ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ API Support » VB.Net impossible to Put message(with .net framework 2.0)

Post new topic  Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 VB.Net impossible to Put message(with .net framework 2.0) « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
JavierCaptain
PostPosted: Wed Jul 05, 2006 6:45 am    Post subject: VB.Net impossible to Put message(with .net framework 2.0) Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 05 Jul 2006
Posts: 14

Hi all

we've just installed WebSphere MQ v5.3 CSD 11, and we're trying to write a VB.NET "Windows Application" to put a message on a queue through a client connection.
We've created an environment variable called NMQ_MQ_LIB = mqic32.dll, and we've added a reference to amqmdnet.dll in our project.
Then program is:

Imports IBM.WMQ
Public Class Form1
Private Sub Form1_Load(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles MyBase.Load

'CLIENT CONNECTION SAMPLE
MQEnvironment.Hostname = "yourHostname"
MQEnvironment.Channel = "yourChannelName"
Dim mqQMgr As MQQueueManager = New MQQueueManager("yourQueueManagerName")
Dim mqQueue As MQQueue = mqQMgr.AccessQueue("yourQueueName", MQC.MQOO_INPUT_AS_Q_DEF + MQC.MQOO_FAIL_IF_QUIESCING + MQC.MQOO_OUTPUT)
Dim mqMsg As MQMessage = New MQMessage
mqMsg.Persistence = MQC.MQPER_NOT_PERSISTENT
mqMsg.Format = MQC.MQFMT_STRING
mqMsg.WriteString("HI ALL")
Dim mqPutMsgOpts As MQPutMessageOptions = New MQPutMessageOptions
mqQueue.Put(mqMsg, mqPutMsgOpts)
mqQueue.Close()
mqQMgr.Disconnect()
End Sub
End Class

Our problem is a "FatalExecutionEngineError" detected on the mqQueue.Put(mqMsg, mqPutMsgOpts):

this is the Message:
FatalExecutionEngineError was detected
The runtime has encountered a fatal error. The address of the error was at 0x79e755fc, on thread 0x8ac. The error code is 0xc0000005. This error may be a bug in the CLR or in the unsafe or non-verifiable portions of user code. Common sources of this bug include user marshaling errors for COM-interop or PInvoke, which may corrupt the stack.

Have you the same problem?
Thanks for your replies
Bye, ciao


Last edited by JavierCaptain on Fri Jul 07, 2006 5:09 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JavierCaptain
PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 5:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 05 Jul 2006
Posts: 14

Hi,

we've found that the problem could depend on .net framework version ...in fact after we have removed .net framework 2.0 and installed 1.1 version...the program worked...
Are you informed about this problem? Is there a solution to solve the problem on .net 2.0?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 3:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

MQ's .Net interface is not yet supported on .Net 2.0.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JavierCaptain
PostPosted: Tue Jul 11, 2006 7:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 05 Jul 2006
Posts: 14

But we need .net framework ver 2.0 for programming in visual studio 2005...
Is there a way to work under visual studio 2005 using mq classes for .net?
Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ewilliams
PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2006 9:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 27 Nov 2002
Posts: 30
Location: Portland

JavierCaptain wrote:
But we need .net framework ver 2.0 for programming in visual studio 2005...
Is there a way to work under visual studio 2005 using mq classes for .net?
Thanks


For what ever reason you 'need' VS 2005 but can compile to the .Net Framework 1.1 give MSBee a try. It is a MSBuild toolkit that will let you compile applications in VS 2005 to .Net 1.1.

http://www.codeplex.com/Wiki/View.aspx?ProjectName=MSBee
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
saketr
PostPosted: Wed Aug 23, 2006 5:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 08 Feb 2006
Posts: 41

You may find XMS .NET v1.2.2.0 useful. The readme for it suggests that it supports .NET 2.0. There is a comprehensive manual and some sample applications that might be interesting.

http://www-1.ibm.com/support/docview.wss?rs=171&uid=swg24011756&loc=en_US&cs=utf-8&lang=en
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
leehairy
PostPosted: Wed Sep 06, 2006 5:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 04 Aug 2006
Posts: 13

I have been running MQ5.3 with .NET2 for some time now with absolutely no issues. Except 1 ... i cannot remember the exact issue, but it occurred on one machine with a locked down installation of Win2003installed.

Installing CSD12 fixed this issue.

Are you using the correct library and namespaces?

you only need to use :

using IBM.WMQ;

and use library 'amqmdnet'

My version of amqmdnet is 1.0.0.3,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Wed Sep 06, 2006 5:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

leehairy wrote:
I have been running MQ5.3 with .NET2 for some time now with absolutely no issues.

Except that it's not supported.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
klamerus
PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2006 4:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Disciple

Joined: 05 Jul 2004
Posts: 199
Location: Detroit, MI

Support isn't always what it's cracked up to be.

Working is usually better.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2006 5:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

klamerus wrote:
Support isn't always what it's cracked up to be.

Working is usually better.


I agree.

Support is only important when things aren't working.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kevinf2349
PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2006 5:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 28 Feb 2003
Posts: 1311
Location: USA

....and it seems that for the original poster they aren't.


I wonder if a companies CEO agrees that the cost of the upgrade is worth the money and time when things DO go wrong?.....especially a if it is a no charge upgrade. Hmmmmm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Sat Sep 09, 2006 5:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

I'm always of the opinion that downtime is more expensive than maintenance.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
leehairy
PostPosted: Tue Sep 12, 2006 8:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 04 Aug 2006
Posts: 13

I have to agree with the "not supported" comments.

Unfortunately until i read this thread i was unaware that the MQ .NET api was unsupported for .Net2. I guess i have been lucky.

That aside - the orginal poster mentioned the use of mqic32.dll and the NMQ_MQ_LIB environment variable. For my unsupported applications i have never had to set this variable.

However my application did crash at one stage during MQOpen, a quick look with windbg and i found the problem. Luckily CSD012 fixed this.

Have you fully patched your mq client ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
klabran
PostPosted: Wed Sep 27, 2006 9:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 19 Feb 2004
Posts: 259
Location: Flagstaff AZ

Does anyone have any dirt from big blue as to when they will have a 2.0 supported .net library?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
klamerus
PostPosted: Wed Sep 27, 2006 3:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Disciple

Joined: 05 Jul 2004
Posts: 199
Location: Detroit, MI

I'm afraid that's probably going to come right after they start publishing useful books on the use of MQ from .Net.

At this point, their one red book on the subject barely makes provides any .Net code samples at all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next Page 1 of 3

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ API Support » VB.Net impossible to Put message(with .net framework 2.0)
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.