ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ Java / JMS » How do I know that I have enqueued a correct MQRFH2 header

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 How do I know that I have enqueued a correct MQRFH2 header « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
deepu4u
PostPosted: Fri Aug 31, 2007 3:09 am    Post subject: How do I know that I have enqueued a correct MQRFH2 header Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 20 Jun 2005
Posts: 37

Hi All,
I've written a java program (using MQ Java api) to enqueue a message, which contains MQRFH2 header, in mqseries queue. Now, I need to validate this MQRFH2 header.
How can I do that?

thanks,
deepak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
Vitor
PostPosted: Fri Aug 31, 2007 3:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

Examine it with RFHUTIL or similar? Feed it to a JMS application and see if it can read it? Feed it to a WMB flow and see if it parses it?

Other methods may be possible.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AkankshA
PostPosted: Fri Aug 31, 2007 3:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 12 Jan 2006
Posts: 1494
Location: Singapore

validate for what???

u might hv added MQRFH2 header in ur msgs for some specific requirement.... e.g. ur target aaplication needs it to process etc... put the msg in application queue

how about executing that requirement now....
_________________
Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
deepu4u
PostPosted: Fri Aug 31, 2007 3:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 20 Jun 2005
Posts: 37

Thanks you all for such a prompt reply.
Actually, I dont have access to the target application. So I just want to have some thing at my end to validate the RFH2 header which I have enqueued.
Is there some tool available to validate the RFH2 header?

thanks,
deepak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
AkankshA
PostPosted: Fri Aug 31, 2007 3:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 12 Jan 2006
Posts: 1494
Location: Singapore

as vitor said : put the message on a MQ queue and browse it using RFHUTIL (ih03 support pack)

this will show u the populated MQRFH2 header fields
_________________
Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Fri Aug 31, 2007 12:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

Remind me again what you know about the byte alignment of the RFH header?

This is a topic for advanced MQ. Otherwise just use JMS which happens to be a java API, or XMS which allows for the same type of interface in a non java world...

Enjoy
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Fri Aug 31, 2007 4:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

To be fair, the only way to know that your code is correct is to know exactly what your code does, and to know exactly what your code should do, and be able to compare the two.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
deepu4u
PostPosted: Fri Aug 31, 2007 10:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 20 Jun 2005
Posts: 37

Thanks, everybody for your reply. I installed RFHUTIL tool, which help me out in looking into the REF2 header hence I can validate it visually.
Thanks all for the reply.

thanks,
deepak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
deepu4u
PostPosted: Fri Aug 31, 2007 10:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 20 Jun 2005
Posts: 37

Hi fjb,
Please correct me if I'm wrong. By byte alignment did you mean about the structure of RFH2 header (fixed portion and variable portion haveing different folders)?

thanks,
deepak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
Vitor
PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2007 6:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

deepu4u wrote:
Please correct me if I'm wrong. By byte alignment did you mean about the structure of RFH2 header (fixed portion and variable portion haveing different folders)?


No, he means that there are rules about how the RFH2 is arranged and aligned in memory.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2007 7:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

Vitor wrote:
there are rules about how the RFH2 is arranged and aligned .


I'm sure you meant "the bitstream that is the message data".
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2007 8:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

jefflowrey wrote:
Vitor wrote:
there are rules about how the RFH2 is arranged and aligned .


I'm sure you meant "the bitstream that is the message data".


Not sure how else that could be interpreted.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2007 8:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

Well, it's not exactly "in memory" if it's in a message sitting on a queue...
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2007 3:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

jefflowrey wrote:
Well, it's not exactly "in memory" if it's in a message sitting on a queue...


Point taken; I should have referred to "physical structure".
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ Java / JMS » How do I know that I have enqueued a correct MQRFH2 header
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.