|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
 |
|
MQOPEN - Option not valid fro object type |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
ppark |
Posted: Fri Sep 08, 2006 7:21 am Post subject: MQOPEN - Option not valid fro object type |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 08 Sep 2006 Posts: 2
|
Hello all,
MQ Put perl script on Windows with builds of MQSeries module from CPAN worked fine.
But MQOPEN for input(MQGET) returned reason code 2045 which is "option not valid for object type". The options I tried with were MQOO_INPUT_AS_Q_DEF , MQOO_INPUT_SHARED, MQOO_INPUT_EXCLUSIVE. Any option of these MQOO_INPUT* did not work with my remote queue, and I realized remote queue does not work with MQOO_INPUT*. I searched web to find appropriate option that I can use for opening my remote queue without success. What option should I use to open remote queue to get messages from remote queue?
Last edited by ppark on Fri Sep 08, 2006 7:29 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
wschutz |
Posted: Fri Sep 08, 2006 7:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 02 Jun 2005 Posts: 3316 Location: IBM (retired)
|
Quote: |
What option should I use to open remote queue to get messages from remote queue? |
You can't open remote queue definitions for input, at all, ever. _________________ -wayne |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Fri Sep 08, 2006 7:42 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
Why is the queue you are trying to GET from remote?
What requirements are you trying to implement? _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ppark |
Posted: Fri Sep 08, 2006 7:58 am Post subject: getting and deleting messages |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 08 Sep 2006 Posts: 2
|
I would like to retrieve messages from the queue and to delete them afterward. Due to short of MQ knowledge I do not know what to answer for "Why (maybe What) is the queue you are trying to GET from remote?
I do know a queue name which is not likely you expect to hear. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kevinf2349 |
Posted: Fri Sep 08, 2006 8:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 28 Feb 2003 Posts: 1311 Location: USA
|
As Wayne wrote:
Quote: |
You can't open remote queue definitions for input, at all, ever.
|
'For input' means for MQGET. No can do, no way, no how. You will have to client into the remote queue manager in order to get messages from that queue. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Fri Sep 08, 2006 8:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
Okay.
There is a queue, somewhere, on a queue manager.
It is, on that queue manager, a queue local.
It has messages on it, that you wish to get.
In order to get those messages, you must be connected to that queue manager.
This is how MQ applications are supposed to solve this problem. They connect to some particular queue manager, that has the queues they need to GET from as queue locals. They only ever connect to one queue manager. They send data to other programs by using remote queues or other MQ networking concepts.
So pretend you have Application A that is connected to QMGRA and it needs to talk to Application B that is connected to QMGRB. If they need to exchange data in a two-way manner (A sends to B AND B sends to A) then a basic setup would involve 4 queues. On QMGRA, there would be a queue local A.IN and a queue remote B.IN. On QMGRB there would be a queue local B.IN and a queue remote A.IN. Application A would GET from A.IN and PUT to B.IN. Application B would GET from B.IN and PUT to A.IN.
Please read the Application Programming Guide. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|