Author |
Message
|
james968 |
Posted: Sat Aug 05, 2006 2:39 am Post subject: Configuring JMSAdmin to connect to local UNIX Box |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 05 Aug 2006 Posts: 4 Location: Amsterdam
|
I'm the UNIX Admin for our site and not a Java developer, also I don't have too much experience with MQ Series either.
We are running Websphere MQ version 5.3 and I'm trying to access the files locally. We are not running LDAP.
The Java Developers have asked to have several queues and topics created. Using runmqsc (?), I was able to create the queues, but I was not been able to find any mentions of creating Topics in the Administrator Guide.
Eventually I found that Topics Creation Factories (TCF) were created in JMSAdmin. Assuming that TCF's were the correct item, I've been trying to get JMSAdmin to run.
I've gotten all of my class and library paths defined, but now I'm getting errors about the intiail factory context not working.
The documentation for Java refers to connecting to a local WS MQ server via 'binding', but it does not explain how to set this up in JMSAdmin.config.
Currently I have:
INITIL_CONTEXT_FACTORY=com.sun.jndi/fscontext.RefFSContextFactory
PROVIDER_URL=file:/tmp
SECURITY_AUTHENTICATION=none
Could someone post what these should be to access the Websphere MQ installed on the local machine. (Again this is on a UNIX box, with no LDAP or other directory service, on WS MQ 5.3).
thanks,
James |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Sat Aug 05, 2006 4:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
What environment is the Java code going to run under? Is it WAS?
You will need to create the queues, which you've done. You will need to configure a broker on the queue manager - which maybe you haven't done.
You will then need to create the bindings that are needed. This might not be done in JMSAdmin - if for example the Java code is running under WAS.
You also don't need to run JMSAdmin on any particular machine. You can run it on any machine that has it installed. If you are using the file system context, then the result of your work will be a bindings FILE, which can be moved to other machines.
The first thing I think you have wrong in your JMSAdmin configuration is that you have a "/" in the Initial Context Factory. This is the name of the Java class that creates an object that acts as the context provider. So it should be "com.sun.jndi.fscontext.RefFSContextFactory" or whatever value EXACTLY as specified in the Using Java manual.
You do not need JMSAdmin to access WebSphere MQ. The bindings provides a "map" between the application and the actual resources. So you have to essentially create your Queues twice - once in MQ as the real resources and once in JMSAdmin as the reference to the real resource.
There is a support pack that provides an Initial Context Factory that uses MQ as the datastore, instead of a file or LDAP, but I don't consider it a good idea. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Sat Aug 05, 2006 5:12 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
Try this and you may have to cut and paste as I see multiple errors in what you posted:
Code: |
INITIAL_CONTEXT_FACTORY=com.sun.jndi.fscontext.RefFSContextFactory
PROVIDER_URL=file:///tmp |
The file created should be /tmp/.bindings
I would use a specific directory to create the file like
mkdir /tmp/myjndi
PROVIDER_URL=file:///tmp/myjndi
Easier than to go fishing in a directory that usually quite busy (/tmp)
Enjoy  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
james968 |
Posted: Sun Aug 06, 2006 12:30 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 05 Aug 2006 Posts: 4 Location: Amsterdam
|
The slash in the INITIAL_CONTEXT_FACTORY, I think is just a mistake when I transcribed the notes for the article.
UNfortunately I don't have access to the system now, but I think I tried the following (if typed that correctly):
Code: |
INITIAL_CONTEXT_FACTORY=com.sun.jndi.fscontext.RefFSContextFactory
PROVIDER_URL=file:///tmp |
I received the error:
Quote: |
PRIVDER_URL=file:///tmp
Invalid LDAP Syntax |
Or something fairly similar
thanks,
James |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
james968 |
Posted: Sun Aug 06, 2006 12:32 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 05 Aug 2006 Posts: 4 Location: Amsterdam
|
Oh I have installed the WebSphereMQ Broker MaO... (whatever) and issued the command to enabling brokering on the quemanager I have defined.
thanks,
James |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Sun Aug 06, 2006 10:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
Quote: |
I received the error:
Quote:
PRIVDER_URL=file:///tmp
Invalid LDAP Syntax
Or something fairly similar |
That tells me your INITIAL_CONTEXT_FACTORY was not set to what you told us. The sun file factory is not LDAP.
Now remember I said cut and paste!
PROVIDER_URL=file:///tmp worked for me with sun's file context factory...
Enjoy  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
james968 |
Posted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 7:11 am Post subject: Thanks |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 05 Aug 2006 Posts: 4 Location: Amsterdam
|
OK. Once I had access to the system again, I was able to copy and paste the settings and it eventually worked.
I'm having to ^c to get out of the program, but it is working.
thanks,
James |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 7:15 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
"end" should exit you from JMSAdmin. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
vennela |
Posted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 7:15 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 11 Aug 2002 Posts: 4055 Location: Hyderabad, India
|
end or exit (one of those) should work |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|