ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ Installation/Configuration Support » Migrating MQ app from AIX to Unix under OS/390 (USS)

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Migrating MQ app from AIX to Unix under OS/390 (USS) « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
lmack
PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2001 10:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 20 Nov 2001
Posts: 3
Location: IBM Global Services (ISMC)

We would like to move one of our MQ applications which currently runs under AIX to run on OS/390 under Unix System Services (USS). On the OS/390 LPAR, we already have a QMGR. Would this application be able to talk directly to the QMGR on OS/390, or would we need to have a QMGR running under USS or possibly some client software on USS?

I am having trouble visualizing how this would work, I don't know how USS and OS/390 interact. Has anyone done this? Any ideas on the best path to do this?

Thanks!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
RogerLacroix
PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2001 8:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 15 May 2001
Posts: 3253
Location: London, ON Canada

Hi,

No problem. USS runs as a shell on a MVS LPAR similar to TSO. Think of JES2, TSO & USS being siblings (or peer tasks) on the LPAR.

Therefore, if you have a queue manager on the same LPAR as the USS shell, then compile and link your program. It will run locally connecting to the queue manager.

Hope that helps.

later
Roger...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
lmack
PostPosted: Tue Nov 27, 2001 2:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 20 Nov 2001
Posts: 3
Location: IBM Global Services (ISMC)

Thanks for your reply Roger ! I appreciate it. I was kind of thinking that would be the case, but haven't had a chance to try it, yet....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
venusboy
PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2002 1:43 am    Post subject: Creating MQSeries applications on OS/390 under uss Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 11 Jun 2002
Posts: 51

Hi,

How do I complie a MQSeries program under OS/390 under uss?

Where are the shared libraries and include files under uss?

Thanks

Tom.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
oz1ccg
PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2002 7:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yatiri

Joined: 10 Feb 2002
Posts: 628
Location: Denmark

Hi folks,

I've created a small shell script to do the compile, (I hope the charater conversion will work), you have to change the <hlq> to the values that your system programmers have decided.
By the way offcause you also have to have access to USS..

Anyway this is my setup for running the C++ compiler...

Code:

if [ $# = 0 ]; then                                                             
 echo "C++ compiler invocation cmd, used for MQSeries,"                         
 echo "usage buildc++ modulename"                                               
 echo "no module was supplied..."                                               
 echo "build++ is terminated"                                                   
else                                                                           
 export STEPLIB=<hlq>.SCBCCMP         
 export _CXX_EXTRA_ARGS=1                   
 export _CXX_CXXSUFFIX="cpp"                 
 export STEPLK1="//'<hlq>.SCSQDEFS(IMQS23DM)'"                               
 export STEPLK2="//'<hlq>.SCSQDEFS(IMQB23DM)'"                               
 export STEPIN1="//'<hlq>.SCSQC370'"                                         
 export STEPIN2="//'<hlq>.SCSQHPPS'"                                         
 echo "Compiling "$1", loadmodule is placed in:"$HOME"/bin"                     
 c++ -o $HOME/bin/$1 -I "$STEPIN1" -I "$STEPIN2" $1.cpp "$STEPLK1" "$STEPLK2"   
fi                                                                             


I hope it might helpt you get get up and run under USS, take also a look in the "MQSeries using C++" manual....

Just my $0.02
_________________
Regards, Jørgen
Home of BlockIP2, the last free MQ Security exit ver. 3.00
Cert. on WMQ, WBIMB, SWIFT.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
venusboy
PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2002 7:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 11 Jun 2002
Posts: 51

Hi,

Thanks for the latest reply, sorry for not asking such a trival question, however I have another:

The compling of the application is fine, however the linking stage I get the following:

"
IKJ56228I DATA SET SYS1.SCSQDEFS NOT IN CATALOG OR CATALOG CAN NOT BE ACCESSED

FSUM3053 The data definition name C8921 cannot be resolved. The data set was not
found. Ensure that data set and member name SYS1.SCSQDEFS(IMQS23DM) are specified correctly.
"

Does this just mean that I have not got user access to this deck. Or is there something more, e.g. something not support in OS/390 MQ version 5.2?

I can only access the system in USS mode.

Thanks in advance.

Regards

Tom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
venusboy
PostPosted: Tue Jun 18, 2002 3:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 11 Jun 2002
Posts: 51

Hi,

I now have another issue! What dataset deck do I need to include to link with the MQSeries C libaries? I am assuming it is MQM, but this does not seem to be correct.

Is there a manual with compling OS/390 under USS for C? Or does anyone have a sample makefile?

Thanks in advance

Tom.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RogerLacroix
PostPosted: Tue Jun 18, 2002 8:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 15 May 2001
Posts: 3253
Location: London, ON Canada

Hi,

Getting the development environment setup under USS is a pain in the *ss.

If the OS/390 - USS admin person has not setup the environment variables then you will need to add the following to your .profile file:
Code:
# These lines set up the compile environment for Commom usage C programs
# Change the _CC_ variables to _C89_ for standard C
export DSNAOINI=/jh/tax/cli/cli.ini
export _CXX_STEPS=-1
export STEPLIB=SYS3.CEE.SCEERUN:SYS3.CBC.SCBCCMP:SYS3.CBC.SCLBDLL:SYS3.MQM.SCSQAUTH:SYS3.MQM.SCSQANLE
export _CXX_EXTRA_ARGS=1
export _C89_EXTRA_ARGS=1
export _CXX_CSYSLIB=SYS3.CEE.SCEEH.H:SYS3.CBC.SCLBH.H:SYS3.MQM.SCSQC370
export _CSS_PSYSIX=""
export _C89_CSYSLIB=SYS3.CEE.SCEEH.H:SYS3.CBC.SCLBH.H:SYS3.MQM.SCSQC370
export _CXX_LSYSLIB=SYS3.CEE.SCEELKEX:SYS3.CEE.SCEELKED:SYS1.CSSLIB:SYS3.MQM.SCSQLOAD
export _C89_LSYSLIB=SYS3.CEE.SCEELKEX:SYS3.CEE.SCEELKED:SYS1.CSSLIB:SYS3.MQM.SCSQLOAD
export _C89_PSYSLIB=SYS3.CEE.SCEEOBJ:SYS3.CEE.SCEECPP:SYS3.CBC.SCLBDLL


Once you have that done then you can use a makefile like the following:
Code:
# makefile for test programs under USS
TEST_SRCS   := \
   tstsrv1.c \
   tstsrv2.c \
   tstsrv3.c

OBJECTS = $(TEST_SRCS:%.cpp=%.o)

DEBUG    = -Wc,"FLAG(E)"
INCLUDES = -I. -I../../mmsg/inc
COMMONFLAGS = $(DEBUG) -Wc,dll -DUSS -Wc,"langlvl(extended)"
CXXFLAGS = $(INCLUDES) $(COMMONFLAGS)
LIB_DIRS = -L. -L../../lib
LINK_LIBS = ../../lib/libwxyz.x "//'SYS3.MQM.SCSQLOAD(CSQBSTUB)'"

all : $(OBJECTS)
   c++ $(CXXFLAGS) -o $@ -c $<
   c++ $(CXXFLAGS) $(LIB_DIRS) -o ../go/tstsrv1  tstsrv1.o $(LINK_LIBS)
   c++ $(CXXFLAGS) $(LIB_DIRS) -o ../go/tstsrv2  tstsrv2.o $(LINK_LIBS)
   c++ $(CXXFLAGS) $(LIB_DIRS) -o ../go/tstsrv3  tstsrv3.o $(LINK_LIBS)
   echo 'Build Complete'

clean :
   @rm -fr *.o


Hope that helps.

later
Roger Lacroix
Enterprise Architect
Capitalware Inc.
http://www.capitalware.net
----------------------------------------
IBM Certified Specialist - MQSeries
IBM Certified Developer - MQSeries
IBM Certified Solutions Expert - MQSeries
----------------------------------------
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
venusboy
PostPosted: Wed Jun 19, 2002 1:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 11 Jun 2002
Posts: 51

After a bit of modification to sample Makefile the application has complied and linked!

Thank you all again, great to see a good online community.

Regards

Tom.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ Installation/Configuration Support » Migrating MQ app from AIX to Unix under OS/390 (USS)
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.