ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General IBM MQ Support » Queue Listener

Post new topic  Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next
 Queue Listener « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
angka
PostPosted: Tue Nov 21, 2006 10:25 pm    Post subject: Queue Listener Reply with quote

Chevalier

Joined: 20 Sep 2005
Posts: 406

Hi,

Is there a way to set a listener port on a queue where an application is listening to tt port for incoming messages?

Triggering does not work for this case because it triggers a new application thread..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jbanoop
PostPosted: Wed Nov 22, 2006 12:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Chevalier

Joined: 17 Sep 2005
Posts: 401
Location: SC

AFAIK port is only for the QM not for Queues
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Wed Nov 22, 2006 6:26 am    Post subject: Re: Queue Listener Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

angka wrote:
Hi,

Is there a way to set a listener port on a queue where an application is listening to tt port for incoming messages?

Triggering does not work for this case because it triggers a new application thread..


Read up your WAS manual on MDB setup
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Wed Nov 22, 2006 6:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

Or the .NET Monitor.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
killer
PostPosted: Wed Nov 22, 2006 8:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 06 Jul 2006
Posts: 35

Queue is the object that stores message.
So I don't think,u can have listener on Q.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Wed Nov 22, 2006 8:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

You can have a listener on the queue.

You just have to write it, or run your code under an environment that already has one - and the base product does not (except for the .NET Monitor).

The JMS classes provide some good infrastructure for writing listeners in Java - but you need to either use an MDB under a J2EE app server or write a good bit of code on your own to use it effectively. And of course, it doesn't necessarily make a lot of sense to run a J2EE program outside a J2EE container.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
angka
PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2006 1:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Chevalier

Joined: 20 Sep 2005
Posts: 406

Hi,

I tested out on the .NET monitor using the code provided by http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infocenter/wmqv6/v6r0/index.jsp?topic=/com.ibm.mq.csqzav.doc/monitor.htm. However when i executed the command "runmqdnm -m QMGR1 -q IN -a assembly.dll -c Tran" it give the following error

AMQ8378: Unexpected exception received from .NET Framework 'The format of the file 'assembly.dll' is invalid.'

EXPLANATION:
The application received an exception from the underlying .NET framework, information about the exception follows:
System.BadImageFormatException:.......................


I looked thru the web for information on .NET monitor but it is very limited..


Thanks..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pangtong
PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 5:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 13 Dec 2006
Posts: 4

Hi there,
I have been facing the same problem with angka lately.
Does anyone know what's wrong with the exception error? I have searched the internet for solution. Apparently, there isn't much info I can find.
Thanks alot

Regards...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tessmonsta
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 12:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 29

Same here. This is what I found in the system-wide errors:

Code:
----- XX : 0 ------------------------------------------------------------------
1/3/2007 14:36:55 - Process(2616.1) User(tess) Program(runmqdnm.exe)
AMQ8378: Unexpected exception received from .NET Framework
'The format of the file 'dnmsamp.dll' is invalid.'

EXPLANATION:
The application received an exception from the underlying .NET framework,
information about the exception follows:
System.BadImageFormatException: The format of the file 'dnmsamp.dll' is
invalid. File name: "dnmsamp.dll"    at
System.Reflection.Assembly.nLoad(AssemblyName fileName, String codeBase,
Boolean isStringized, Evidence assemblySecurity, Boolean throwOnFileNotFound,
Assembly locationHint, StackCrawlMark& stackMark)    at
System.Reflection.Assembly.InternalLoad(AssemblyName assemblyRef, Boolean
stringized, Evidence assemblySecurity, StackCrawlMark& stackMark)    at
System.Reflection.Assembly.LoadFrom(String assemblyFile, Evidence
securityEvidence, Byte[] hashValue, AssemblyHashAlgorithm hashAlgorithm)    at
runmqdnm.DotNetMonitorApp.InitInstance() === Pre-bind state information ===
LOG: Where-ref bind. Location = D:\mqs\dnmsamp.dll LOG: Appbase = C:\mqm\bin\
LOG: Initial PrivatePath = NULL Calling assembly : (Unknown). === LOG: Policy
not being applied to reference at this time (private, custom, partial, or
location-based assembly bind). LOG: Attempting download of new URL
file:///D:/mqs/dnmsamp.dll.
ACTION:
 Examine the information contained within the exception to determine if it is
possible to resolve locally.
If it is not possible to resolve the problem locally, save the generated output
files and contact your IBM support center.
----- XX : 0 ------------------------------------------------------------------


According to MSDN, The BadImageFormatException exists only in .Net 2 and higher. I'm curious to see if this bug will go away if we downgrade to 1.1.
_________________
"If you meet the Buddha, kill the Buddha." - Lin Chi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 1:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

I believe that .NET 2.0 is still not officially supported for WMQ, so I'm not surprised if you get errors trying to use it.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tessmonsta
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 1:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 29

jefflowrey wrote:
I believe that .NET 2.0 is still not officially supported for WMQ, so I'm not surprised if you get errors trying to use it.


Neither am I, but standard MQ applications in C# seem to work for me.

I'm not sure what the .NET monitor gives us other than to save a bit of time coding. The same function seems to be fulfilled just as well with a triggered application.
_________________
"If you meet the Buddha, kill the Buddha." - Lin Chi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
angka
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 6:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Chevalier

Joined: 20 Sep 2005
Posts: 406

Hi,

The problem solved.. just downgrade to version framework 1.1.....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tessmonsta
PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2007 6:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 29

angka wrote:
Hi,

The problem solved.. just downgrade to version framework 1.1.....


Good to know. I tried a few different compiler switches on my 2.0 installation to see if I could get it to work, particularly /langversion:ISO-1 and /platform:x86. None of those solutions worked, so a downgrade is probably the only solution for now.
_________________
"If you meet the Buddha, kill the Buddha." - Lin Chi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2007 3:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

Did you check if there was a switch for 1.1 compatibility mode ? If there is you might get it to work that way...
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
angka
PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2007 6:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Chevalier

Joined: 20 Sep 2005
Posts: 406

tessmonsta wrote:
jefflowrey wrote:
I believe that .NET 2.0 is still not officially supported for WMQ, so I'm not surprised if you get errors trying to use it.


Neither am I, but standard MQ applications in C# seem to work for me.

I'm not sure what the .NET monitor gives us other than to save a bit of time coding. The same function seems to be fulfilled just as well with a triggered application.


Hi,

Is there any different btw using runmqdnm and using triggering/?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next Page 1 of 2

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General IBM MQ Support » Queue Listener
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.