Author |
Message
|
mq_crazy |
Posted: Thu Mar 09, 2006 10:52 am Post subject: Backing up messages in the queues |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 30 Jun 2004 Posts: 295
|
We have MQ 5.3 CSD08 running on windows 2003 server in production. We have a backup server having smiliar queues with different queue manager name and would be used in case the production servers go down. We will have messages sitting in our retry queues for 10 days before they expire, so we need those messages recovered to the backup server in case that server hard disk crashes. What i was planning is to take a backup of the queue folder everyday and copy that folder to the backup server(in case of failure) with overwriting the present folder, so that the messages would be populated onto that queue. Would that work??? Is that a good approach?? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Thu Mar 09, 2006 10:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
1 second after your copy finished, you would no longer be in sync, as new messages arrive on the original QM. _________________ Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mq_crazy |
Posted: Thu Mar 09, 2006 10:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 30 Jun 2004 Posts: 295
|
My point is that atleast we will have the latest of upto last backup. So, do you think is it possible to copy that folder and get the messages?? is it the right approach? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Thu Mar 09, 2006 11:59 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
It's a bad approach. It might work, but it will be unsupported. And if you don't stop the queue manager when you replace the file, you could crash the queue manager and corrupt the file. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mq_crazy |
Posted: Thu Mar 09, 2006 12:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 30 Jun 2004 Posts: 295
|
Thanks jeff. What do you think is the best approach for my scenario?? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Thu Mar 09, 2006 12:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
Write messages to a database.
Back up the database. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Thu Mar 09, 2006 1:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
Use linear logging.
You will need all active logs. The ones to restart the qmgr and the ones to recover from media.
You can then recreate the qmgr on a different machine. (Run MS03 to recreate the queues ?). Stop the qmgr.
Replace all the files in the log directory for the qmgr with the original.
start the qmgr and all the messages will be back in the queues (recovered from linear logging). If not you use rcvrmqobj for each of the queues.
Enjoy  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mq_crazy |
Posted: Thu Mar 09, 2006 1:51 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 30 Jun 2004 Posts: 295
|
We already have similar queue manager running on the backup server with the same queue names and connections. Only thing we are looking in case of a disaster is the messages off the couple of queues, we have hardware backup scheduled each day. So, keeping the circular logging is there a supported way to just backup the messages off the queues?? copying the Queue folder seems to be unsupported. Thanks!!! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Thu Mar 09, 2006 2:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
Using circular logging your messages are only "secure" for the time they participate in a transaction. Imagine you loose a queue due to a disk crash. With circular logging the messages on the queue are lost.
This is why you have your logs archives and queues on separate disks and mounts.
Enjoy  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mq_crazy |
Posted: Fri Mar 10, 2006 10:54 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 30 Jun 2004 Posts: 295
|
Right now we are not in a position to change the whole logging type from circular to linear as it is in production. Without doing that is there no simple way of acheiving it?? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Fri Mar 10, 2006 11:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
What you need and want is hardware clustering.
if the business is too cheap to buy it, then you have to come up with a less than ideal solution, like:
Set up a channel from the real QM to the back up QM, and install mirrorq on the real QM.
-or-
Everynight, bring down MQ, backup the entire server, and use it to clone the backup server. _________________ Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mq_crazy |
Posted: Fri Mar 10, 2006 11:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 30 Jun 2004 Posts: 295
|
Thanks Peter. They are kind of cheap right now to setup a hardware clustering. We are ready to shutdown MQ everynight and take a backup of the whole MQ folders. My question is that i don't want to clone the whole thing on a different server as we already have similar queue manager with different name running, only thing we want is the messages that were there in the last backup in only one queue. What would be a ideal way??? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Fri Mar 10, 2006 11:48 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
jefflowrey wrote: |
It's a bad approach. It might work, but it will be unsupported. |
_________________ Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mq_crazy |
Posted: Tue Mar 14, 2006 12:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 30 Jun 2004 Posts: 295
|
I don't find the queue folders for the lower case queues under the folder C:\Program Files\IBM\WebSphere MQ\Qmgrs\xxxxx\QUEUES .
I can see the folders for the upper case queues, but not for the lowercase. Does anyone know why??? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kevinf2349 |
Posted: Tue Mar 14, 2006 1:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 28 Feb 2003 Posts: 1311 Location: USA
|
You don't see them because they aren't there!
Check under the @MANGLED directory you will see them in there but the file name will mean nothing to you, they are inside those files.
HTH
 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|