Author |
Message
|
TJWatson |
Posted: Thu May 16, 2002 1:18 am Post subject: Subprocess activity conditional on parent process activity |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 09 May 2002 Posts: 4
|
Is there a way of defining the start of an activity within a subprocess as conditional on the completion of an activity within the parent process? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Thu May 16, 2002 4:57 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
The only way to do this is to have a "dummy" activity at the start of the (sub)process. You can not start any process with a decision, it must always start with an activity.
GOOD LUCK _________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
TJWatson |
Posted: Thu May 16, 2002 5:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 09 May 2002 Posts: 4
|
John, that's not quite what I was thinking of - I'm considering the scenario where a subprocess has already been started.
At some stage within the subprocess, after the initial activity, I would like to define an activity that will only start when an activity in the parent process has completed.
Tim. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Thu May 16, 2002 5:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
Sorry Tim, I didn't quite get that out of the original question.
I don't think that there's any way to do this without resorting to some trickery.
I would probably have the prior activity check for the desired activity to be in the finished state. You could do this using an ActivityInstanceMonitor.
There are probably many other ways to do this. _________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
TJWatson |
Posted: Thu May 16, 2002 6:44 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 09 May 2002 Posts: 4
|
Thanks for your input John.
For this particular scenario I think it's going to be simpler to modify the workflow processes so that the prior and desired activity are in the same process, rather than monitor the activity instances (as there are likely to be 1000s of instances that would require monitoring). |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|