ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ API Support » MQJE016: MQ queue manager closed channel immediately during

Post new topic  Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next
 MQJE016: MQ queue manager closed channel immediately during « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
sido
PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2006 12:20 am    Post subject: MQJE016: MQ queue manager closed channel immediately during Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 02 Feb 2004
Posts: 23

Hi,

We are getting the following exception while creating a QueueManager object.

MQJE016: MQ queue manager closed channel immediately during connect
Closure reason = 2009

We are using AIX environment, and here is the code snippet which gets tries to get the connection with queue manager.

Code:

public MQQueueManager openQueueManager(String queueManagerName)
      throws MQException {

      try {


         MQEnvironment.hostname =localhost
         MQEnvironment.channel =CHANNEL1
         MQEnvironment.port =5555
         MQEnvironment.userID = mqm
         MQEnvironment.properties.put(            MQC.TRANSPORT_PROPERTY,            MQC.TRANSPORT_MQSERIES_CLIENT);


         queueManager = new MQQueueManager(queueManagerName);
         
         if (queueManager == null) {
            LOGGER.debug("Unable to create queue manager object.");
         } else {
            LOGGER.info("Queue manager object created successfully.");
         }
      } catch (MQException e) {
         LOGGER.error(
            "MQException while creating queue manager object."
               + e.getMessage());
         throw e;

      } catch (Exception e) {
         LOGGER.error(
            "Exception while creating queue manager object."
               + e.getMessage());
         throw new MQException(
            MQException.MQCC_FAILED,
            MQException.MQCC_FAILED,
            e);
      }
      return queueManager;
   }



We confirmed that the Queue manager was up and running, and the problem got fixed after restarting the queue manager.

And this problem is not consistent, we are getting this exception only when we are executing the above method.

Is anything missing in the above code ??

Please let us know the sol'n
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mvic
PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2006 1:15 am    Post subject: Re: MQJE016: MQ queue manager closed channel immediately dur Reply with quote

Jedi

Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 2080

What MQ versions / OS platforms? Also, importantly if at MQ 5.3, what CSD are you at, (a) on client, and (b) on server?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sido
PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2006 1:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 02 Feb 2004
Posts: 23

Hi,

Herez the config details..

Server:
O/S: AIX
MQ ver: 5.3
CSD: 10

Client:
Not used
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mvic
PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2006 1:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi

Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 2080

Sorry, forgot to ask this before. Are there any .FDC files in /var/mqm/errors from the time the errors occurred?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sido
PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2006 1:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 02 Feb 2004
Posts: 23

.FDC files are not found in /var/mqm/errors folder after that error occured..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wschutz
PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2006 3:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 02 Jun 2005
Posts: 3316
Location: IBM (retired)

and to ask the obvious...any relevant entries in AMQERR01.LOG?
_________________
-wayne
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
sido
PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2006 4:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 02 Feb 2004
Posts: 23

Yes that AMQERRO.log says max channels reached.. currently it is set to 500. Can i increase that MAXCHANNELS value.. or is there anything i have to do with the code..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mvic
PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2006 5:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi

Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 2080

sido wrote:
Can i increase that MAXCHANNELS value

Check out http://www.google.co.uk/search?q=maxchannels+mq : the first hits are on this website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sido
PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2006 5:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 02 Feb 2004
Posts: 23

Hi,
The current setting is 500 for MaxChannels and no entry for MaxActiveChannels. Wanted to know what is the criteria to determine the maximum value this can be changed to or this could be safely set to 1000.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mvic
PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2006 6:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi

Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 2080

sido wrote:
Wanted to know what is the criteria to determine the maximum value this can be changed to or this could be safely set to 1000.

Good question, but this is really something to address with your application owners and network administrators. I would wonder why so many channels are running - do you really want 500 open network connections at once? Do you really want 1000? Could it be that these large numbers indicate a problem somewhere? These are questions to be worked through in your specific environment. It is impossible to offer specific advice "from a distance", sorry.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PeterPotkay
PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2006 6:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 15 May 2001
Posts: 7722

if you have an app that's looping, not closing its connections, then it doesn't matter if you set max channels to 500, 1000 or 10,000.
_________________
Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sido
PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2006 12:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 02 Feb 2004
Posts: 23

Just double-checked the code.
We are closing all Queue and Queue Manager connections after use.

IS there something else I am missing?
What happens to broken channel connections? How are these closed?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sido
PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2006 2:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 02 Feb 2004
Posts: 23

checked the link. It just explains what the setting is for and the default which is 100. I already know this. Looking for some paper that explains more than this..



mvic wrote:
sido wrote:
Can i increase that MAXCHANNELS value

Check out http://www.google.co.uk/search?q=maxchannels+mq : the first hits are on this website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mvic
PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2006 3:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi

Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 2080

sido wrote:
Looking for some paper that explains more than this

Searching the manuals gives several hits for MAXCHANNELS. Some good ones are http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infocenter/wmqv6/v6r0/topic/com.ibm.mq.amqwag.doc/amq521u.htm and http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infocenter/wmqv6/v6r0/topic/com.ibm.mq.csqzak.doc/attmaxc.htm

The minimum is 1, the maximum is 9999, the default is 200, and the recommended value in production (don't know why a distinction is made between test and production systems, I will raise this with the writers...) is 1000.

There may be other documents, but I am not aware of them, sorry.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sido
PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2006 3:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 02 Feb 2004
Posts: 23

Hi mvic,
Thanks for the article...it did help. However, saw a line in the second link that raises some doubts!

>>>>> This attribute is supported on z/OS(R) only.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next Page 1 of 2

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ API Support » MQJE016: MQ queue manager closed channel immediately during
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.