Author |
Message
|
tarunmq1 |
Posted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 7:46 am Post subject: Listener just stops responding |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 15 Oct 2007 Posts: 7
|
Hi,
I am seeing a weird issue on our production environment. I have two Q managers connecting to one instance of WAS(5.2) with two inbound queues (one on each Q mgr). I have MDBs listening on these Q via the listener ports, the usual configuration. Lot of times the messages would just stop getting processed. We have alerts set so we come to know once the msg count hits the threshold and then when i check the logs i don't see any exception. i check the listener port and the admin console shows it in the running state. Sometimes both the Q would stop processing messages, sometimes one would be fine but the other wouldn't be. This morning, one Q was fine but the other was not processing anything and this has happened before too. Is there anything in particular i should be looking for? Is there like a memory leak happening? Does the MDB just gets cleaned up or something or is it that the other MDB uses all the connections and the second one doesn't get any? (we have 10 in the pool)
Thanks in advance, |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 7:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
How are you handling poison messages  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
tarunmq1 |
Posted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 8:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 15 Oct 2007 Posts: 7
|
For one of the Q (the one which stopped processing today), i have a backout Q defined. After one retry i move them to the backout Q. For the other i don't have a backout. I keep rolling back. For this one i have defined the max retries as the max no. 2147483647 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 8:20 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
tarunmq1 wrote: |
For one of the Q (the one which stopped processing today), i have a backout Q defined. After one retry i move them to the backout Q. For the other i don't have a backout. I keep rolling back. For this one i have defined the max retries as the max no. 2147483647 |
You need to define the max retry of the MDB > Q bothresh > 0  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
tarunmq1 |
Posted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 8:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 15 Oct 2007 Posts: 7
|
That's what i have. For the Q for which i have backout, the MDB retries are 2 and the Q bothreshold is 1 which allows the msg to move to the bo Q.
For the other one i don't have a backout so it shouldn't matter, right. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 2:00 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
tarunmq1 wrote: |
For the other one i don't have a backout so it shouldn't matter, right. |
Wrong..., If you bo threshold is 0 and you get a poison message the MDB will stop the service (msg retry > MDB retry).
In order for WAS to put the message to the DLQ you need to have
MDB retry > bothresh > 0 If the BO is not configured the message is put to the DLQ by the WAS MDB. If you are not running on WAS you might have to code some of it yourself...
Enjoy  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
tarunmq1 |
Posted: Tue Oct 16, 2007 6:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 15 Oct 2007 Posts: 7
|
For one Q i have bo configured and as i mentioned in my previous post, for this particular Q MDB retries (2) > bothreshold (1) so then theoretically this should never stop. The poison msg should go to the bo Q i have specified then why are the msgs getting stuck on this Q? I am using WAS 5.2 and the version of MQ is 5.3. There was a typo in my earlier post. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Tue Oct 16, 2007 2:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
Make sure the version of WAS + fix pack and the version of MQ + CSD are compatible.
When we moved beyond MQ 5.3 CSD 4 we had to have some patches applied to WAS (5.x)...
Enjoy  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|