Author |
Message
|
plectrum |
Posted: Tue Sep 13, 2005 2:47 am Post subject: Perl API Aix 5.1 installation |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 13 Sep 2005 Posts: 8
|
Hello,
I'm trying to install PERL API 1.23 on an AIX 5.1 machine with MQ Series 5.3 on it. It doesn't work. I'm using GNU C compiler (version 3.3.2). First, compiler throws warnings about unrecognized options:
cc: unrecognized option `-qmaxmem=16384'
cc: unrecognized option `-q32'
cc: unrecognized option `-qlonglong'
... but it compiles well. However, it seems to me this package doesn't support GCC, right?
Anyway, trying to run 'make test' ends with an error. MQ Series works fine on this host and the C API as well.
My question: Can I install PERL API in this particular environment? Do I have to use other compiler than GCC?
thank you |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
wschutz |
Posted: Tue Sep 13, 2005 3:08 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 02 Jun 2005 Posts: 3316 Location: IBM (retired)
|
Quote: |
Anyway, trying to run 'make test' ends with an error. |
What error? Can you post it here? _________________ -wayne |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
plectrum |
Posted: Tue Sep 13, 2005 3:35 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 13 Sep 2005 Posts: 8
|
wschutz wrote: |
Quote: |
Anyway, trying to run 'make test' ends with an error. |
What error? Can you post it here? |
Here you go:
Target "all" is up to date.
PERL_DL_NONLAZY=1 /usr/bin/perl -I../blib/arch -I../blib/lib -I/usr/opt/perl5/lib/5.6.0/aix -I/usr/opt/perl5/lib/5.6.0 -e 'use Test::Harness qw(&runtests $verbose); $verbose=0; runtests @ARGV;' t/*.t
t/10constants.......ok
t/20convert.........NOK 2FAILED tests 2-6
Failed 5/6 tests, 16.67% okay
t/30basic...........NOK 2FAILED tests 2-17
Failed 16/17 tests, 5.88% okay
t/40oo-qmgr.........ok 1/9MQCONN failed (Reason = 2058) (Queue manager name not valid or not known.) at t/40oo-qmgr.t line 40
t/40oo-qmgr.........NOK 2FAILED tests 2-9
Failed 8/9 tests, 11.11% okay
t/50oo-command......ok
t/60-logs...........ok
t/70-config.........ok
Failed Test Status Wstat Total Fail Failed List of failed
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
t/20convert.t 6 5 83.33% 2-6
t/30basic.t 17 16 94.12% 2-17
t/40oo-qmgr.t 9 8 88.89% 2-9
Failed 3/7 test scripts, 57.14% okay. 29/2241 subtests failed, 98.71% okay.
make: 1254-004 The error code from the last command is 255.
Stop.
make: 1254-004 The error code from the last command is 2.
Stop. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Tue Sep 13, 2005 3:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
You need to edit the CONFIG file in the build directory. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
plectrum |
Posted: Tue Sep 13, 2005 4:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 13 Sep 2005 Posts: 8
|
jefflowrey wrote: |
You need to edit the CONFIG file in the build directory. |
I know and I did. Test Queue manager is running as well as the queue is defined. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Tue Sep 13, 2005 4:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
Well, all of the tests that are failing are failing because a connection to a qmgr can't be established...
Do you have a server install of MQ, or a client install? Do you have a default qmgr? Is that the one you're trying to connect to? _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
plectrum |
Posted: Tue Sep 13, 2005 4:39 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 13 Sep 2005 Posts: 8
|
jefflowrey wrote: |
Well, all of the tests that are failing are failing because a connection to a qmgr can't be established...
Do you have a server install of MQ, or a client install? Do you have a default qmgr? Is that the one you're trying to connect to? |
The CONFIG File consist of 3 lines:
QUEUEMGR = venus.qm
USE_DEFAULT_QMGR = 0
QUEUE = LOKALNA.QUEUE
I have also tried tp put VENUS.QM instead of venus.qm.
runmqsc venus.qm works and connects to the queue manager. I have a server install. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Tue Sep 13, 2005 4:41 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
Try
QMGR="venus.qm" _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
plectrum |
Posted: Tue Sep 13, 2005 5:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 13 Sep 2005 Posts: 8
|
jefflowrey wrote: |
Try
QMGR="venus.qm" |
Didn't help.
Did the person who devoped this PERL API try to buid it with GCC? According to the options problem I would say no, am I right? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Tue Sep 13, 2005 5:02 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
I don't know whether gcc was intended or not.
I don't know of any reason why gcc shouldn't work.
I think the problem is that your qm name is in lower case, and the API is passing it through to MQ without quoting it - and MQ always converts unquoted names to uppercase. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
plectrum |
Posted: Tue Sep 13, 2005 5:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 13 Sep 2005 Posts: 8
|
jefflowrey wrote: |
I think the problem is that your qm name is in lower case, and the API is passing it through to MQ without quoting it - and MQ always converts unquoted names to uppercase. |
Well, I have tried all combinations (appercase, lowercase, with or without default QM). The result was always the same. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Tue Sep 13, 2005 5:44 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
The default qmgr flag in CONFIG will only work if qm.venus is the default qmgr.
Try making a new qmgr that has an all uppercase name, like QM1, and then see if that works.
Or you could actually ignore the tests, and just do the install. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
plectrum |
Posted: Tue Sep 13, 2005 5:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 13 Sep 2005 Posts: 8
|
jefflowrey wrote: |
The default qmgr flag in CONFIG will only work if qm.venus is the default qmgr. |
I am not THAT newbie
jefflowrey wrote: |
Try making a new qmgr that has an all uppercase name, like QM1, and then see if that works. |
Have done alredy
jefflowrey wrote: |
Or you could actually ignore the tests, and just do the install. |
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Tue Sep 13, 2005 5:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
plectrum wrote: |
I am not THAT newbie  |
It's hard to tell sometimes...
plectrum wrote: |
jefflowrey wrote: |
Try making a new qmgr that has an all uppercase name, like QM1, and then see if that works. |
Have done alredy |
So it didn't work? _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bduncan |
Posted: Tue Sep 13, 2005 2:42 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Padawan
Joined: 11 Apr 2001 Posts: 1554 Location: Silicon Valley
|
If I recall, everytime I installed the MQ Perl API, it always failed 'make test' no matter what I tried. As it turned out, I could safely ignore the problems and just run 'make install' and I was ready to go.
I would recommend you just go ahead and install it, and see if you can get a Perl program of your own (or from our repository) to connect to your queue manager. My guess is that it will work. _________________ Brandon Duncan
IBM Certified MQSeries Specialist
MQSeries.net forum moderator |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|