ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ Java / JMS » MQRFH2 header and MQ6

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 MQRFH2 header and MQ6 « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
matrixa
PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2006 3:31 am    Post subject: MQRFH2 header and MQ6 Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 19 Apr 2006
Posts: 5

When I run an application written in java on an Aix with MQ5 CSD11, the MQRFH2 headers that I set in the application with:

message.setIntProperty(PROPERTY_COLUMNCOUNT, columnCnt);
message.setStringProperty(PROPERTY_COLUMNNAME, columnName);

is returned gracefully and can be parsed by the broker with InputRoot.MQRFH2.usr.ColumnName etc.

When I run the same application on a Linux with MQ6, the MQRFH2 headers are not returned gracefully. What is the problem, has anyone experienced the same? Could it be that the application and MQ use different com.ibm.mq.jms.jar.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2006 3:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

Can you be more specific about "not returned gracefully"?
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
matrixa
PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2006 4:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 19 Apr 2006
Posts: 5

Of course I can, I mean that they are not returned at all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2006 4:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

So when you do a message.getIntProperty - you don't get a return value.

You also, presumably, don't get an exception?

Can you see if the MQRFH2 header is on the messages you produce, and see if it contains the properties?
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
matrixa
PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2006 4:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 19 Apr 2006
Posts: 5

Yes. When I pick up the message put on the queue by the application it does not contain any MQRFH2 headers. I don't get an exception when the application puts the message on the queue.

I'm wondering about if the .jars my application uses mismatch in any way with what MQ6 uses?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2006 4:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

Is there any way that the targetClient on the message sender got changed to MQ instead of JMS?
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
matrixa
PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2006 4:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 19 Apr 2006
Posts: 5

You mean:

message.setIntProperty(JMSC.MSG_TYPE_PROPERTY, MQC.MQMT_REPLY);

?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2006 4:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

No...

I mean, actually, the targetClient property of the QueueDestination object that the message sender application is using.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
matrixa
PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2006 5:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 19 Apr 2006
Posts: 5

Thanks for trying to help. I think I know where the problem lies now. When I tried with a small java application to put a message to the queue the MQRFH2 headers showed up just fine. So the problem must lie in the configuration of the adapter platform that the java application is running on.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2006 5:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

That's what I'm getting at.

That the problem lies not in the fault of your code that is RECEIVING the message, but in the code or the configuration of the thing that is SENDING the message.

More particularly, I'm telling you that there is a particular setting, called the 'targetClient', that controls whether or not the MQ JMS Provider adds an MQRFH2 header to a JMSMessage when it is mapped to an MQ message on the queue.

Please search here for 'targetClient', and you'll find lots more information.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ Java / JMS » MQRFH2 header and MQ6
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.