Author |
Message
|
rodionos |
Posted: Mon Jul 31, 2006 1:02 pm Post subject: MQ Topology Diagrams in Microsoft Visio |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 25 Jul 2006 Posts: 6
|
I've started working on a product which can generate Visio diagrams based on MQSC definition files and IBM MQ Visio stencil. There are many challenges to automated diagramming and getting consistent inputs is critical. While the original idea was to rely on MQSC files, I found that these files often contain outdated information because there are not managed centrally. Instead they are typically stored on the host, on MQ admin's machine and a few more places. Once you bring those files together, there is no guarantee that they are current. Hence my question: what do you think is a good option for data collection:
1. continue using MQSC files with additional validation
2. develop MQ network discovery (PCF command-based QM interrogation)
3. pull data from mgmt tools (Tivoli MQ Configuration)
4. other tooling/options?
Thanks!
Sergei |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Mon Jul 31, 2006 1:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
http://www.mqseries.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=21424
Or, for example, script saveqmgr to run daily, and store on a central file share.
Or connect all your qmgrs together, and use saveqmgr to access the remote qmgrs and store all results in one file.
Or write your own version of saveqmgr in .NET and then you won't have to write code to parse MQSC or xml. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Michael Dag |
Posted: Tue Aug 01, 2006 12:12 am Post subject: Re: MQ Topology Diagrams in Microsoft Visio |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 13 Jun 2002 Posts: 2607 Location: The Netherlands (Amsterdam)
|
Jeff, thanks for the reference
rodionos wrote: |
I've started working on a product which can generate Visio diagrams based on MQSC definition files and IBM MQ Visio stencil. There are many challenges to automated diagramming and getting consistent inputs is critical. |
MQDocument is the foundation of more to come, including Visio Design (new topologies and reverse engineering), Documentation and Deployment.
My Visio documentation library is almost bigger then my MQ library  _________________ Michael
MQSystems Facebook page |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
rodionos |
Posted: Tue Aug 01, 2006 11:37 am Post subject: Re: MQ Topology Diagrams in Microsoft Visio |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 25 Jul 2006 Posts: 6
|
That's great. I've looked at SAVEQMGR source code, and it seems a kind of tool that I'd like to use for data collection. Calling it from Java runtime (my environment) would be easy and you can run it based on user-defined schedule. I partucularly like the way it handles different versions of MQ (very comprehensively) and provides consistent MQSC definitions. The input format for me is not that important, it's the data integrity that counts most.
One area of concern is timeouts. SAVEQMGR refers to timeouts on remote managers as the common source of errors. How often does it happen in production scenarios? Also, SAVEQMGR requires a running command server on the same host where SAVEQMGR is invoked. Is command server typically up and running, and doesn't runmqsc require it as well?
> Michael. I'm interested in learning more about 'Visio libraries'. Is this something you plan on doing: converting MD's xml files into Visio? If so, it's great to know that I'm not the only one who is attacking the problem. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Tue Aug 01, 2006 2:28 pm Post subject: Re: MQ Topology Diagrams in Microsoft Visio |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
rodionos wrote: |
Also, SAVEQMGR requires a running command server on the same host where SAVEQMGR is invoked. Is command server typically up and running, and doesn't runmqsc require it as well? |
saveqmgr is putting pcs message to the command server's input queue and giving you the response back in MQSC format. As such it will require the command server on the target qmgr.
Runmqsc on the other hand speaks directly to the qmgr and does not need the command server if running for the local qmgr. If running for a remote qmgr it will need the command server on the target qmgr as well. _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
rodionos |
Posted: Tue Aug 01, 2006 3:21 pm Post subject: Re: MQ Topology Diagrams in Microsoft Visio |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 25 Jul 2006 Posts: 6
|
[quote="fjb_saper"]...If running for a remote qmgr it will need the command server on the target qmgr as well.[/quote]
This means that I'm putting down availability of command servers as one of the requirements - since the tool is designed to collect information from both local and remote QMs.
The fact that admininistrative PCF calls to remote managers are transported via MQ's own communications infrastructure makes much sense. I guess that explains the reason for timeout errors - some of the channels that PCFs will traverse will not be operational, hence a wait time and a resulting timeout.
Question: can I use SAVEQMGR to query a remote manager which is not at all referenced within the local manager? In other words, if need to interrogate a QM located on a host with which local QM has no defined channels - can i do it with SAVEQMGR? Will it then establish the channel dynamically, just to transport the PCF calls and get a reply? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Tue Aug 01, 2006 3:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
You need saveqmgrc which is in the same support pack (MS03) but the client version. It will deal with client connections.
At the same time you might want to have a quick look at MO72.
Enjoy  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Michael Dag |
Posted: Tue Apr 10, 2007 11:02 am Post subject: Re: MQ Topology Diagrams in Microsoft Visio |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 13 Jun 2002 Posts: 2607 Location: The Netherlands (Amsterdam)
|
rodionos wrote: |
Michael. I'm interested in learning more about 'Visio libraries'. Is this something you plan on doing: converting MD's xml files into Visio? If so, it's great to know that I'm not the only one who is attacking the problem. |
Please see the MQArchitect announcement _________________ Michael
MQSystems Facebook page |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|