Author |
Message
|
vijpan |
Posted: Wed Aug 02, 2006 1:42 pm Post subject: Query Work Items - Retrieving other than primary information |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 14 Feb 2005 Posts: 22
|
Workflow 3.6 SP2.
Just a newbie question.
When we query the work items, as per the programming guidelines it says that it retrieves primary information (around 18 of them). Now if we invoke other methods (other than the primary information) on the work item for eg. firstNotificationTime(), exitCondition(), expirationTime() etc --- are these data also available in the workitem object or when we invoke these methods will it going to make another call to the workflow to get this data?
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Wed Aug 02, 2006 2:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
yes _________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
vijpan |
Posted: Wed Aug 02, 2006 7:04 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 14 Feb 2005 Posts: 22
|
so "yes" here means it will make another call to workflow to get this data.
We have a scenario where we are diplaying all the work items(custom web based application) for the user and they can be around 100 to 150 max for a user, there are around 500-600 users who will be using the system during the day.
Now we have to display some data other than primary information (like firstNotificationTime and expirationTime) -- will it be too much of performance issue if we invoke these methods on every work item that we receive as a result of query. We also have a req. where we have to display inContainer values, but that we can do by manipulating the description so that we don't have an overhead of calling inContainer for every work item?
is there any other way out we can do this stuff?
Any hint or suggestions will be helpful.
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ProcessCentric |
Posted: Thu Aug 03, 2006 3:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Apprentice
Joined: 04 Nov 2005 Posts: 25 Location: USA
|
Unfortunately to return your container data in a work list you need to place it in the description as %varaibleName%. Unfortunately you are currently limited by 256 bytes. Once you surpass this the rest of the data will get chopped off at the next byte without warning. Let us know if you come up with another solution.
thanks! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Thu Aug 03, 2006 5:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
Bottom line: Issue a query to MQWF for workitems that returns 150 workitems (for example). 1 Client Server call.
So you can display your worklist with a single call.
Need secondary information for each item? BAD NEWS. Each item requires second call to MQWF to access secondary items. 151 Client Server calls.
Need info from container? MORE BAD NEWS. Each item requires third call to MQWF to access container 301. Client server calls
MORAL: Only Display primary items when you build worklist, and if you must have any container data, hide it in the description. _________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
vijpan |
Posted: Thu Aug 03, 2006 5:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 14 Feb 2005 Posts: 22
|
Thanks jmac and ProcessCentric for the reply.
Currently we are making use of the description to fetch container data by doing %variablename% --- thats not an issue, but some other important secondary data we need and they are "persistentOid" and "firstNotificationTime".
Here "persistentOid" is more important to us as we are trying to have an stateless support, so that based on this id any other action can be invoked on the workitem individually.
I hope "persistentOid" method invocation on the workitem will not be another call?? Am i right on my assumption or this is also an another call??
Is there any way i can get them without making another call.
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Thu Aug 03, 2006 6:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
persistentOid is not a secondary attribute.
However, firstNotificationTime is. _________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
vijpan |
Posted: Thu Aug 03, 2006 6:44 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 14 Feb 2005 Posts: 22
|
Thanks jmac.
For the firstNotificationTime we will make use of the container variable to set and then use the same in description ( keeping in mind the restriction on length of description).
I think this will resolve it with just one call get the work items and display the various attributes.
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|