Author |
Message
|
anandcochin |
Posted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 9:11 am Post subject: Want to know Remote Queue is up & running |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 30 Nov 2005 Posts: 5 Location: Boston
|
I am trying to connect to a remote Queue from my application.
The flow is like this way :
Application ----------> Local Queue -------------> Remote Queue
(Unix Server) (Mainframe) (Outside of our n/w)
I want to know whether the local Queue is up and running and Remote Queue is up & running. This for the monitoring purpose.
I found in some materials that we cant enquire the Remote Queue only a Local Queue.
Can anybody help me with a solution ?.
Thanks in advance _________________ Aanand Koottiligal |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 9:49 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
Messages do not flow from Local Queues to Remote Queues, except by way of a program.
Queues do not go up or down.
There is an entire manual devoted to Monitoring WebSphere MQ.
You probably only need to monitor the channel. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
anandcochin |
Posted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 9:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 30 Nov 2005 Posts: 5 Location: Boston
|
Hi jefflowrey
Thanks
My application is sitting in the Unix Server and connecting with a Java Program. Can you tell me is there any way to know the channel b/w my application and the local queue is fine & the channel b/w local queue and remote queue is fine ?. Whether i can check by writing a program and running from the Unix Server ?. _________________ Aanand Koottiligal |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 10:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
Yes.
There are ways.
They are discussed in the manual, that I kindly linked for you.
Your terminology is very confused, though. If your setup is actually correct, the "local" queue you are writing to is a QLOCAL, but it has the property of "XMITQ", and is referred to as a Transmit Queue.
And your intentions may be counter to the best practices and design patterns of using WebSphere MQ.
Your application logic should not be in any way dependant on the channel to the remote qmgr being up and running. WebSphere MQ is designed to be, and is used best as, asynchronous communications.
If you need to know that the other side received your message in a certain period of time, then you can either cause your messages to expire and request a report that it has expired, or you can request a Confirmation-ON-Arrival report or a Confirmation on Delivery report... or you can use a real Request/Reply pattern and have the receiving application on the remote side send you a business level acknowledgement.
But your application should not code to check to see if the channel is running, and then decide or not decide to send the message. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
anandcochin |
Posted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 10:14 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 30 Nov 2005 Posts: 5 Location: Boston
|
I will read the document you linked.
This is only for a support point of view. If the Remote Queue is down because of anything, how the applciation in the Unix server know that the Queue is down ?. All the messages we are sending to the remote queue will sit their in the local queue till the remote queue is up. I dont know this is exactly correct. So we are planning to create an applciation for our monitoring purpose which will check wther the local queue is up and the remote queue is up. I dont know how to check the channel is fine. _________________ Aanand Koottiligal |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 10:20 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
anandcochin wrote: |
I will read the document you linked.
This is only for a support point of view. If the Remote Queue is down because of anything, how the applciation in the Unix server know that the Queue is down ?. |
Why should it care?
anandcochin wrote: |
All the messages we are sending to the remote queue will sit their in the local queue till the remote queue is up. I dont know this is exactly correct. |
Yes, it is exactly correct. Why is it a problem? You really need to think about that.
anandcochin wrote: |
So we are planning to create an applciation for our monitoring purpose which will check wther the local queue is up and the remote queue is up. I dont know how to check the channel is fine. |
The queues are not up or down, ever. Queue managers go up or down, channels go up or down. Queues get full.
You can likely ask your mainframe support team to monitor the channel status using their tools, and you may not have to write any code. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
anandcochin |
Posted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 10:31 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 30 Nov 2005 Posts: 5 Location: Boston
|
jefflowrey
First of all thanks for the Quick response.
I will have to discuss with the mainfrme developers regarding that.
But is there anyway to know the status of the channel b/w the local queue and remote queue, from Unix server ?. Sorry if i am repeating.
Yes you are right. Only Queue Mgr or channel can be down.
Anand _________________ Aanand Koottiligal |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|