Author |
Message
|
ganesh3 |
Posted: Tue Aug 08, 2006 10:16 pm Post subject: Migrating MQSeries 5.2 from WAS 3.5 to WAS 5.1 |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 30 Mar 2006 Posts: 35
|
Hi,
I am currently using MQSeries 5.2 with WAS 3.5. We are in the process of migrating WAS from 3.5 to 5.1. I would like to know if there will be any changes to the java/jms code that i have written. I am using the JMS API and a servicelocator object to look up the request-reply queues.
Kindly let me know if any further information is required.
Thanks,
Ganesh. _________________ Have a Good Day!!!
Last edited by ganesh3 on Fri Aug 11, 2006 12:57 am; edited 2 times in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 1:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
There's going to be some changes to your Java code. In fact, there are probably going to be a lot of changes.
WAS 5.2 uses a different version of Java - I think you're going from like Java 1.2 to 1.4. There's a lot of changes in interfaces and etc.
It's probably better to migrate to WAS 6, though. There will be more changes, but you'll be much closer to current.
There will be some changes to your MQ code as well. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ganesh3 |
Posted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 2:26 am Post subject: RE: Migrating MQSeries 5.2 from WAS 3.5 to WAS 5.2 |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 30 Mar 2006 Posts: 35
|
Hi,
Thanks for the reply. I have tried to use interface which are compatible with java 1.4. Also, I suppose the JMS API methods wont change as the API would remain the same. I am not using MDB's, so I hope it should not be a problem as well.
I would like to know how the JNDI names of the queues and QueueConnection Factory is done in WAS 5.2. As of now I am using Shell scripts to register the same. Is there a mechanism in WAS 5.2 where I can directly put in the JNDI name as is the case with EJB's. _________________ Have a Good Day!!! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 2:36 pm Post subject: Re: Migrating MQSeries 5.2 from WAS 3.5 to WAS 5.2 |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
ganesh3 wrote: |
Hi,
I am currently using MQSeries 5.2 with WAS 3.5. We are in the process of migrating WAS from 3.5 to 5.2. I would like to know if there will be any changes to the java/jms code that i have written. I am using the JMS API and a servicelocator object to look up the request-reply queues.
Kindly let me know if any further information is required.
Thanks,
Ganesh. |
DON'T DO THAT.
YOU NEED TO UPGRADE BOTH MQ and WAS.
You should really go to WAS 6.0 with MQ 6.0 FP1.
If you have to go to WAS 5.2 at least upgrade MQ to MQ 5.3 CSD 12!
I believe WAS 5.2 with MQ 5.2 might give you lots of surprises that are fixed in MQ 5.3 CSD 12.
Enjoy  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ganesh3 |
Posted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 9:00 pm Post subject: Re: Migrating MQSeries 5.2 from WAS 3.5 to WAS 5.2 |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 30 Mar 2006 Posts: 35
|
Hi,
Thanks for the reply. But I cant upgrade the MQ and WAS as its a client requirement. Kindly let me know how the JNDI names of the queues and QueueConnection Factory is done in WAS 5.2. As of now I am using Shell scripts to register the same. Is there a mechanism in WAS 5.2 where I can directly put in the JNDI name as is the case with EJB's.
Thanks,
Ganesh Bhat. _________________ Have a Good Day!!! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Thu Aug 10, 2006 1:20 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
All configuration in WAS 5.x is managed through the Administration console, or wsadmin scripting.
The Info Center provides all the information you need, in great depth.
Your client will get burned if they try to run MQ v5.2 with WAS v5.x. Please run MQ v5.3 at least, and CSD12. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Thu Aug 10, 2006 3:25 am Post subject: Re: Migrating MQSeries 5.2 from WAS 3.5 to WAS 5.2 |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
ganesh3 wrote: |
Hi,
Thanks for the reply. But I cant upgrade the MQ and WAS as its a client requirement. Kindly let me know how the JNDI names of the queues and QueueConnection Factory is done in WAS 5.2. As of now I am using Shell scripts to register the same. Is there a mechanism in WAS 5.2 where I can directly put in the JNDI name as is the case with EJB's.
Thanks,
Ganesh Bhat. |
Tell your client that MQ 5.2 is out of service and the configuration of WAS 5.2 with MQ 5.2 is not supported. They run it at their own risk and expense... and believe me it will be ugly. We had to move to specific levels of 5.3 with WAS 5.0.2 xxx so your client is just getting ready for a whole world of hurt.
The version matching between MQ and WAS only works from 6.0 onwards...
Enjoy  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ganesh3 |
Posted: Thu Aug 10, 2006 10:16 pm Post subject: Re: Migrating MQSeries 5.2 from WAS 3.5 to WAS 5.2 |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 30 Mar 2006 Posts: 35
|
Hi,
Thanks. It seems we may use WAS 5.1 and not 5.2. I think it wont make any difference to the comments suggested above. Will it?
Thanks,
Ganesh Bhat. _________________ Have a Good Day!!! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|