Author |
Message
|
mrlazy |
Posted: Tue May 09, 2006 6:26 am Post subject: problem seeing all the messages in a queue |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 19 Apr 2006 Posts: 144
|
Hi,
I was trying to browse the data ina queue using 'amqsbcg' command. But it's unable to copy all the messages to the file. It copied around 6MB,but then showing up the error code 2080.
I also tried to use Q Program,but this one is not even showing a single message,but some junk data. I used the command q -m<QMgr> -i<Qname> > output.txt
Someone please help me.. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Tue May 09, 2006 6:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
What's a 2080 return code mean?
What's the relationship between the "junk data" and the byte values of the messages?
What's the documentation on the 'q' program say about the format of the data that it writes out? _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mrlazy |
Posted: Tue May 09, 2006 6:35 am Post subject: |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 19 Apr 2006 Posts: 144
|
2080 means MQRC_TRUNCATED_MSG_FAILED. Will this program be able to browse msgs only upto 6MB?
I do not understand the junk data. It's size of file almost 6MB though. But using amqsbcg, i was able to see the messages(atleast for the 6mB of data).
The documentation didn't say which data which format of data it writes out.
Can you kindly tell me any other alternative please ? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
vennela |
Posted: Tue May 09, 2006 7:08 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 11 Aug 2002 Posts: 4055 Location: Hyderabad, India
|
mrlazy wrote: |
The documentation didn't say which data which format of data it writes out.
|
There is a readme with the q program and that is the doc being referred to above. Did you read it and not find the info?
I am pretty sure there are limitations on the size of the message that these programs can get. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mrlazy |
Posted: Tue May 09, 2006 7:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 19 Apr 2006 Posts: 144
|
Sorry guys, when I FTP that file to windows, I can see the message. I donno y but, it's not the case in AIX.
But vennela, I went through the document. It does not mention about the default maximum size or so, but it mentions how to set the maximum size(if we want to filter the data).
It also specifies to set the number of messages that we can browse/get. But nothing about the default number is mentioned. This implies that until and unless we set a maximum size/number, it should be able to process all the messages, which it actually did!
I have a question. Can amqsbcg browse only 6MB of data? If so, how can we increase the size? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
vennela |
Posted: Tue May 09, 2006 7:32 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 11 Aug 2002 Posts: 4055 Location: Hyderabad, India
|
mrlazy wrote: |
I have a question. Can amqsbcg browse only 6MB of data? If so, how can we increase the size? |
I am sure there is a limitation on the size of the message that can be browsed.
If you have to change it, you will have to recompile the program after making the necessary changes.
If you are good with Java and can compile java programs there are many samples available in the forum that can help you. Look for the samples in the developer works and in the repository in the forum.
If you are ftp ing something, you need to ftp it right (I mean set whether the transfer has to be ASCII or Binary). |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
wschutz |
Posted: Tue May 09, 2006 7:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 02 Jun 2005 Posts: 3316 Location: IBM (retired)
|
Funny, the shipped version of amqsbcg0.c shows:
#define BUFFERLENGTH 32767
I'm not sure why you're seeing 6M of message data...in any case, make BUFFERLENGTH bigger.... _________________ -wayne |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Tue May 09, 2006 7:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
I'm sure that mrlazy is confused and assumes that because the text output file of amqsbcg is 6MB in size, then this automatically means that 6mb of message data was read and stored.
It's also fairly obvious that mrlazy is too lazy to understand what's actually going on, and is hoping that we'll just provide an infinite amount of free training until basic MQ concepts finally stick.
Either that, or mrlazy is jeevan in YET ANOTHER alias. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
tleichen |
Posted: Thu May 11, 2006 11:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
Yatiri
Joined: 11 Apr 2005 Posts: 663 Location: Center of the USA
|
I think you may be onto something, Jeff!  _________________ IBM Certified MQSeries Specialist
IBM Certified MQSeries Developer |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|