ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General IBM MQ Support » Load balancing with Queue Managers

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Load balancing with Queue Managers « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
Bharat
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 2:35 pm    Post subject: Load balancing with Queue Managers Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 14 May 2002
Posts: 61
Location: Reston, VA, USA

Hi,

We have a J2EE application running on WebSphere application server and it uses external WebSphereMQ for messaging with MDB framework. We have two Solaris boxes on which our application runs and also MQ queue setup on both the boxes. Now we are doing the load balancing manually in the code by putting messages alternatively on different queues. In that case when we add additional boxes we need to change the code. Instead of this, is there any way to achieve load balancing using MQ clustering?

Here is our sample setup:

    1. Java application puts a request message on ReqQueue1 on the queue manager QM1 of Box1 using client connection.
    2. MDB picks up this message and after processing, it puts a response on RespQueue1 on the qmgr QM1 of Box1. The MDB knows that the request came from ReqQueue1 of QM1 and so puts the response on corresponding RespQueue1.
    3. The Java application would be waiting on RespQueue1 on the qmgr QM1 of Box1 for the response.
    4. Java application puts the next request on ReqQueue2 of qmgr QM2 on Box2 and will be waiting for a response on RespQueue2 of the qmgr QM2 on Box2. This way we are load balancing while putting messages.

By using MQ clustering or some other means, is there any way to achieve the following scenario?

    1. Java application puts a request message on an AliasQueue using client connection.
    2. The message should be available on any one of the queues on the qmgrs QM1 (Box1) or QM2 (Box2) or QM3 (Box3). MDBs will be available on all the boxes to pick up request messages. We need to achieve load balance between the qmgrs while putting messages.
    3. The responses posted by different MDBs on different boxes should be targeted to a single AliasRespQueue. So that the client application would be listening on that particular AliasRespQueue.

I’m very much familiar with configuring MQ queues and channels but not familiar with MQ clustering. Can you please let me know the set up required for the above scenario? I appreciate your help.

Thanks in advance,
Bharat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 2:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

Read the cluster manual and use a gateway qmgr.

Everything is explained in there.
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
csmith28
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 2:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Posts: 1196
Location: Arizona

And recognize that the Gateway Cluster Configuration will introduce a single point of failure in to your application. If the Gateway Cluster MQManager goes down. All MQ traffic stops.
_________________
Yes, I am an agent of Satan but my duties are largely ceremonial.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ashoon
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 3:06 pm    Post subject: V6 of MQ Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 26 Oct 2004
Posts: 235

I remember reading somewhere in V6 you can also 'spread' workload without the need of a gateway queue manager where you a client can connect to QMA and then write to a cluster queue on QMB even though a local q of the same name exists on QMA.

How do you do a req/response in that scenario - not quite sure...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JT
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 5:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Padawan

Joined: 27 Mar 2003
Posts: 1564
Location: Hartford, CT.

Quote:
you can also 'spread' workload without the need of a gateway queue manager where you a client can connect to QMA.....

And, as Chris pointed out, the same risk of a single point of failure exists.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PeterPotkay
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 6:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 15 May 2001
Posts: 7722

JT wrote:
Quote:
you can also 'spread' workload without the need of a gateway queue manager where you a client can connect to QMA.....

And, as Chris pointed out, the same risk of a single point of failure exists.

that you can mitigate via Hardware clustering for the gateway QM
_________________
Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
csmith28
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 8:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Posts: 1196
Location: Arizona

PeterPotkay wrote:
JT wrote:
Quote:
you can also 'spread' workload without the need of a gateway queue manager where you a client can connect to QMA.....

And, as Chris pointed out, the same risk of a single point of failure exists.

that you can mitigate via Hardware clustering for the gateway QM


Indeed but you can't do it with just MQSeries.

Please STOP IT!


Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes!, Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! under certain limited circumstances WMQSeries does have load balancing capabilities but regardless of what some clueless IBM Salesman who is saying what he wants his customer to hear, may have told some clueless CEO who wants to hear about some magic middleware that will solve all his problems.

MQSeries is not a Loadbalancing Application nor is it a Failover application. WMQSeries is a very robust, reliable cross platform message delivery system.

If you want load balancing, put it in the application code. If you want failover put it in the app code or buy the software and hardware to support it.
_________________
Yes, I am an agent of Satan but my duties are largely ceremonial.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General IBM MQ Support » Load balancing with Queue Managers
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.