ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General IBM MQ Support » maxchannels

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 maxchannels « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
dk27
PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2008 2:00 am    Post subject: maxchannels Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 28 Apr 2008
Posts: 51

I have a peculiar problem here. I have been asked to evaluate if I need to increases maxchannels for a queue manager. Currently maxchannels is set to 200 and after this change I have been asked to increase to 300.

Question here is how do I know how many channels currently used on the queue manager and If number of new connection exceed the number that comes when number of active channels are subtracted from maxchaneels.

Platform is Solaris and MQ 5.3 and I have read some where that maxchannel attribute is not significant on platform other that Z/OS.

Can you please let me know how can I know how many channels are currently used on the queue manager.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2008 2:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

Start here then work through the search facility if you've further queries.

It's been talked about a lot.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dk27
PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2008 2:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 28 Apr 2008
Posts: 51

apologies, I have found the right thread for this..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KramJ
PostPosted: Thu May 22, 2008 9:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 09 Jan 2006
Posts: 80
Location: Atlanta

You can try this perl script. I haven't tried it on Solaris, but it works well with v5.3 on AIX. It requires modification to work correctly with MQ v6.

[code]
#!/usr/bin/perl -w
#
# Written by: Mark Johnson 12/19/2006
#
# Description:
# This script is used to view active MQ connection counts, SVRCONN connection counts,
# and SVRCONN connection counts by host.
#
# Usage:
# ./MQConnections.pl

use strict;

my (@svrconn, @chName, $flag, @active, @chan, @IP, @stat);
my $runmqsc = `echo "dis chs(*)"|/usr/bin/runmqsc`;
my @cons = split /AMQ8417: Display Channel Status details./, $runmqsc;
print "\n";
for(my $i = 1; $i < @cons; $i++){
if($cons[$i] =~ m/SVRCONN/){
push(@svrconn, $i);
}
}
print "Active channels: " . scalar @cons . "\nActive SVRCONN channels: " . scalar @svrconn . "\n\n";
for(my $i = 0; $i < @svrconn; $i++){
($chan[$i], $IP[$i], $stat[$i]) = (split /\s+/, $cons[$svrconn[$i]])[1,4,7];
$chan[$i] =~ s/CHANNEL\(//;
$chan[$i] =~ s/\)//;
$IP[$i] =~ s/CONNAME\(//;
$IP[$i] =~ s/\)//;
$flag = 0;
for(my $j = 0; $j < @chName; $j++){
if($chan[$i] eq $chName[$j]){
$flag = 1;
}
}
if(!$flag){
push(@chName, $chan[$i]);
}
}
for(my $k = 0; $k < @chName; $k++){
if($chName[$k] =~ m/NS.MQADMIN/){
next;
}
print "$chName[$k]: ";
my @count;
for(my $l = 0; $l < @chan; $l++){
if(($chName[$k] eq $chan[$l]) && ($stat[$k] =~ m/RUNNING/)){
push(@count, $l);
}
}
my @hostIP;
my $count = 0;
print scalar @count . "\n";
for(my $m = 0; $m < @count; $m++){
$flag = 0;
for(my $n = 0; $n < @hostIP; $n++){
if($hostIP[$n] eq $IP[$count[$m]]){
$flag = 1;
}
}
if(!$flag){
push(@hostIP, $IP[$count[$m]]);
}
}
for(my $n = 0; $n < @hostIP; $n++){
my @count2;
for(my $o = 0; $o < @count; $o++){
if($IP[$count[$o]] eq $hostIP[$n]){
$count2[$n]++;
}
}
my $host = `nslookup -timeout=1 $hostIP[$n] 2>/dev/null`;
$host = (split /\n/, $host)[3];
if(!$host){
$host = "";
}
$host = (split /\s+/, $host)[1];
if(!$host){
$host = "";
}
$host = (split /\./, $host)[0];
if(!$host){
$host = "unknown";
}
print "\t$host ($hostIP[$n]): $count2[$n]\n";
}
}
print "\n";
[/code]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General IBM MQ Support » maxchannels
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.