|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
 |
|
Trigger COBOL Batch from CICS |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
Bleken |
Posted: Fri Dec 02, 2005 1:00 am Post subject: Trigger COBOL Batch from CICS |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 02 Dec 2005 Posts: 2
|
I am pretty new to CICS and I have the 2 following
issues:
1. Can I write to a sequential file in an online transaction in CICS?
2. If 1. is possible, can I trigger a COBOL batch program from the online CICS transaction. The COBOL program needs the file created in point 1. as input.
Thanx a lot![/img][/code] |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Mr Butcher |
Posted: Fri Dec 02, 2005 1:15 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Padawan
Joined: 23 May 2005 Posts: 1716
|
Is this related to mq or just only to cics?
anyway,
1: i think it is possible but maybe there are better ways
2. you can submit jcl from cics by using a special dct entry (there are several ways afaik). google for it.
if it is mq related, you could put your messages into a queue and then have the batch process these messages, either triggered by mq or by submitting the hcl yourself (or by triggering the job scheduler). _________________ Regards, Butcher |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Bleken |
Posted: Fri Dec 02, 2005 2:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 02 Dec 2005 Posts: 2
|
This is realated to CICS (an online COBOL transaction).
The COBOL was generated by Cool:Gen. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
cschneid |
Posted: Mon Dec 05, 2005 7:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 22 Mar 2005 Posts: 13
|
One method to submit a batch job from a CICS region:
SPOOLOPEN OUTPUT with USERID('INTRDR') [and your other parms]
SPOOLWRITE each 80-byte line of JCL
SPOOLCLOSE KEEP
Another method is to have a TDQueue defined as DD SYSOUT=(A,INTRDR) and WRITEQ TD. If you go this route, you must ENQ to prevent multiple TCBs from attempting to access this DD simultaneously.
I don't believe either of the above is possible in Cool:Gen itself, you will probably need an external.
It is possible your shop has a standard (and perhaps shared subroutines) in place for doing this. You might want to talk to your CICS Sysprog about this. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sanjoo |
Posted: Mon Dec 05, 2005 8:51 pm Post subject: Re: Trigger COBOL Batch from CICS |
|
|
 Acolyte
Joined: 26 Oct 2005 Posts: 65
|
Bleken wrote: |
1. Can I write to a sequential file in an online transaction in CICS?[/list]
2. If 1. is possible, can I trigger a COBOL batch program from the online CICS transaction. The COBOL program needs the file created in point 1. as input.
|
For the first point- CICS can only deal with VSAM files and not sequential files. Well in VSAM too... beside ksds,rrds,esds there is one other file structure which is close to sequential file. Check for that and see if u can use that. _________________ Sanjoo
Keep smiling
 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|