Author |
Message
|
ramprasad_jr |
Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 11:44 am Post subject: Weblogic - MQ series over JMS |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 25 Jun 2007 Posts: 5
|
Hi ,
I have MQ series running over one machine and other system is having web-logic as a client. . I want to serve weblogic with out installing mq client..
Can I achieve this wrapping jms (creating jms connection) over the MQ series and installing neccessary JMS jars in the weblogic client?
Is this possible without using MQ client in the Weblogic?
regards,
Ram |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 11:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
Possible, yes.
Recommended, no.
Supported, no. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ramprasad_jr |
Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 12:02 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 25 Jun 2007 Posts: 5
|
How can i set the JMS connection in the MQ series? What are all the parameters do i need to set? Is there are article related to it? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 12:06 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
You should really ask the MQ administrator for help with this.
Yes, there's plenty of documentation on what kinds of parameters need to be set, but it doesn't tell you anything about the values of those parameters at your site. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 12:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
ramprasad_jr wrote: |
How can i set the JMS connection in the MQ series? What are all the parameters do i need to set? Is there are article related to it? |
You might consider the Using Java & the Clients manuals as a first move. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ramprasad_jr |
Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 12:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 25 Jun 2007 Posts: 5
|
What are all the JMS jars should be present in the client side? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 12:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
All the ones that get installed with the MQ Client...
To some extent it depends on what features of JMS you want to use... _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ramprasad_jr |
Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 12:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 25 Jun 2007 Posts: 5
|
I dont want to use MQ client in the Client end!!! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 12:51 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
I know that. It's the wrong idea.
There's been discussion of this before, there's probably at least a partial list that can be found. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ramprasad_jr |
Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 12:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 25 Jun 2007 Posts: 5
|
Do I need to go thru MQ license part for those client jars?
otherwise only few jars from MQ i need to install?
Do we have any previous thread for this issue? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 1:49 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
ramprasad_jr wrote: |
Do I need to go thru MQ license part for those client jars?
otherwise only few jars from MQ i need to install?
Do we have any previous thread for this issue? |
The MQ licence for clients has for the most part been free. Exception is the ETC client (Extended Transactional Client) which costs as much as a server.... _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
JohnRodey |
Posted: Mon Jul 09, 2007 2:00 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Centurion
Joined: 13 Apr 2005 Posts: 103
|
You do not need to install MQ client to talk JMS over MQ, whether it be from a weblogic deployed application or even standalone.
You can transfer all necessary jars from your MQ server installation to the machine running the jms client. Some jars you will need are com.ibm.mq.jar and com.ibm.mqjms.jar. Start with those and if you receive a ClassDefNotFound then use "jar -tvf" and grep to find the jar that contains the class you need.
(Just to ensure that its clear) JMS isn't generic to the point where you can send JMS messages from a weblogic client to another MQ product using only weblogic jms jars. You must use webspheremq jars to send to webspheremq through jms. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Mon Jul 09, 2007 5:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
JohnRodey wrote: |
You do not need to install MQ client to talk JMS over MQ, whether it be from a weblogic deployed application or even standalone.
You can transfer all necessary jars from your MQ server installation to the machine running the jms client. Some jars you will need are com.ibm.mq.jar and com.ibm.mqjms.jar. Start with those and if you receive a ClassDefNotFound then use "jar -tvf" and grep to find the jar that contains the class you need.
(Just to ensure that its clear) JMS isn't generic to the point where you can send JMS messages from a weblogic client to another MQ product using only weblogic jms jars. You must use webspheremq jars to send to webspheremq through jms. |
And if you do this, you may not be in a supported configuration, and you may not end up with all of the dependancies that you need for troubleshooting even if you have all the dependancies you need for normal operations.
But, risk management at this level is usually not considered by most application developers. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|