Author |
Message
|
paulgroo |
Posted: Wed Mar 08, 2006 8:04 am Post subject: SOLVED: AMQ9228: The TCP/IP responder program |
|
|
 Centurion
Joined: 07 Jul 2005 Posts: 138 Location: Ireland
|
Hi everyone,
I have a queue manager on a windows machine connecting to a queue manager running on an iSeries machine. The error above keeps appearing in the AMQ logs on the iSeries machine. Is this in relation to an MQSeries setting (the listener is running fine) or is this a network related problem. I was previously getting a whole bunch of AMQ9213 (A communications error for TCP/IP occurred) on the Windows side for which I set KEEPALIVE=YES just to make sure there were no issues with failing channels.
Has anyone come across the AMQ9228 error before? Any help would be great, as this is wrecking my bulb.
Last edited by paulgroo on Wed Jul 05, 2006 5:35 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mvic |
Posted: Wed Mar 08, 2006 8:08 am Post subject: Re: AMQ9228: The TCP/IP responder program could not be start |
|
|
 Jedi
Joined: 09 Mar 2004 Posts: 2080
|
Please post some full example messages from the error logs on either side. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
paulgroo |
Posted: Wed Mar 08, 2006 8:13 am Post subject: the error logs.... |
|
|
 Centurion
Joined: 07 Jul 2005 Posts: 138 Location: Ireland
|
On the Windows Side:
---- amqrccca.c : 883 --------------------------------------------------------
08/03/2006 12:30:58
AMQ9002: Channel 'GPLSP102.GPLSP101.C' is starting.
EXPLANATION:
Channel 'GPLSP102.GPLSP101.C' is starting.
ACTION:
None.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
08/03/2006 12:37:22
AMQ9213: A communications error for TCP/IP occurred.
EXPLANATION:
An unexpected error occurred in communications.
ACTION:
The return code from the TCP/IP(recv) [TIMEOUT] 360 seconds call was 0 (X'0').
Record these values and tell the systems administrator.
----- amqccita.c : 2682 -------------------------------------------------------
08/03/2006 12:37:22
AMQ9999: Channel program ended abnormally.
EXPLANATION:
Channel program 'GPLSP102.GPLSP101.C' ended abnormally.
ACTION:
Look at previous error messages for channel program 'GPLSP102.GPLSP101.C' in
the error files to determine the cause of the failure.
----- amqrccca.c : 883 --------------------------------------------------------
08/03/2006 12:37:32
AMQ9002: Channel 'GPLSP102.GPLSP101.C' is starting.
EXPLANATION:
Channel 'GPLSP102.GPLSP101.C' is starting.
ACTION:
None.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
08/03/2006 12:37:53
AMQ9558: Remote Channel is not currently available.
EXPLANATION:
The channel program ended because the channel 'GPLSP102.GPLSP101.C' is not
currently available on the remote system. This could be because the channel is
disabled or that the remote system does not have sufficient resources to run a
further channel.
ACTION:
Check the remote system to ensure that the channel is available to run, and
retry the operation.
----- amqrfpta.c : 334
On The iSeries Side:
----- amqccita.c : 2736 -------------------------------------------------------
03/08/06 17:12:15
AMQ9228: The TCP/IP responder program could not be started.
EXPLANATION:
Cause . . . . . : An attempt was made to start an instance of the responder
program, but the program was rejected.
Recovery . . . : The failure could be because either the subsystem has not
been started (in this case you should start the subsystem), or there are too
many programs waiting (in this case you should try to start the responder
program later). The reason code was 0.
Technical Description . . . . . . . . : None.
----- amqrmrsa.c : 461 -------------------------------------------------------- |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mvic |
Posted: Wed Mar 08, 2006 8:31 am Post subject: Re: the error logs.... |
|
|
 Jedi
Joined: 09 Mar 2004 Posts: 2080
|
paulgroo wrote: |
EXPLANATION:
Cause . . . . . : An attempt was made to start an instance of the responder
program, but the program was rejected.
Recovery . . . : The failure could be because either the subsystem has not
been started (in this case you should start the subsystem), or there are too
many programs waiting (in this case you should try to start the responder
program later). The reason code was 0. |
I am not a 400 expert, but this looks like the first thing to focus on. Why was the program "rejected"? I can't make sense of this myself - maybe this means something to a 400 admin? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
paulgroo |
Posted: Wed Mar 08, 2006 8:43 am Post subject: Three channels.... |
|
|
 Centurion
Joined: 07 Jul 2005 Posts: 138 Location: Ireland
|
Thanks for that! That hadnt regsitered with me at all (my brain is going soft from this). There is something else that I should have mentioned and definitely ties in with what you are saying...
There are three sender channels and three receiver channels, all going to the same Queue Manager and port address.
I think what could be happening in the first two sender channels are connecting okay and the third is failing. (I'm not seeing these errors for the other two channels).
I might try setting each sender channel going to the iSeries with a different port address.
Thanks again for your help! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Wed Mar 08, 2006 11:26 am Post subject: Re: Three channels.... |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
paulgroo wrote: |
I might try setting each sender channel going to the iSeries with a different port address. |
no reason for that, it will not help here. A single listener can handle thousands of channels. _________________ Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mvic |
Posted: Wed Mar 08, 2006 12:42 pm Post subject: Re: Three channels.... |
|
|
 Jedi
Joined: 09 Mar 2004 Posts: 2080
|
PeterPotkay wrote: |
A single listener can handle thousands of channels. |
I agree. The main problem appears to be the bit I don't quite understand:
Code: |
Cause . . . . . : An attempt was made to start an instance of the responder
program, but the program was rejected. |
What does "the program was rejected" mean - anyone know? This must be a 400-specific message I think. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Wed Mar 08, 2006 1:49 pm Post subject: Re: Three channels.... |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
mvic wrote: |
PeterPotkay wrote: |
A single listener can handle thousands of channels. |
I agree. The main problem appears to be the bit I don't quite understand:
Code: |
Cause . . . . . : An attempt was made to start an instance of the responder
program, but the program was rejected. |
What does "the program was rejected" mean - anyone know? This must be a 400-specific message I think. |
Could it be because he hit max channels on the qmgr or max waiting io requests on the AS400 ?
We get this when a network glitch cause all client channels to have escalated without closing. (once in a blue moon)  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Wed Mar 08, 2006 2:32 pm Post subject: Re: Three channels.... |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
fjb_saper wrote: |
Could it be because he hit max channels on the qmgr or max waiting io requests on the AS400 ? |
That's a possability, although I would have thought a max channels error message would be seen on the AS/400. _________________ Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
warrenJ |
Posted: Fri Mar 17, 2006 4:02 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 11 Jan 2004 Posts: 29 Location: AUSTRALIA
|
I have exactly the same problem at the moment, but it appears as though the client is the one causing the problem as all the errors are preceeded by an error from the same server. Apart from these two errors the Queue Manager is functioning perfectly and has hundreds of SVRCONN channels running (from many different IPs) as well as the normal SDR/RCVR's.
I interested in why the errors appear to indicate a problem at the QMgr end.
17/03/2006 21:25:21
AMQ9208: Error on receive from host mvwls005 (xx.xx.x.xx).
EXPLANATION:
An error occurred receiving data from mvwls005 (xx.xx.x.xx) over TCP/IP. This
may be due to a communications failure.
ACTION:
The return code from the TCP/IP (recv) call was 10054 (X'2746'). Record these
values and tell the systems administrator.
----- amqccita.c : 2761 -------------------------------------------------------
17/03/2006 21:25:21
AMQ9228: The TCP/IP responder program could not be started.
EXPLANATION:
An attempt was made to start an instance of the responder program, but the
program was rejected.
ACTION:
The failure could be because either the subsystem has not been started (in this
case you should start the subsystem), or there are too many programs waiting
(in this case you should try to start the responder program later). The reason
code was 0.
----- amqrmrsa.c : 461 -------------------------------------------------------- |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mvic |
Posted: Fri Mar 17, 2006 4:17 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi
Joined: 09 Mar 2004 Posts: 2080
|
warrenJ wrote: |
I have exactly the same problem at the moment, but it appears as though the client is the one causing the problem as all the errors are preceeded by an error from the same server. |
I agree there are points of similarity. But this thread is talking about a 400 server - you appear to be running Windows. Might I suggest you begin a new thread?
I notice error number 10054: This is "An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote host." However IMHO it's possible any active part of the network in between client and server machine could have broken the connection. I'll mention quietly the word we seem to say here a lot: firewall. Any chance there is a firewall on server, client, or in the route between the two, that is breaking your connection?
On to the next message : "The failure could be because either the subsystem has not been started (in this case you should start the subsystem), or there are too many programs waiting (in this case you should try to start the responder program later). The reason code was 0."
Just guessing now: is it possible the machine was so heavily loaded that it wasn't able to start a new process, or took an extremely long time to do so? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ramires |
Posted: Fri Mar 17, 2006 6:02 am Post subject: |
|
|
Knight
Joined: 24 Jun 2001 Posts: 523 Location: Portugal - Lisboa
|
I've seen some "program cannot be started" in the past. Look in all MQ errors logs, (mqm/errors; mqm/<qmgr>/errors; mqm/@SYSTEM/errors).
You can also look to iSeries logs. You may find more explanation there.
It can be related to security, or resources, ccsid problems, for example.
Searching MQ support site gives some results:
http://www-1.ibm.com/support/search.wss?rs=171&tc=SSFKSJ%2BSSWHKB%2BSSFKSJ&q=AMQ9228+responder&Go.x=0&Go.y=0
This can be one reason for the error you have:
The AS/400 receiver channel fails with message:
AMQ9228 The &4 responder program could not be started.
Cause
QGPL was in the system library list. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Hassan |
Posted: Fri Apr 28, 2006 8:03 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Voyager
Joined: 01 Apr 2004 Posts: 81 Location: Toronto, Canada
|
paulgroo: Did you figure out what was wrong? It would be great if you could share the solution with everyone.
Thanks!
Hassan |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
paulgroo |
Posted: Wed Jul 05, 2006 3:45 am Post subject: SOLUTION: |
|
|
 Centurion
Joined: 07 Jul 2005 Posts: 138 Location: Ireland
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Hassan |
Posted: Wed Jul 05, 2006 4:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Voyager
Joined: 01 Apr 2004 Posts: 81 Location: Toronto, Canada
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|