Author |
Message
|
exp |
Posted: Wed Jun 02, 2004 11:49 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 13 May 2004 Posts: 9
|
Answer to fjb_saper:
Hi.
Do you suggest changing the message type to BytesMessage ?
I'm not sure it's an option as the mainframe expects to receive a text MQ message (with xml data in the body part).
The whole idea was to connect 2 system with different OS, charsets and such and allow them to interact.
TextMessage is the weapon of choice for that.
//
We have a WebSphere MQ client on Unix (AIX), that sends messages to a remote MQ queue on Windows 2003,
which is connected to a local MQ queue on z/OS.
Purpose of the operation:
1) pass transaction info to the CICS trigger (what transaction, how to run it, etc.).
2) pass xml data inside the message body (transaction parameters).
What's the best way to do it (if TextMessage is not an option) ?
//
Thanks. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Sat Jun 05, 2004 8:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
Using a JMS TextMessage you get automatically a number of header fields filled out and some checks are being defined.
You could potentially define your CICS header as a byte array, transform it into a string and concatenate with the payload.
However I am not sure that it would fullfill the purpose or need.
Sending a BytesMessage and setting the format to MQSTR on the CICS header and to CICS on the message header seems like a safe bet to me but then again what do I know of the mainframe ?
Any of you guys with more experience from a web environment to the Mainframe feel free to jump in.
If you have trouble with the translation on the mainframe part try setting the ccsid of the remote queue(to the mainframe) to 500 in your JMS setup. This seemed to solve our translation problems (AIX MQ 5.3 csd06 to MF MQ 2.X? using JMS TextMessages).
Then check how the message arrives. The trouble is that with the extra header being declared as part of the payload string you could get into trouble (translation problems on non string fields). Having the message defined as bytes message should allow you to send the data intact to the mainframe; a get with translate option should then take care of the payload.(Remember CICS header contains MQSTR as information as to the payload format...)
Hope this helps some.
F.J.
 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
pabs_agro |
Posted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 11:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 23 Oct 2005 Posts: 4
|
Hi.
I'm facing exactly the same problems years latter. Did someone succed using JMS ? Is it possible to get the sample code working ?
If someone remember this topic, feel free to post.
Thx |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
EddieA |
Posted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 11:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi
Joined: 28 Jun 2001 Posts: 2453 Location: Los Angeles
|
Quote: |
I'm facing exactly the same problems years latter |
Which problem.
(Cut and pasted from one of Jeff's replies): What are you trying to do. What have you tried. What results do you get.
Cheers, _________________ Eddie Atherton
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V6.1
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V7.0 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
pabs_agro |
Posted: Thu Oct 27, 2005 12:03 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 23 Oct 2005 Posts: 4
|
Sorry, I didn't reply to the other subject, because this one is more in touch with what I have to do.
I'm trying to adress CICS programs using MQ CICS Bridge.
I have a sample working in C sending a COMAREA to CICS.
When I try to send the same COMAREA using WAS / MQ, I reach CICS but the COMAREA received is not well interpreted. I'm not a CICS expert and I can't understand why.
That's why I think that there is a kind of 'encoding' problem.
I can't find any documentation on 'How to use CICS /MQ BRidge in WAS using JMS' |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
pabs_agro |
Posted: Thu Oct 27, 2005 2:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 23 Oct 2005 Posts: 4
|
My point is :
this topic is not closed by a success Post.
Did exp succeed in sending a JmsMessage to CICS using a ByteMessage type instead of a TextMessage ?
Did he use another way to do so ?
Using what is described upper in this subject, positionning the same values, I'm facing the same problem : I can post into the MQ queue, but CICS can't read my message.
What was the key for exp into writting an 'understandable' header ? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
EddieA |
Posted: Thu Oct 27, 2005 8:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi
Joined: 28 Jun 2001 Posts: 2453 Location: Los Angeles
|
Quote: |
I have a sample working in C sending a COMAREA to CICS.
When I try to send the same COMAREA using WAS / MQ, I reach CICS but the COMAREA received is not well interpreted |
In which case, I would send a copy of each to a queue and print them out using amqsbcg and compare the MQMDs and the data and see what the differences are.
Cheers, _________________ Eddie Atherton
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V6.1
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V7.0 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Thu Oct 27, 2005 12:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
Have you looked at the manual and what it says about MapMessages ?  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|