Author |
Message
|
Bni |
Posted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 3:47 pm Post subject: Ask a client connection question |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 09 Aug 2006 Posts: 29
|
We have a client application program trying to connect to a queue manager and got 2058 in development environment. I looked at the mq log and it clearly indicated that the client connection queue is not there. I verified and created the client connection channel(server connection type). Once I did that, we still got the same error, but the log does not complain about the missing channel.
I searched the internet and found out that if in client application side to put this: export MQSERVER=chl/TCP/connectionName, it worked.
Now my question is that the developer is claiming that it works by using channel connection table in the past( don't know when since the channel is missing), which I have no idea and since the code is the same( I believe, I have to talk to the developer) as in production, that means that in production it does not have that "export" code. Now if it works in production by using channel table definition, why in the development mode, after I created that channel and we still get 2058 error? does it mean if we set that export command, the program will bypass the channel table definition?
what is the best way to do this kind of client side connection?
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 4:30 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
Creating a SVRCONN channel and a Client Channel Table are completely separate things. Please click on the Repository button at the top of this screen and read the MQ Clients manual. _________________ Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
velocity |
Posted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 4:51 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 30 Nov 2007 Posts: 126
|
By the way Peter...Do you know how to view the Client connection definition table file (AMQCLCHL.TAB)?? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 8:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
velocity wrote: |
By the way Peter...Do you know how to view the Client connection definition table file (AMQCLCHL.TAB)?? |
Use MQExplorer, or MO71 or MO72 (mqsc) if you don't have a server and MQExplorer or runmqsc if you do....
The rest should be described in the manuals.
Enjoy  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Bni |
Posted: Thu Mar 13, 2008 1:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 09 Aug 2006 Posts: 29
|
Thank you guys. I got lots of help from this forum, and I am regularly browsing the site, getting sort of trained this way.
Let's ask you another question: do we have to have a SYSTEM.ADMIN.SRVCONN channel created on a queue manager(I was told we must)? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Thu Mar 13, 2008 1:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
MQ runs fine without that channel. You don't need it.
Older versions of MQ needed it for MQExplorer client connectivity only. _________________ Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Bni |
Posted: Fri Mar 14, 2008 5:59 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 09 Aug 2006 Posts: 29
|
Thanks Peter. Now I know why my explorer cannot connect to the queue manager while that process is not running. We have old versions of MQ.
Another question: if I want to monitor MQ using a script, what is the most important process to monitor? In other words, how do we know MQ is not functioning properly without being told by the end user first?
I am pretty new to MQ and learning this stuff bit by bit and benefit a lot by coming over here. Thanks a bunch. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Fri Mar 14, 2008 9:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
You can't monitor any processes and rely on that to tell you if the QM is OK. Sure, there are some that if they go away you can be certain the QM is dead, but just because a process exists doesn't mean it isn't hung and basically useless.
Most (all?) commercial MQ monitors check the health of the QM by using the QM and sending PCF messages to its command queue asking for a status. _________________ Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|