ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ Installation/Configuration Support » Configuring JMSAdmin to connect to local UNIX Box

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Configuring JMSAdmin to connect to local UNIX Box « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
james968
PostPosted: Sat Aug 05, 2006 2:39 am    Post subject: Configuring JMSAdmin to connect to local UNIX Box Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 4
Location: Amsterdam

I'm the UNIX Admin for our site and not a Java developer, also I don't have too much experience with MQ Series either.

We are running Websphere MQ version 5.3 and I'm trying to access the files locally. We are not running LDAP.

The Java Developers have asked to have several queues and topics created. Using runmqsc (?), I was able to create the queues, but I was not been able to find any mentions of creating Topics in the Administrator Guide.

Eventually I found that Topics Creation Factories (TCF) were created in JMSAdmin. Assuming that TCF's were the correct item, I've been trying to get JMSAdmin to run.

I've gotten all of my class and library paths defined, but now I'm getting errors about the intiail factory context not working.

The documentation for Java refers to connecting to a local WS MQ server via 'binding', but it does not explain how to set this up in JMSAdmin.config.

Currently I have:

INITIL_CONTEXT_FACTORY=com.sun.jndi/fscontext.RefFSContextFactory
PROVIDER_URL=file:/tmp
SECURITY_AUTHENTICATION=none

Could someone post what these should be to access the Websphere MQ installed on the local machine. (Again this is on a UNIX box, with no LDAP or other directory service, on WS MQ 5.3).


thanks,
James
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Sat Aug 05, 2006 4:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

What environment is the Java code going to run under? Is it WAS?

You will need to create the queues, which you've done. You will need to configure a broker on the queue manager - which maybe you haven't done.

You will then need to create the bindings that are needed. This might not be done in JMSAdmin - if for example the Java code is running under WAS.

You also don't need to run JMSAdmin on any particular machine. You can run it on any machine that has it installed. If you are using the file system context, then the result of your work will be a bindings FILE, which can be moved to other machines.

The first thing I think you have wrong in your JMSAdmin configuration is that you have a "/" in the Initial Context Factory. This is the name of the Java class that creates an object that acts as the context provider. So it should be "com.sun.jndi.fscontext.RefFSContextFactory" or whatever value EXACTLY as specified in the Using Java manual.

You do not need JMSAdmin to access WebSphere MQ. The bindings provides a "map" between the application and the actual resources. So you have to essentially create your Queues twice - once in MQ as the real resources and once in JMSAdmin as the reference to the real resource.

There is a support pack that provides an Initial Context Factory that uses MQ as the datastore, instead of a file or LDAP, but I don't consider it a good idea.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Sat Aug 05, 2006 5:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

Try this and you may have to cut and paste as I see multiple errors in what you posted:
Code:
INITIAL_CONTEXT_FACTORY=com.sun.jndi.fscontext.RefFSContextFactory
PROVIDER_URL=file:///tmp


The file created should be /tmp/.bindings

I would use a specific directory to create the file like
mkdir /tmp/myjndi
PROVIDER_URL=file:///tmp/myjndi

Easier than to go fishing in a directory that usually quite busy (/tmp)

Enjoy
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
james968
PostPosted: Sun Aug 06, 2006 12:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 4
Location: Amsterdam

The slash in the INITIAL_CONTEXT_FACTORY, I think is just a mistake when I transcribed the notes for the article.

UNfortunately I don't have access to the system now, but I think I tried the following (if typed that correctly):

Code:
INITIAL_CONTEXT_FACTORY=com.sun.jndi.fscontext.RefFSContextFactory
PROVIDER_URL=file:///tmp


I received the error:

Quote:

PRIVDER_URL=file:///tmp
Invalid LDAP Syntax

Or something fairly similar


thanks,
James
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
james968
PostPosted: Sun Aug 06, 2006 12:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 4
Location: Amsterdam

Oh I have installed the WebSphereMQ Broker MaO... (whatever) and issued the command to enabling brokering on the quemanager I have defined.

thanks,
James
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Sun Aug 06, 2006 10:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

Quote:
I received the error:

Quote:

PRIVDER_URL=file:///tmp
Invalid LDAP Syntax

Or something fairly similar


That tells me your INITIAL_CONTEXT_FACTORY was not set to what you told us. The sun file factory is not LDAP.

Now remember I said cut and paste!

PROVIDER_URL=file:///tmp worked for me with sun's file context factory...

Enjoy
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
james968
PostPosted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 7:11 am    Post subject: Thanks Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 4
Location: Amsterdam

OK. Once I had access to the system again, I was able to copy and paste the settings and it eventually worked.

I'm having to ^c to get out of the program, but it is working.

thanks,
James
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 7:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

"end" should exit you from JMSAdmin.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vennela
PostPosted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 7:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 11 Aug 2002
Posts: 4055
Location: Hyderabad, India

end or exit (one of those) should work
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ Installation/Configuration Support » Configuring JMSAdmin to connect to local UNIX Box
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.