ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General IBM MQ Support » Problem sending messages across remote queues

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Problem sending messages across remote queues « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
famls
PostPosted: Tue Sep 24, 2002 8:12 am    Post subject: Problem sending messages across remote queues Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 24 Sep 2002
Posts: 4

Hi!
I'm new on MQSeries and I'm trying to send messages across remote queues on Solaris.
From what I read it's necessary to create also some channels and transmission queues.
I tried the following configuration:

--- Configuration ---

-- server1 --
# Channels
.define channel('server1.to.server2') chltype(sdr) conname(server2) trptype(tcp) xmitq('XMITQ.IN.QUEUE')
.define channel('server2.to.server1') chltype(rcvr) trptype(tcp)

# Remote queue
.define qlocal('XMITQ.IN.QUEUE') usage(xmitq)
.define qremote('IN.QUEUE') rname('IN.QUEUE') rqmname(server2) xmitq('XMITQ.IN.QUEUE')

#Local queue
.define qlocal('OUT.QUEUE')

-- server2 --
# Channels
.define channel('server2.to.server1') chltype(sdr) conname(server1) trptype(tcp) xmitq('XMITQ.OUT.QUEUE')
.define channel('server1.to.server2') chltype(rcvr) trptype(tcp)

# Remote queue
.define qlocal('XMITQ.OUT.QUEUE') usage(xmitq)
.define qremote('OUT.QUEUE') rname(OUT.QUEUE) rqmname(server1) xmitq('XMITQ.OUT.QUEUE')

#Local queue
.define qlocal('IN.QUEUE')

--- End Configuration ---

I started both channels (server1.to.server2 on server1 and server2.to.server1 on server2) and they are running (I checked the status).

I executed on server1:
amqsput IN.QUEUE
and I insert some lines... no error.

On server2 I executed:
amqsget IN.QUEUE
and no messages are available.

What am I doing wrong? Could it be from the configuration?
Besides starting up channels what more is needed?

Sorry for the long post.
Thanks in advanced.

Regards,
Fernando Silva
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jhalstead
PostPosted: Tue Sep 24, 2002 8:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 16 Aug 2001
Posts: 258
Location: London

A good first place to check is ytour dead letter queue!

start the channel (server1.to.server2). on server1 & server2.

Before you put the message

do a "dis chs(server1.to.server2) all" from within runqmsc on server1.

this should give us some interesting info.

If the status is anything other than RUNNING you have a problem...

If this is RUNNING then put the message, after the put completes do another "dis chs(server1.to.server2) all".

Another good place to check is the error logs.

/var/mqm/qmgr/<qmgr name>/errors/AMQERR01.LOG

Once you've done this post the channel status details returned and the last 100 lines of the AMQERR01.LOG.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
famls
PostPosted: Tue Sep 24, 2002 9:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 24 Sep 2002
Posts: 4

Thanks.

I found the problem... on server1 configuration the remote queue as defined with rqqmname(server2) without '... when it reached the other side it was looking for SERVER2 queue manager.

Just one more question... how can I define a dead letter queue? I have a SYSTEM.DEAD.LETTER.QUEUE on my queue manager. But I got some message on the log saying that it doesn't exist.

Thanks again.

Regards,
Fernando Silva
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jhalstead
PostPosted: Tue Sep 24, 2002 9:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 16 Aug 2001
Posts: 258
Location: London

You can either define at qmgr creation time, or alternatively from within runmqsc with the command

alter qmgr deadq(SYSTEM.DEAD.LETTER.QUEUE)

Jamie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General IBM MQ Support » Problem sending messages across remote queues
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.