ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexWebSphere Technologies FAQDetermining MQ Versions, CSD Levels, etc...

Post new topicReply to topic Goto page Previous  1, 2
Determining MQ Versions, CSD Levels, etc... View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
kevinf2349
PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2005 8:05 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 28 Feb 2003
Posts: 1311
Location: USA

I have created a website with links to various zip files that contain the COBOL, assembler and REXX source code for extracting information about the MQ versions installed on z/OS

The programs have been tested on z/OS 1.7 and work fine. It also identifies the last PTF that was put on the early load program CSQ3EPX.

Additionally one there is a zip file that has a TSO XMIT file of the load library with the COBOl and assmebler versions in executable form.

I have also upload a VB.net program that will give the software lvels, install type and the names and status of any Queue managers on the box This requires both the .Net framework installed and read access to the registry on the box. This program has been tested on Windows XP only but it should work on any .Net supported version of Windows.

The link is http://www.angelfire.com/ga/bowstore/MQ.html

I haven't worked out how to get this into the software repository on the site yet but when I do I can dismantle the website.

Enjoy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EddieA
PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2005 10:51 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi

Joined: 28 Jun 2001
Posts: 2453
Location: Los Angeles

Quote:
I haven't worked out how to get this into the software repository on the site yet

E-Mail them to Brandon.

Cheers,
_________________
Eddie Atherton
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V6.1
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V7.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dvpriya
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2006 9:08 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 23 Jan 2006
Posts: 3

Facing the same problem... of MQ version commands

mqver works in OpenVMS IPF 64 Operating System but ...
it doesnt wrk for OpenVMS alpha OS .

Can u frenz , suggest me on this ??
_________________
Vidhya Priya Dhanaraj
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2006 4:50 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 19770
Location: LI,NY

have you tried
Code:
dspmqver
?
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
dvpriya
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2006 10:06 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 23 Jan 2006
Posts: 3

s boss.......

tried that too...

It s not working ...
_________________
Vidhya Priya Dhanaraj
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
cbryan
PostPosted: Fri Mar 31, 2006 12:17 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 31 Mar 2006
Posts: 6

What would happen if you use 'mqver' or 'dspmqver' on an OS where MQ is not deployed? Could this command be used to check if it is deployed here?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wschutz
PostPosted: Fri Mar 31, 2006 12:20 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 02 Jun 2005
Posts: 3316
Location: IBM (retired)

Please don't double post....

If MQ weren't deployed, you'd get some variant of "command not found".
_________________
-wayne
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Fri Mar 31, 2006 2:58 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 19770
Location: LI,NY

wschutz wrote:
Please don't double post....

If MQ weren't deployed, you'd get some variant of "command not found".

Assuming that if it were deployed it would be on your path variable...
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
cmkeller
PostPosted: Sat Dec 23, 2006 8:54 pm Post subject: On the subject of MQ versions... Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 09 Jan 2005
Posts: 41
Location: Queens, NY

Are versions cross-compatible for development?

If I have an app that was developed and built for MQ version 5.3 will it run properly on a machine with 6.0 installed, or do I need to link to 6.0 libraries?
_________________
Chaim Mattis Keller
Shadow Financial Services Corp
ckeller@shadowfinancial.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Sun Dec 24, 2006 2:20 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 19770
Location: LI,NY

You probably should relink to the libraries on the machine the program is running on...

The main interfaces should be backwards compatible(so no need to change your code) but what the interface does under the covers is proprietary and may change at will (version, csd, fixpack etc....)

Enjoy
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Pablo Taboada
PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2007 8:24 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 19 Jul 2007
Posts: 36
Location: Spain - Barcelona

mqver is valid on Windows, Linux, AIX, HP-UX, Solaris for version 5.3
dspmqver is valid on Windows, Linux, AIX, HP-UX, Solaris for version 6.0
_________________
Regards,
Pablo Taboada
INSA - IBM Global Services
WebSphere MQ System Administrator Certified
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Sat Sep 22, 2007 4:12 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 19770
Location: LI,NY

Pablo Taboada wrote:
mqver is valid on Windows, Linux, AIX, HP-UX, Solaris for version 5.3
dspmqver is valid on Windows, Linux, AIX, HP-UX, Solaris for version 6.0


dspmqver will work on a 5.3 client installation.
mqver will only work on a server installation (5.3)

Enjoy
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
gbaddeley
PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2008 10:03 pm Post subject: MQ installed s/w version on Unix Reply with quote

Padawan

Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 1898
Location: Melbourne, Australia

As well as using mqver / dspmqver, DIS QMGR CMDLEVEL, and looking at the memo.ptf file, the MQ version and fix update level on Unix platforms can also be determined using the relevant software installation / packaging tools. eg.

Solaris:
pkginfo | grep mqm
pkginfo -l mqm
pkginfo -l mqm-upd14

HP-UX:
/usr/sbin/swlist | grep MQ

Linux on Intel and zSeries:
rpm -q -a | grep MQ

AIX:
lslpp -l | grep mqm

HTH,
Glenn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Goto page Previous  1, 2 Page 2 of 2

MQSeries.net Forum IndexWebSphere Technologies FAQDetermining MQ Versions, CSD Levels, etc...
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.