Author |
Message
|
mvs |
Posted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 5:55 am Post subject: Total number of messages in a queue using java |
|
|
Voyager
Joined: 06 Jul 2007 Posts: 85
|
Hi,
using Java programs, we are able to put and get messages to/from the queue.
using java programs how to find the total number of messages in a queue (depth of the queue)?
Thanks and Regards
MVS |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 5:59 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
How is this a Message Broker question?
You don't want to code any business logic that uses the queue depth.
You don't want to write your own monitoring tools. It's not worth the time it will take. The value of a professional tool, properly implemented, is significantly greater than the value of an adhoc tool thrown together with poor requirements. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mvs |
Posted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 7:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
Voyager
Joined: 06 Jul 2007 Posts: 85
|
Hi Jeff,
Thanks for the info.
MQ -> MessageBroker->MQ
Here have a scenario like users submitting messages in a queue at their end(which is main frame side)
MQ -> MessageBroker->MQ
And keep on asking us to check the message processed successfully at our end or not. Its creating hell for us to check each and every time becuase they dont have access to our queues.
we are planning to write java programs to check is there any messages in failure or dead queue for that particular application.
Thanks and Regards
MVS |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 7:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
mvs wrote: |
we are planning to write java programs to check is there any messages in failure or dead queue for that particular application.
|
Any of the standard monitoring tools will do this. If you can't or won't spend money on those use triggering or a long running task to monitor those queues. Neither of these require finding the queue depth. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
francoisvdm |
Posted: Thu Apr 17, 2008 5:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
Partisan
Joined: 09 Aug 2001 Posts: 332
|
I've got this requirement now as well....anybody got an easy way to get the depth of a queue from inside a flow?
I know all the bad things about doing this...but guess what, I still do want to it...so please only respond if you do have a solution.
Have fun _________________ If you do not know the answer or you get the urge to answer with "RTFM" or "Search better in this forum", please refrain from doing so, just move on to the next question. Much appreciated.
Francois van der Merwe |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Thu Apr 17, 2008 5:49 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
You can build a PCF message in Broker. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|