties > Max Message Length and set it to 104856700.

Even then it does not seem working and shows up the exception.

Here is the code snippet
MQMessage msg = new MQMessage();
baos = MQSUtil.readFile("C:/Test.doc");
msg
.write(baos.toByteArray());
MQPutMessageOptions mqpo = new MQPutMessageOptions(); //Blank options
defaultQ.put(msg, mqpo); //Put the message in queue

Could you please let me know where am I going wrong? Also could you please point me documentations page for MQ 6?

TIA,
Jade
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mr Butcher
PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2008 1:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Padawan

Joined: 23 May 2005
Posts: 1716

max msg length can be set on the queuemanager, on the queue, on the channel. did you set it in every place you needed it?
_________________
Regards, Butcher
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2008 2:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

You are probably missing some setup on your clientsvr channel on the client side. Try using a channel table (having both the svrconn and the clientconn set the max msgsize) and see if it makes a difference...
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
jadaaih
PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2008 3:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 10 Sep 2008
Posts: 25

Yes...Its set in all the three places...even then its the same issue
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jadaaih
PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2008 3:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 10 Sep 2008
Posts: 25

Sorry for being dumb again...where is the svrconn and channel table stuff you had mentioned...Is it in MQ Explorer?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2008 3:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

jadaaih wrote:
Sorry for being dumb again...where is the svrconn and channel table stuff you had mentioned...Is it in MQ Explorer?

Check the intercommunications and clients manuals here

Enjoy
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
jadaaih
PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2008 5:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 10 Sep 2008
Posts: 25

I tried specifying the max limit in all possible plays through websphere MQ explorer for the qmanager, queue and channel also in client connection and server connection

Still its same issue...

The following is my code

MQEnvironment.hostname = MQSConstants.MQ_HOST;
MQEnvironment.channel = MQSConstants.MQ_CHANNEL_NAME;
MQEnvironment.properties.put(MQC.TRANSPORT_PROPERTY,
MQC.TRANSPORT_MQSERIES);
mqManager = new MQQueueManager(MQSConstants.MQ_QUEUE_MANAGER);
openOptions = MQC.MQOO_INPUT_AS_Q_DEF | MQC.MQOO_OUTPUT;
System.out.println("[ Open Options : "+openOptions+"]");
defaultQ = mqManager.accessQueue("default",
openOptions);

// Framing message to send
MQMessage msg = new MQMessage();
//5MB file
baos = MQSUtil.readFile("C:/Test.doc");
msg.write(baos.toByteArray());
MQPutMessageOptions mqpo = new MQPutMessageOptions(); //Blank options
defaultQ.put(msg); //Put the message in queue

// Getting the message from queue
MQMessage rmsg = new MQMessage();
rmsg.messageId = msg.messageId;
MQGetMessageOptions mqgo = new MQGetMessageOptions();
defaultQ.get(rmsg, mqgo);
System.out.println("[Received : "+rmsg.readUTF()+"]");

// Close the queue
defaultQ.close();
// Disconnect from the mq manager
mqManager.disconnect();

Kindly lemme know what I am missing out
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2008 2:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

Looks like you are using the default client end of a channel connection. This is limited @ 4MB. You need to specify the max msg length on your connection information to be able to go above. Verify in the programming manual.

Enjoy
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
jadaaih
PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2008 8:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 10 Sep 2008
Posts: 25

fjb_saper wrote:
Looks like you are using the default client end of a channel connection. This is limited @ 4MB. You need to specify the max msg length on your connection information to be able to go above. Verify in the programming manual.

Enjoy


I guess this the application programming manual

http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/iseries/v5r2/ic2924/books/csqzal05.pdf

I could see chapter 10 page 135 speaking about the message length...I am very sorry to keep coming back around I am still unclear how to do it even after reading the manual...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2008 8:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

jadaaih wrote:
fjb_saper wrote:
Looks like you are using the default client end of a channel connection. This is limited @ 4MB. You need to specify the max msg length on your connection information to be able to go above. Verify in the programming manual.

Enjoy


I guess this the application programming manual

http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/iseries/v5r2/ic2924/books/csqzal05.pdf

I could see chapter 10 page 135 speaking about the message length...I am very sorry to keep coming back around I am still unclear how to do it even after reading the manual...


The key parts are qmgr, dlq, q, chl

With that you should be able to put your message. However for the changes to take effect you might have to restart the qmgr or at least stop and start the chl.

Enjoy
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
jadaaih
PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2008 8:33 pm    Post subject: Got it working!! Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 10 Sep 2008
Posts: 25

Finally I got it working, these are the things I did,

- I created a new queue and set the max length of the message as 10MB
- Wrote the file to be sent in queue as bytes.
- Read them back as bytes and wrote back to a file.

Its working...

However, I would like to know or still analyzing on,

- The new queue I added is not visible in MQExplorer, however when I tried to add queue with same name it said the object existed...That's how I came to know the queue was existing there.
- Why was it not working for the default queue even though the message size was set to the maximum. I guess there was no difference between the default and the newly created queue except for the names..all other parameters seemed the same

Thanks again guys..!! Great place for beginners like me!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jadaaih
PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2008 8:40 pm    Post subject: Found the issue! Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 10 Sep 2008
Posts: 25

Yes.. I found the issue...

The default queue persistence was set to persistence...and thats why it was not working...But I still don't whats the usage for that parameter. Could any one brief on it please?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2008 9:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

You did not specify which type of logging you are using (circular / linear).
In any case what I suspect is that you might get rolled back on a persistent message because you do not have enough log space (<= 10 MB you need more) to have the message under transactional control...

A look at the qmgr logs should show you messages to that effect.

Enjoy
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
jadaaih
PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2008 9:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 10 Sep 2008
Posts: 25

Well I guess the logging is the default one...I did not change any in it...It should be circular...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Thu Sep 11, 2008 2:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

jadaaih wrote:
Well I guess the logging is the default one...I did not change any in it...It should be circular...


With default logging you also might be a little bit short in total logging space as you have to account for everything else that is going on, on the qmgr, at the same time.
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ Java / JMS » Maximum message size?
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.