ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General IBM MQ Support » MQ Channel table

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 MQ Channel table « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
mqexplorer
PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2007 11:39 am    Post subject: MQ Channel table Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 02 Aug 2007
Posts: 17

Hi all,

I am trying a simple test to write a message to a queue using the channel table. Here is what I have so far:

-bash-3.00$ env | grep MQCH
MQCHLTAB=AMQCLCHL.TAB
MQCHLLIB=/var/mqm/qmgrs/mqhub_01/@ipcc

When I try doing

-bash-3.00$ ./amqsputc SYSTEM.DEFAULT.SVRCONN
Sample AMQSPUT0 start
MQCONN ended with reason code 2059


And in /var/mqm/errors/AMQERR01.LOG I get this:

20/11/07 12:02:45 PM - Process(24924.1) User(mqm) Program(amqsputc)
AMQ9202: Remote host '' not available, retry later.

EXPLANATION:
The attempt to allocate a conversation using TCP/IP to host '' was not
successful. However the error may be a transitory one and it may be possible
to successfully allocate a TCP/IP conversation later.
ACTION:
Try the connection again later. If the failure persists, record the error
values and contact your systems administrator. The return code from TCP/IP is 0
(X'0'). The reason for the failure may be that this host cannot reach the
destination host. It may also be possible that the listening program at host ''
was not running. If this is the case, perform the relevant operations to start
the TCP/IP listening program, and try again.
----- amqccita.c : 508 --------------------------------------------------------


There is a listener running as evidenced by:

mqm 29106 29082 0 Nov16 ? 00:00:00 /opt/mqm/bin/runmqlsr -r -m mqhub_01 -t TCP -p 1420

I am probably missing something obvious. Any ideas??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JosephGramig
PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2007 12:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 09 Feb 2006
Posts: 1244
Location: Gold Coast of Florida, USA

well, using a Channel Connection Definition Table (CCDT) almost works that way...

try:

amqsputc <myQueue> <myQueueManager

What the client will do is look up the first channel entry that has that QMGR name.

Read all of this:
http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infocenter/wmqv6/v6r0/index.jsp?topic=/com.ibm.mq.csqzaf.doc/manyqm.htm
_________________
Joseph
Administrator - IBM WebSphere MQ (WMQ) V6.0, IBM WebSphere Message Broker (WMB) V6.1 & V6.0
Solution Designer - WMQ V6.0
Solution Developer - WMB V6.1 & V6.0, WMQ V5.3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
Vitor
PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2007 12:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

The channel table doesn't have a blank entry. Either rebuild the table to include it, or specify the queue manager name in the connection info
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JosephGramig
PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2007 12:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 09 Feb 2006
Posts: 1244
Location: Gold Coast of Florida, USA

Hmmm, I did assume that he/she did create a CLNTCONN for the matching SVRCONN. And we know what happens when we do that...
_________________
Joseph
Administrator - IBM WebSphere MQ (WMQ) V6.0, IBM WebSphere Message Broker (WMB) V6.1 & V6.0
Solution Designer - WMQ V6.0
Solution Developer - WMB V6.1 & V6.0, WMQ V5.3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
mqexplorer
PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2007 12:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 02 Aug 2007
Posts: 17

Hi

I tried using the queue manager name
-bash-3.00$ ./amqsputc SYSTEM.DEFAULT.SVRCONN mqhub_01
Sample AMQSPUT0 start
MQCONN ended with reason code 2058
-bash-3.00$ mqrc 2058

2058 0x0000080a MQRC_Q_MGR_NAME_ERROR
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2007 12:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

and you're certain the CLNTCONN includes that name?
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JosephGramig
PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2007 12:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 09 Feb 2006
Posts: 1244
Location: Gold Coast of Florida, USA

please show us the CLNTCONN and matching SVRCONN definitions.

Also, is you QMGR name really lower case?
Show us a dspmq.
_________________
Joseph
Administrator - IBM WebSphere MQ (WMQ) V6.0, IBM WebSphere Message Broker (WMB) V6.1 & V6.0
Solution Designer - WMQ V6.0
Solution Developer - WMB V6.1 & V6.0, WMQ V5.3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
mqexplorer
PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2007 12:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 02 Aug 2007
Posts: 17

There was an issue with the CLNTCONN. I am getting closer...now its trying to connect to port 1414 ..no idea where its getting that ...I will keep digging

20/11/07 01:11:19 PM - Process(31557.1) User(mqm) Program(amqsputc)
AMQ9202: Remote host 'vxdap001 (127.0.0.1) (1414)' not available, retry later.

EXPLANATION:
The attempt to allocate a conversation using TCP/IP to host 'vxdap001
(127.0.0.1) (1414)' was not successful. However the error may be a transitory
one and it may be possible to successfully allocate a TCP/IP conversation
later.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2007 12:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

mqexplorer wrote:
There was an issue with the CLNTCONN. I am getting closer...now its trying to connect to port 1414 ..no idea where its getting that ...I will keep digging


Dig through the Clients manual. That'll explain that if you don't specify a port (1420 in your case) connection is made to the default!
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqexplorer
PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2007 12:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 02 Aug 2007
Posts: 17

Gotcha
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JosephGramig
PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2007 1:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 09 Feb 2006
Posts: 1244
Location: Gold Coast of Florida, USA

Well, a good rule to have is to always use the fully qualified DNS name of the host and the port number (even if it is default, which you should never use unless you like getting hacked).

1420 is probably a registered port of another program...
_________________
Joseph
Administrator - IBM WebSphere MQ (WMQ) V6.0, IBM WebSphere Message Broker (WMB) V6.1 & V6.0
Solution Designer - WMQ V6.0
Solution Developer - WMB V6.1 & V6.0, WMQ V5.3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
Vitor
PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2007 1:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

JosephGramig wrote:
1420 is probably a registered port of another program...


1420 is a good enough port on most sites. I know there's a list of registered ports somewhere on the net, which includes 1414 as MQ's of course, but most people don't bother too much.

And as this is 127.0.0.1 a little lattiude is understandable!
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JosephGramig
PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2007 1:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 09 Feb 2006
Posts: 1244
Location: Gold Coast of Florida, USA

http://www.iana.org/assignments/port-numbers

is the link. Yes, if a port is not in use then you will most likely get away with using it.

Having said that, if you use the Private Port range, then you are more sure of staying clear of other applications.

Once, somebody picked the default port of Oracle and a Oracle client was accidentally pointed at the QMGR machine. That was ugly.
_________________
Joseph
Administrator - IBM WebSphere MQ (WMQ) V6.0, IBM WebSphere Message Broker (WMB) V6.1 & V6.0
Solution Designer - WMQ V6.0
Solution Developer - WMB V6.1 & V6.0, WMQ V5.3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2007 6:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

JosephGramig wrote:
Once, somebody picked the default port of Oracle and a Oracle client was accidentally pointed at the QMGR machine. That was ugly.


It still itches sometimes when I think of it.

But it wasn't me that picked that port.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2007 1:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

JosephGramig wrote:
Once, somebody picked the default port of Oracle and a Oracle client was accidentally pointed at the QMGR machine. That was ugly.


Ouch....
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General IBM MQ Support » MQ Channel table
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.