|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
 |
|
Updating workitem attributes |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
Sonararahul |
Posted: Thu Jan 05, 2006 5:32 am Post subject: Updating workitem attributes |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 27 Dec 2005 Posts: 13
|
Hello,
I wanted to change value of some attributes set to the workitem.
This is what I'm doing:
I created a attributelist.
I'm checkingout the workitem.
then creating a container.
ReadWriteContainer mqContainer = (ReadWriteContainer)
workitem.outContainer();
mqContainer.setString("name","sdfasf");//setting the attributes
wItem.checkIn(mqContainer, 1);//checkin
But still the workitem goes off from current state.
What I need is to change the value of some attributes set it to the workitem and retain with same activity.
I also tried with workitem.forceRestrat..but it doesn't work...
Could anyone of them help me out to change the attributes of a workitem and retain in the same state.
Regards,
Sonara. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fidelio |
Posted: Thu Jan 05, 2006 8:43 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 14 Sep 2005 Posts: 45 Location: AttainBPM
|
I think the only way to do what you want is through an exit condition on the activity and a data loop connector. When you want to update values in the container, check out the activity, change the values in the data container, and check-in the activity so that the exit condition is not met. The work item will remain on the worklist of the user and if the data loop connector is used the data container should be updated. The side-effect is that if you have multiple users that are assigned to the work item, the user that updated the container will "own" the item and it will be disabled for other users. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Thu Jan 05, 2006 1:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
fidelio wrote: |
The side-effect is that if you have multiple users that are assigned to the work item, the user that updated the container will "own" the item and it will be disabled for other users. |
I agree completely with this response... IF the side-effect mentioned is an issue if you put that activity in a Block and have the Block fail the exit condition all original owners will get the workitem.... NOTE This is adding some overhead so live without it if you can _________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hos |
Posted: Mon Jan 09, 2006 1:08 am Post subject: |
|
|
Chevalier
Joined: 03 Feb 2002 Posts: 470
|
Hi,
this is certainly the most general and smartest solution. The cheapest solution is to do a forceRestart() with a new container instance (provided you have the authority and can live with the mentioned staff restriction). |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|