Author |
Message
|
Laks |
Posted: Fri Nov 25, 2005 5:30 pm Post subject: Load balancing |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 25 Nov 2005 Posts: 6
|
Is there a way in MQ queuemanager were i can automatically start posting messgaes to Q-2 if Q-1 is overloaded or the destination of Q1 is slow in reading the messages.
Thanks.. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
EddieA |
Posted: Fri Nov 25, 2005 6:30 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi
Joined: 28 Jun 2001 Posts: 2453 Location: Los Angeles
|
Not without writing your own exit, no.
But how are you going to know that Q1 is overloaded. Especially from a remote system.
Cheers, _________________ Eddie Atherton
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V6.1
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V7.0 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Laks |
Posted: Sat Nov 26, 2005 9:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 25 Nov 2005 Posts: 6
|
Say if the queue depth of Q-1 is increasing stedily i will consider my queue is getting overloaded...
ur thoughts..
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
EddieA |
Posted: Sat Nov 26, 2005 11:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi
Joined: 28 Jun 2001 Posts: 2453 Location: Los Angeles
|
Laks wrote: |
Say if the queue depth of Q-1 is increasing stedily i will consider my queue is getting overloaded...
ur thoughts..
Thanks |
Yeah, but how are you going to know that. By using even more MQ calls that will overload the system even more. And are you going to do this over a network for remote systems as well.
And all of this from an exit.
Cheers, _________________ Eddie Atherton
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V6.1
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V7.0 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hopsala |
Posted: Sat Nov 26, 2005 11:53 pm Post subject: Re: Load balancing |
|
|
 Guardian
Joined: 24 Sep 2004 Posts: 960
|
Laks wrote: |
Is there a way in MQ queuemanager were i can automatically start posting messgaes to Q-2 if Q-1 is overloaded or the destination of Q1 is slow in reading the messages. |
Eddie's right, but that's not your solution anyway: The way to go about it is improve performance or run another instance of the receiving application. Calculate/Estimate your max throughput, double it to make sure, and design your application logic and WMQ environment to fit the requirements. No need for another queue, WMQ can take the heat, it's usually the application or some tuneable parm that's at fault; and as said, you can dynamically raise as many instances as you wish.
See Question on queue design for high volumne for all the performance tips you need. For info on how one dynamicallys start more than one instance look up events, specifically performance events (service and depth). |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Sun Nov 27, 2005 11:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
To rephrase what hopsala said: If Q1 and Q2 are getting equal # of messages, but one of the 2 queues is backing up, don't attack the problem by sending less messages there. Attack the problem by finding out why this q is being drained slower than that one. _________________ Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Sun Nov 27, 2005 10:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
And in order to load balance you might add an event listener and set the queue instance to put disabled if the queue depth goes over x % and reenable it if it drops under y%. In a clustered instance this would automatically redirect the messages to the other instances. Of course if all your instances can't handle the traffic you're in deep.
Enjoy  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|