ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » Usage of IC01 (Flow Versioning and Command Line Deploy Util)

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Usage of IC01 (Flow Versioning and Command Line Deploy Util) « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
stiffann
PostPosted: Thu May 23, 2002 7:16 am    Post subject: Usage of IC01 (Flow Versioning and Command Line Deploy Util) Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 17 Mar 2002
Posts: 26

Hi all,

I recently downloaded Support Pack IC01, which offers command line utilities for message flow versioning and deploying. It consists in different batch files, using WMQI Java specific classes.

I'm trying to develop my own batch files, based on these command line utilities, and I'm facing a problem
Indeed, each command invoked in my batch returns a code, which is accessible in the ERRORLEVEL batch variable (Windows batch specific).

ex :
mqsiassign MyBroker -a -f MyFlow -e MyExecutionGroup
if errorlevel 30 goto errlabel
...
...
:errlabel
echo An error occured !

In this example, if the return code of the utility mqsiassign is >= 30, it means that an error occured while processing the command.

Unfortunately, I didn't find the possible values for each command line utility offered in IC01, and I don't know how to find them without long testing !

So, if someone has this information, it would be helpful

Thanks in advance
Simon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kirani
PostPosted: Thu May 23, 2002 7:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 05 Sep 2001
Posts: 3779
Location: Torrance, CA, USA

Simon,

I don't think it is a good idea to depend on known set of return values. Even after a long testing you may not be able to capture all of these return values.
These return code might change with future releases of this supportPac. Again you will have to go thru long testing to find out new/changed return values.

Regards,
_________________
Kiran


IBM Cert. Solution Designer & System Administrator - WBIMB V5
IBM Cert. Solutions Expert - WMQI
IBM Cert. Specialist - WMQI, MQSeries
IBM Cert. Developer - MQSeries

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
stiffann
PostPosted: Thu May 23, 2002 10:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 17 Mar 2002
Posts: 26

Hi Kiran,

does it mean that IBM is not able to reference and explain the behavior of components developed by them ? Honestly, I already knew that, but I still had a hope Are you sure that I can't get any information about these error codes ?

Anyway, if it is not the good method, what is your advice ? When developing batch scripts, it is mandatory to include a basic but robust error handling mechanism. So what can I do then ?

Thank you in advance
Simon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kirani
PostPosted: Sun May 26, 2002 11:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 05 Sep 2001
Posts: 3779
Location: Torrance, CA, USA

Simon,

As you can see in the batch files of IC01, they don't refer to any return value(ErrorLevel). If any error occurs while running these utilities, the error messages will get displayed on the user screen.

I guess IBM knows what will be the behavior of their components but they might not want to expose different return values (error codes) to the user. In case of failure they are already providing the complete error description. I don't know whether you can get possible error codes from IBM or not.

I guess, It will be easy to find out what is the return value if the command runs successfully. I see your point in writing your own batch file to combine one or more of these commands. Instead of refering to different error return codes you can refer to SUCCESS return code and handle error accordingly. For example, if the SUCCESS return value for these utilities is 0, your script can refer to this value to do error handling.

mqsiassign ......
If errorlevel <> 0 goto errorlabel
mqsideply .......
If errorlevel <> 0 goto errorlabel
...
...

:errorlabel
echo An error occured!

If any error occurs, these command will display the error message in detail and it will not execute the next command in the batch file.

Hope this helps.

Regards,
_________________
Kiran


IBM Cert. Solution Designer & System Administrator - WBIMB V5
IBM Cert. Solutions Expert - WMQI
IBM Cert. Specialist - WMQI, MQSeries
IBM Cert. Developer - MQSeries

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
stiffann
PostPosted: Mon May 27, 2002 1:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 17 Mar 2002
Posts: 26

Kiran,

thank you for your answer. Indeed, I want to write my own batch files.

But the only way to get the return code of a batch script is to get ERRORCODE. If I want to use the SUCCESSCODE you mentioned, I need to know it. And I'm not sure at all that 0 is the standard SUCCESSCODE.

I'll try to get the codes from IBM.

Thank you again !
Simon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » Usage of IC01 (Flow Versioning and Command Line Deploy Util)
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.