ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ API Support » put application name

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 put application name « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
klamerus
PostPosted: Fri Apr 28, 2006 9:05 pm    Post subject: put application name Reply with quote

Disciple

Joined: 05 Jul 2004
Posts: 199
Location: Detroit, MI

Is it possible (or should one) set the put applicatoin name?

I haven't seen the field used by anyone.

Rationale:

We have a father complex system of queues and progrmsa that programs that perform work and move the messages between them.

We are seeing messages show up on a queue where we don't expect them. Or at least we're seeing messages there, but the put application name field isn't making sense to us (the values aren't what we're expecting to see). The program names listed shouldn't be writing there.

We would not expect this to be something that can be set (or at least it shouldn't be), otherwise it's fairly useless.

So, we're trying to debug and perhaps someone can help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 4:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

Well it depends what language you are using:
In JMS you cannot set the field and the content is always the same regardless of the JMS application.

The field is really set by the sender application and there is nothing to prevent you (the sending application) to impersonate any other app there.

Have you checked if the unexpected messages land there because of some unexpected routing feature like default xmitq, wrong qmgr alias, using wrong remote queue, etc...?

Enjoy
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 5:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

Are the program names you are seeing names for MQ programs, or names for your custom programs?
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
klamerus
PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 5:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Disciple

Joined: 05 Jul 2004
Posts: 199
Location: Detroit, MI

I don't understand Jeff's note.

We have programs we've written in Visual C/C++ (this is Windows 2000). These are the only things we've written.

We see these names in the put application name (on the messages that are showing up unexpected in the queues).

So far we haven't seen where this is being set, but we just don't know the code well enough.

What would be the call(s) to set this? Is it a value in a data structure or a parameter to an API?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
PeterPotkay
PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 6:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 15 May 2001
Posts: 7722

http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infocenter/wmqv6/v6r0/topic/com.ibm.mq.csqzak.doc/js02755.htm
(navigate to the Put Application Name field fromthis link)

Basically, this is a field in the message's MQMD. 99.9% of the time, apps don't bother to set it, and the QM fill sit in for you by default. If the app sets the proper PMO options on the PUT, it is allowed to put whatever value it wants in there, and the QM will not overwrite it with what the QM thinks the connected app is, but will allow what ever string the program jammed in there "C:\HomersPrograms\Doh.exe)"

Jeff is asking what are the names you are seeing in there? Are they IBM MQ programs (like amq**.exe), or same names that make sense for your shop, or random text like "Johnny's Program"?
_________________
Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
klamerus
PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 7:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Disciple

Joined: 05 Jul 2004
Posts: 199
Location: Detroit, MI

Okay,

I get what he was saying now. Beats me why anyone would want to do this, but hey...

Anyway, yes, the names we have are the fully qualified aplicatoin name on the server (for instance D:\OMDV\bin\faxmessage.exe.

We have a "traffic cop" program that hands off work to these "worker bee" programs by putting requests in their queues. There's a program and queue for FAXing, printing, emailing, encryption, etc.

They do their owrk and put a status message back on a queue read by the traffic cop.

They also have an error queue they can write to in a variety of problem situations.

I'm seeing messages in this error queue from all of these (a few a day out of tens of thousands of requests). Well at least the putapplname for these messages is the full name of the programs we have.

I can't find anywhere in the traffic cop code where it sets this field (and I can't come up with any reason for why it would).

One of the developers supporting this thinks the traffic copy is doing this, but I'm really dubious. I think they're failing for some reason and doing it.

The problem is that I can't come up with a reason for why they would all systematically be doing this except as a result of come "common" problem that they're running into.

My first thought is that they are blockiing or competing with each other trying to write their status/result into the queue for the traffic cop on rare occasions and are therefore doing it themselves.

So, I'm asking in the general forum if there are any occasions where two programs trying to write to the same queue at the same time might cause problems for each other (like blocking). That might explain the relatively few messgaes. Also, I know that for most of these worker bee programs there is no code to retry writing to the queue. They simply fail.

Anyway, that's my uninformed guess at the situation. I'm trying to figure it out from a bunch of 5 year old code with little/no comments and no design documentation (sigh).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 9:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

Your question about contention is kind of your other thread, so let's not duplicate this too much please.

So, if you are seeing messages on the error queue and the MQMD has the fully qualified name of one of your programs (and not an MQ program) in the PutApplName field... and you can't find code that specifically sets this field (and you can't find MQPMO_SET_ALL_CONTEXT in the code) then it's really likely that MQ is automatically setting that field for you, based on which application is doing the put.

If the messages have PutApplNames of the worker programs, then what you are seeing is that those worker programs are actually the ones that are putting those messages!

If you don't know why they are putting the messages there, then ... well, we're back to archaeology.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
klamerus
PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 3:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Disciple

Joined: 05 Jul 2004
Posts: 199
Location: Detroit, MI

archeology...you're a hoot!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ API Support » put application name
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.