Author |
Message
|
xgnitesh |
Posted: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:27 pm Post subject: Client Connection Channel |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 06 Sep 2005 Posts: 19
|
Hi,
I have MQ Server installed on a windows 2000 professional machine. I have a local windows account on this machine (not a part of domain). I gave get and put permissions to this windows account for a particular queue using the command setmqaut. I have a server connection channel setup and I want a MQ client to be able to connect to this QM and get/put messages to this queue.
Question: What configuration should be done on the client machine so that it works. I was testing using amqsget and amqsput but it gave an authority failure. I probably dont know how to pass the username and password to the mq server while connecting. Can anyone please help me on this.
Thanks very much for any help.
Best regards,
Nitesh |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
HubertKleinmanns |
Posted: Wed Apr 19, 2006 10:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Shaman
Joined: 24 Feb 2004 Posts: 732 Location: Germany
|
Did you set the connect permission to the QMgr?
In addition some tools - especially Java - need also the inquiry (and further) permissions (allmqi works always). _________________ Regards
Hubert |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
xgnitesh |
Posted: Wed Apr 19, 2006 11:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 06 Sep 2005 Posts: 19
|
Hi HubertKleinmanns
Thanks for your response.
Yes, I have set the connect permission for qmgr.
However, I guess my problem is I am not able to provide username/password from clinet side. How do I pass the username and password to use to connect to the queue manager from the mq client side?
Regards,
Nitesh |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
HubertKleinmanns |
Posted: Thu Apr 20, 2006 12:02 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Shaman
Joined: 24 Feb 2004 Posts: 732 Location: Germany
|
xgnitesh wrote: |
Hi HubertKleinmanns
Thanks for your response.
Yes, I have set the connect permission for qmgr.
However, I guess my problem is I am not able to provide username/password from clinet side. How do I pass the username and password to use to connect to the queue manager from the mq client side?
Regards,
Nitesh |
In general the login user name is passed by your client application automatically (no password). But on windows it could be, that not the user name, but a unique UID is passed (which will be different even when the user names are the same). In this case you should specify a domain user instead of a local user.
If you use domain users, you have to ensure, that the MQ services user is able, to browse domain users, in order to check their group memberships. Ask you Windows admins, how to set-up your MQ system user (good luck ). See the chapter Authorization service on Windows systems in the WebSphere MQ System Administration Guide for more details. _________________ Regards
Hubert |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
xgnitesh |
Posted: Thu Apr 20, 2006 12:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 06 Sep 2005 Posts: 19
|
Thanks Hubert,
Having a domain account is one of the alternatives but in my case I cannot use a domain account as the client can be located on another part of the internet or another company intranet. The client can be a unix or solaris machine too. Is there a way to give access to a client irrespective of his OS/platform or domain?
I tried to do this actually:
On my MQ server, I created a domain less account and gave connect, get and put permissions to this account for that queue. How does the client connect given that he can be on any domain/network/OS?
Too many questions but your help is really appreciated. I am trying to read the admin guide in the mean while.
Regards,
Nitesh |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
HubertKleinmanns |
Posted: Thu Apr 20, 2006 12:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Shaman
Joined: 24 Feb 2004 Posts: 732 Location: Germany
|
You could set the MCAuser of your SVRCONN channel to MUSR_MQADMIN (or however your MQ systems user is named). This should work, but opens a backdoor to everybody, how knows the connection string (IP and port) and the channel name. _________________ Regards
Hubert |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
HubertKleinmanns |
Posted: Thu Apr 20, 2006 12:31 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Shaman
Joined: 24 Feb 2004 Posts: 732 Location: Germany
|
Maybe it will be sufficient, to set the MCAUSER to your locally defined user ... _________________ Regards
Hubert |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Hassan |
Posted: Fri Apr 28, 2006 10:10 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Voyager
Joined: 01 Apr 2004 Posts: 81 Location: Toronto, Canada
|
Defining the User and Password through environment variables is also an option. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
wschutz |
Posted: Fri Apr 28, 2006 10:20 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 02 Jun 2005 Posts: 3316 Location: IBM (retired)
|
Hassan wrote: |
Defining the User and Password through environment variables is also an option. |
Are you referring to the MQ_USER_ID and MQ_PASSWORD environment variables set on the client's environment? They only work on OS/2 Win 3.1 Win 95 and Win 98 _________________ -wayne |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Hassan |
Posted: Fri Apr 28, 2006 10:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Voyager
Joined: 01 Apr 2004 Posts: 81 Location: Toronto, Canada
|
Yes. We've used them in WIN2K and NT as well |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|