|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
 |
|
Wacky connections not disconnecting |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
camsoper |
Posted: Thu Jul 25, 2002 6:33 am Post subject: Wacky connections not disconnecting |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 25 Jul 2002 Posts: 2 Location: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
|
I'm a web programmer for a financial institution. We have an intranet application written entirely in ASP using VB components for business logic. Here's the problem:
Similar to this post:
http://www.mqseries.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=4201
and the problem GregJ mentioned in this post:
http://www.mqseries.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=3026
I have a component that uses the ActiveX API to open a connection, make a put in a request queue, make a get (with wait) from a reply queue, explicitly close ALL queues, and disconnect. The problem is, after several days of our application doing its thing, the MQ Server administrator calls me and threatens me with my life because we've maxed out his connections.
I _AM_ closing the queues with a MQueue.Close, and I _AM_ disconnecting with a MQMgr.Disconnect.
My component works FINE if it's hosted in a plain old VB application (you know, with forms and the like). It's only under IIS that we have this issue. In fact, under IIS, we see two or three connections open that NEVER close. Occassionally, a new one will open. These pile up over a course of days to lead to the maxed out connections.
I have concluded that it has SOMETHING to do with the COM surrogate in IIS that allows COM components to run in the same memory space as IIS itself. We HAVE seen resolution by running the component as a COM EXE (out-of-process), but that is a performance hit.
We have seen similar behavior when we host the DLL in COM+ (MTS) rather than just registering it directly. Of course, COM+ uses a COM surrogate very similar to the way IIS does it. Something about MQ client running in another application's memory space...
Our information:
Client app is in ASP running on IIS 5.0, Win2K Advanced Server, in a 4-node load-balanced web farm. Using MQ Client 5.2.1 CSD04.
Server is a 2 node load-balanced setup, running MQ Server 5.1 CSD07.
Any help from anyone? Please? _________________ Cam Soper
Senior Programmer Analyst
Commerce Bank
Kansas City, Missouri |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bduncan |
Posted: Thu Jul 25, 2002 7:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
Padawan
Joined: 11 Apr 2001 Posts: 1554 Location: Silicon Valley
|
I'm not sure what to recommend since you are running the latest CSD levels on your client and server. However, I just wanted to point out to everyone that this is the way to ask a question. You referenced previous discussions which tells me you've done some research before asking a question - which ensures against the same question getting asked over and over. You clearly define the problem and under what conditions it arises, and under what conditions it doesn't, and you specify all the platforms and software involved.
So while I can't offer you anything in the way of an answer (though hopefully someone else will) I just wanted to thank you for composing such a good post. This will definitely increase the likelihood of getting an answer... _________________ Brandon Duncan
IBM Certified MQSeries Specialist
MQSeries.net forum moderator |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
camsoper |
Posted: Thu Jul 25, 2002 7:31 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 25 Jul 2002 Posts: 2 Location: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
|
bduncan wrote: |
... I just wanted to thank you for composing such a good post. This will definitely increase the likelihood of getting an answer... |
LOL! Well, you're welcome.  _________________ Cam Soper
Senior Programmer Analyst
Commerce Bank
Kansas City, Missouri |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bduncan |
Posted: Thu Jul 25, 2002 12:23 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Padawan
Joined: 11 Apr 2001 Posts: 1554 Location: Silicon Valley
|
Sorry... It's just I've seen some real dooseys in the past. Sometimes people expect you to be a mind reader when it comes to figuring out their problem. So it's nice when someone provides all the information necessary in their first post... _________________ Brandon Duncan
IBM Certified MQSeries Specialist
MQSeries.net forum moderator |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
rrehms |
Posted: Mon Sep 09, 2002 6:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 01 May 2002 Posts: 3
|
Dont see that you ever got an answer. It could be because MTS was built into the mqax200.dll at some point. 5.1? I cant remember, which version. At any rate try disabling MTS unless you are using it. Here is how:
Disable the mts layer via:
Either set an environment variable 'TMQ_DEFAULT_MODEL' to 'FIXED' or
set the following registry key: HKLM\Software\IBM\MQSeries\CurrentVersion\ThreadModel with a string value of FIXED. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|