ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General IBM MQ Support » set MQCHLTAB and MQCHLLIB dynamically

Post new topic  Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next
 set MQCHLTAB and MQCHLLIB dynamically « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
ajiali
PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 3:24 am    Post subject: set MQCHLTAB and MQCHLLIB dynamically Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 15 Dec 2005
Posts: 9

Hi,

How do I set the variables MQCHLTAB and MQCHLLIB from my Powerbuilder Client application ? Are the only possibilities AUTOEXEC and DOS Window ? I want to make this change in effect without restarting/logging off my machine. It is very urgent.

Pls help, Thanks in advance

Aji
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wschutz
PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 3:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 02 Jun 2005
Posts: 3316
Location: IBM (retired)

Tell us exactly what you are trying to accomplish. Why do you need to change the client channel table you are using?

I don't think you can set those variables from your application and have the same application use the new settings ....
_________________
-wayne
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
ajiali
PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 4:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 15 Dec 2005
Posts: 9

I have 3 regions, on selecting a combo box i want to change my channel definition file path dynamically
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 4:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

The Windows API has functions for setting the environment in the scope of the current application.

The way to solve your particular problem, however, is to create a single channel table that has all the channels you need in it, as recommended in the documentation.

You should select one queue manager somewhere, and define dummy svrconn and cltconn channels on it, that point to all the qms you need and have the right qmgr info in them.

Then use that AMQCHL.TAB file, and point your one environment variable setting at it. Then your UI can allow people to select the QM name, and they will get the right connection information.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wschutz
PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 4:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 02 Jun 2005
Posts: 3316
Location: IBM (retired)

Quote:
and define dummy svrconn
I don't think you need those ....

to expand on Jeff's suggestion... when you define the clntconn's, you can specify the QMNAME in the definition. Then, on your MQCONN call, you pass a queue manager name (from your selection box) and the MQ client will search the channel table for a matching QMNAME and use that channel definition.

Does Powerbuilder support MQCONNX ?
_________________
-wayne
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
ajiali
PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 4:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 15 Dec 2005
Posts: 9

I have no permission to change channel definition file, 3 channel files are existing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 4:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

You change the channel def file in the qmgr by defining the channels.

If you cannot copy/move or replace the channel def file because of permissions on your client system you need to talk to your client's system admin group.

Enjoy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ajiali
PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 4:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 15 Dec 2005
Posts: 9

3 channel definition files and I have to code to handle this situation
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ajiali
PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 4:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 15 Dec 2005
Posts: 9

3 channel definition files are existing and I have to manage this situation
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 4:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

ajiali wrote:
3 channel definition files are existing and I have to manage this situation


Please read my answer again.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ajiali
PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 5:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 15 Dec 2005
Posts: 9

Quote:
I have changed values of MQCHLTAB and MQCHLLIB dynamically and called windows API SendMessageTimeout() for the immediate effect of this change. THis works perfectly, but this reflects in my application only after restarting my application. I am looking to avoid restarting of application
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 5:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

If you are not doing this within your application, then it won't take effect until you restart your application.

You have to also be somewhat careful with scope when you change the environment. It may be that you are not changing what counts as the global environment for the program, when you make the change.

Also, you should really just merge the three channel tables.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wschutz
PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 5:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 02 Jun 2005
Posts: 3316
Location: IBM (retired)

Sorry for my ignorance about Powerbuilder, it's been way too long since I did anything with it.

How are yo calling MQ from PB? .net classes?? You can full specify the connection properties for the client connection without needing any channel tables at all.
_________________
-wayne
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
Toronto_MQ
PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 7:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 10 Jul 2002
Posts: 263
Location: read my name

Please don't *triple* post.

-Edit-

Quadruple post!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xxx
PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 7:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 13 Oct 2003
Posts: 137

As all the gurus suggested ,

Client channel table should have all the entries that it needs to have, i.e all the CLIENT CONNS to different QMANAGERS it needs to connect ,

So tha application will just pass the Qmanger name and Queue it needs to talk and MQ will work as a charm,

You don't need to set your channels dynamically or stop or start applications

Let's say From NewYork , LA , DC and SFO are there destinations,
the airlines can then have one filght , say NY to LY , then bring that flight back to NY and send to DC and vice versa
or Use there different flights and operate them at the same time,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next Page 1 of 2

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General IBM MQ Support » set MQCHLTAB and MQCHLLIB dynamically
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.