ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportMQSeries Clustering Question?

Post new topicReply to topic
MQSeries Clustering Question? View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
geferra
PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2001 10:17 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 24 Jun 2001
Posts: 4
Location: IBM

I have four AIX computers running in a Cluster, MQSeries V5.2.1.
If a clustered queue manager is unreachable or unavailable due to a network error whatever scenario you can think of that would make a QMGR 'unavailable', the cluster channels to the unavailable QMGR go into a retrying state. Workload continues to be 'destined' to this unavailable QMGR. The channels being in a retrying state is not treated as an 'error' condition and therefore the cluster workload balancing (round-robin) contines to consider this QMGR as available.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
bduncan
PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2001 3:17 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Padawan

Joined: 11 Apr 2001
Posts: 1554
Location: Silicon Valley

I want to try and understand your problem more fully. Let's say all 4 QMGRs are running properly. One of them is putting to a queue that exists on the other 3. Are you seeing one message go to 1, the next to 2, the next to 3, the next to 1, etc? And if so, when one of the machines becomes unavailable, let's say 2, is it still going 1,2,3,1, etc? If you can detail your experiments a little more, I think we can figure out what your problem is, because I've had a lot of experience with clustering and dealing with clustered QMGRs that go offline...


_________________
Brandon Duncan
IBM Certified MQSeries Specialist
MQSeries.net forum moderator
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
EddieA
PostPosted: Fri Jun 29, 2001 9:24 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi

Joined: 28 Jun 2001
Posts: 2453
Location: Los Angeles

The default action for open options is MQOO_BIND_AS_Q_DEF and the default definition on a queue is DEFBIND(OPEN). So, if the channel went into RETRY after the MQOPEN, then all subsequent MQPUTs would still go to the same QMGR in the cluster. They would not 'round robin'.


Oops.

Just spotted the 'other' parts of this thread. (Why are they seperate).

Sorry 'bout posting redundant informtion.

[ This Message was edited by: EddieA on 2001-06-29 11:02 ]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HugoB
PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2001 12:12 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 26 Jun 2001
Posts: 67

suspend qmgr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
geferra
PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2001 3:40 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 24 Jun 2001
Posts: 4
Location: IBM

Quote:

On 2001-07-03 01:12, KlaasBaas wrote:
suspend qmgr

I can not reach the QMGR thru the network to suspend.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportMQSeries Clustering Question?
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.